Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Once Upon A December by Katieay

Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
saulick
Thursday 22nd January 2009 13:02


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Once Upon A December
Very nice.
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 1st November 2008 18:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Once Upon A December
lovely story - just rooting around for something "new" to read. This was quite enjoyable.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 22nd September 2008 06:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Once Upon A December
awesome story!
loved the ending, harry weasley lol
  Quote
The Boss
Friday 16th November 2007 20:50


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Once Upon A December
Amazing story - very well written

The Boss
  Quote
legobean
Friday 9th March 2007 17:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Once Upon A December
Katieay,

Will be sending you a bill for my dental work. That was sweet, but oh so sugary.

Sincerely,

Lego
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 21st February 2007 11:29


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Once Upon A December
You did write other stuff! YAY!!! I'm excited. Have I ever metioned that I love Ginny Weasely? She is so smart and sassy. I really don't like the way JK made her look...so submissive in the last book....but perhaps JK has something up her sleeve about that. But I love your Ginny. She's awesome.

Oh, and your story's pretty cool too...

lol JK Good Job.

Lily
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 20th February 2007 18:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Once Upon A December
Aww. That was pure fluff. With a little angst, but fluff nontheless. I love it. Very well written.
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Friday 8th September 2006 16:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Once Upon A December
Cute^^
Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 06:00
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote

Wednesday 7th June 2006 01:55


Once Upon A December
Awwww...sweet!
Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 05:59
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 16th May 2006 17:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Once Upon A December
awwwww
Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 05:58
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thank you
  Quote
.....
Thursday 11th May 2006 09:11


Once Upon A December
love it keep up the good work
Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 05:57
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Disassembly of Reason
Friday 9th December 2005 06:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Once Upon A December

I presume that the story title is taken from [I]Anastasia[/I] (or, less directly, from caitlyn's [I]Lessons for Life[/I], title of chapter 7).

meme list: established!relationship(Ron/Hermione, newly engaged), destroyed!portrait(Mrs. Black by Remus, set on fire)

Harry's POV, brooding at Grimmauld Place less than two days after the final battle. Not surprisingly, Harry doesn't know what to feel or what to do. He hasn't let himself relax his guard enough to grieve properly in almost two years, as we learn later; he's just now beginning to let his emotions out of deep freeze.

"It had been three years, almost to the day, since he had had a proper conversation with Sirius Black, and every Christmas since then was like a knife stuck in his heart."

Not surprising that Harry's last, rather rushed conversation via Floo Powder with Sirius was unsatisfactory in retrospect, not counting as a 'proper' conversation. From this remark, we can work out that Harry is now 18 and has been out of Hogwarts for six months. Ginny should be in her seventh and final year of school, but free for the holidays.

Getting through three years of training (the normal length of time to become an Auror) in two weeks, even in an intensified form, sounds like far too much. Two or three *months* would still be impressive as anything. Unless Harry was taking a *lot* of additional training during his last two years of school, even a few months would be difficult to believe.

--

Ron has had his moment of truth, and proposed to Hermione in the immediate aftermath of the final battle. Nothing like a few near-death experiences to help one figure out what one really wants in life.

--

Mrs. Black's portrait in this storyline has met one of its common fates: destruction at Remus' hands, after he'd been drinking.

--

Good that Mrs. Weasley, as the closest thing Harry has to a mother, tried to help him through the shock of learning that his mentors were human, and made mistakes. Realistic, that Harry still hasn't completely given up his bitterness toward Dumbledore.

--

"One of the rare wizarding authors who were also very well known in the Muggle world. Tolkien."

I like this very much, but I am somewhat biased.

--

It seems a bit too quick that Harry would thaw out emotionally to the point of realizing that he's in love with Ginny as quickly as this. He hasn't had any experience of love to speak of in his life; I suspect it might take him some time to figure out his feelings even if he weren't just getting over the final battle and being able to drop his guard for the first time in years. (I've said it before: the hardest part of getting Harry into a relationship, even unrequited feelings, is the transition of getting him to feel those feelings in the first place.)

Moving on. Once one gets Harry to the point of realizing his feelings, the rest of his characterization here can be analyzed in that light.

Realistic, that there *is* a party going on; Harry's just ducking out. However, would Ginny be the only one to turn up? I would expect her to have had to tell a few other people, "No, let me," or she'd have been accompanied by something of a crowd.

The "little Ginny" and "little Miss Weasley" appellations originated with Tom Riddle, as we found out in the Chamber of Secrets. Apart from those negative vibes, she's been the youngest and smallest Weasley all her life, which has gotten rather old with all those protective older brothers getting into trouble but having the nerve to try to keep her out (e.g., the Department of Mysteries).

--

Would Harry, clueless though he can be at personal relationships, really haul out that "we're hardly friends" remark just after realizing he has feelings for Ginny? Granted, he feels reassured at being able to provoke a reaction, but that's going too far.

I like the common fanfic notion that once Harry realized how long it had been since Ginny blushed because of him, he'd also realize that he missed it. It would tend to feed his self-confidence, I imagine, and few enough relationships in his life have done that in any pleasant sort of way.

I like Ginny's lecture about why her family became so deeply involved in the war, and how it tied into their deep affection for Harry. Literally giving Harry a kick (which he had coming, I must say) is a good touch.

"The bright smile that spread across her face was worth all the embarrassment in the world."

Coming from Harry, who has never had much in his life except his dignity, *that* is meaningful.

--

"If it had been any of the boys, they'd be outside degnoming the garden, party or no."

Ginny's talent for handling their mother does seem to exceed that of her brothers (witness: pulling off that Crookshanks-did-it story at Grimmauld Place in OP). I've seen some stories refer to this as "little sister power".

After the time he's had, I'm not surprised that Harry is a bit clingy. Typical of his luck, that it manifested itself at just the time he could be embarrassed in public. At least matters evened out a few minutes later when Ginny kissed him and got a round of applause.

I understand where Ginny's coming from, being embarrassed at not having got over Harry. Until now, it seemed unrequited. It's humiliating almost beyond words to have feelings for someone who never had them for you, let alone having made a fool of oneself in public about it early on. Harry, though, has actually managed to come up with the right response, so there's hope for him after all.

"I'll make those seven years worth it."

Copyediting observations:
- I suggest either not capitalizing "wizarding" anywhere, or capitalizing it consistently.
- "number twelve, Grimmauld Place" is how the address is given in canon; the form with the number given in digits only seems to turn up on letters, such as the letters from no one
- I don't think "The" should be capitalized in "the Boy Who Lived"

Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 05:56
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
This was such a detailed, thoughtful review, I'm quite appalled at myself for not having answered it. I know I answered the one you gave this story on the old format, when they showed up in the forums, but I thought I'd answered this one, as well.

Thank you, so so much, for taking the time to give this such a thorough response. Unfortunately, I don't have a big long answer to give back to you. The title is indeed from Anastasia and the story came about while I was watching the film. This may have led to the two weeks Auror training gaf

The Boy Who Lived is capitalised owing to it being a title. Like The Burrow, which I know is a Britism and the American versions don't capitalise the The. Of course, I could be entirely wrong in this case!

Thank you again.
  Quote
JoanB
Friday 2nd December 2005 17:07


Once Upon A December

That was fantastic!!!!!!

Absolutely adorable...wow please write more!!!!

Katieay
Monday 19th February 2007 05:48
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
mitch
Thursday 1st December 2005 20:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Once Upon A December

Lovely work as usual 

Katieay
Friday 2nd December 2005 07:22
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
 Thanks! I'm glad you liked it
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Thursday 1st December 2005 17:38


Once Upon A December
Absolutely perfect!  A+ 10+  Why on Earth did you stop there?  S.
Katieay
Friday 2nd December 2005 07:21
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Hee! Thank you so much  I thought it was a nice ending for Harry. Thanks for the review. Tis greatly appreciated.
  Quote
jeanne
Wednesday 30th November 2005 06:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Once Upon A December
This was just great,and I really liked it.Unfolded very well.When Harry looked at Ginny and admitted to himself he was in love with her,it was just a confirmatiom of his feelings over a period of time.Well done!
Katieay
Wednesday 30th November 2005 14:09
Once Upon A December (Author Response)

Thank you!

was just a confirmatiom of his feelings over a period of time

Exactly. Thank you so much for your review

  Quote
paladin
Wednesday 30th November 2005 04:40


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Once Upon A December
"Things my heart used to know, Things it yearns to remember
And a song someone sings, Once upon a December"  ~ Once Upon a December

This has always been a favorite song of mine around this time of year because it always gets me to thinking about past years and memories.  I have really enjoyed your tale and the how you created a lasting 'memory' that neither Harry nor Ginny will ever forget.
Katieay
Wednesday 30th November 2005 14:04
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
I love the song, too. I was actually watching Anastasia when I came up with this... surprising, I know!  Thank you for describing so beautifully exactly what I was trying to do here, and for reviewing in general  
  Quote
purply
Tuesday 29th November 2005 23:01


Once Upon A December

"Harry Weasley"

I loved that so much!!  Great job!!

Katieay
Wednesday 30th November 2005 14:03
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
ReachfulHP88
Tuesday 29th November 2005 18:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Once Upon A December

Aww very good story, nice and short and to the point. Very good characters, v. canon. I like that Harry reads LOTR (he's my perfect man...haha) I always love Ginny, and you portrayed her very well!
Excellent work, I'm off to see what else you've written....

-Petey

Katieay
Wednesday 30th November 2005 14:02
Once Upon A December (Author Response)
Thank you so much, Petey! I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much  Thanks for taking the time for review!
  Quote
Jedione
Tuesday 29th November 2005 06:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

Once Upon A December
Wonderful Katie - Yay!  I thoroughly enjoyed that story!  Thanks for sharing it. 

You gotta love fluff!


Katieay
Tuesday 29th November 2005 10:45
Once Upon A December (Author Response)

You do! I really love fluff LOL Thank you for reading and revieing, J1 lovey... I miss talking to you!

 

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004