Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Healing by Sherylyn

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
sbmcneil
Monday 21st December 2009 14:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

Healing
What a beautiful story. I cried when I read it, it is wonderful!
Sherylyn
Monday 28th December 2009 01:05
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks for the great review! I always feel I should apologize for making people cry, but I guess it means you connected with Harry, so *maybe* that's a good thing...?? Thanks for reviewing!!
  Quote
snuggle the muggle
Tuesday 16th December 2008 00:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Healing
I just wanted to let you know that I have rec’d your story and posted a link to it in the new HP LJ community Harry Potter Missing Moments. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "Discovering Magic"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.
Sherylyn
Monday 29th December 2008 22:05
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks very much for the rec! I'll definitely check out your LJ group when I can, and I really appreciate you including me! If you want to send/post me a direct link, that'd be great! I'd love to see what else y'all have found!

Thanks again!
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 16th May 2008 21:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Healing
This is the second or third time I've read this story, but it never fails to go straight to my fluffy spot! Oh, poor Harry! A hurt little boy just tugs at my heart, no matter whether he's seven [like my son] or an eleven-year-old first year. Also, the fact that everyone is shunning poor Harry and that he reflects that Hogwarts is nearly as bad as living at the Dursleys doesn't help much, either. You have certainly underscored it more here than in canon. I just want to hug Harry and take away all his hurts... thank goodness Ron helped his brothers see how mean they've been! I've always thought Molly raised her boys right and Fred and George first apologizing to Harry and then helping him with his bruise is definitely proof of it. I love this story and will probably read it again fairly soon. You get for giving me a throat lump to rival the one Harry's fighting.
Sherylyn
Friday 16th May 2008 23:29
Healing (Author Response)
You're so sweet to re-read this! I'm glad you connect with it, though! I just remember how that sentence in SS/PS jumped out at me, and I got to thinking about "how could an 11-yr-old [and *esp.* one like Harry!] NOT be affected by being so totally rejected like that??" so... here ya go I'm sure it wasn't *quite* like this for him, but I think that's one of those things JKR sort of glossed over -- like other things about Harry being hurt/bothered at times (maybe she didn't want to overly upset kids, so instead it's us moms who react! LOL!!).

Thanks for reviewing, and glad you like the story!
  Quote
Fics by Fumph
Saturday 19th April 2008 05:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Healing
Oh, poor little Harry! It's so sad that he'd learned not to show emotion because it'd only exacerbate things, and that tendency to withdraw and not talk about things is a trait that is present in all of the books. Very nicely done.
Sherylyn
Saturday 19th April 2008 10:30
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks bunches! I always thought that Harry actually reacted to things more than JKR sometimes let on, or at least, she didn't dwell on it when he really was hurting or whatever, but little "throw away" lines like that one seem to me to show the hurt is there, even if she's not going on and on about it
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 27th November 2007 05:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Healing
lol Thats cute That would suck so much! To be shunned by the whole school! YIKES!!!I thought that there would have been a part where harry said that he woulod rather be at the dursleys right now... Then that would have really shown how bad things were.



Sherylyn
Tuesday 27th November 2007 06:02
Healing (Author Response)
Yeah, but even when things have been at their worst, Harry's never preferred the Dursleys' Glad you liiked it!
  Quote
Delfino
Tuesday 30th October 2007 13:28


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Healing
Aw! So sweet! I almost cried! I really enjoy these missing moment fics. This was very well done. I can always do with an extra dose of Fred and George Great job!
Sherylyn
Tuesday 30th October 2007 17:32
Healing (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. That phrase in the book just always stood out to me, so I finally had to write a bit about it I'm glad you liked it, and THANKS for reviewing!
  Quote
Sovran
Tuesday 30th January 2007 07:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Healing
That's a really interesting take on the twins and Ron. I'd never quite pictured the twins, especially, that way. But when you think about how they grew up, and with whom, it makes sense.

But where's Ginny?? You can't have a story without Ginny!

(that's sarcasm, y'see)
Sherylyn
Tuesday 30th January 2007 11:02
Healing (Author Response)
LOL She didn't get Sorted at the same time as Harry in this one, or else she'd have been the one telling off her brothers a lot sooner

And the twins aren't the most sympathetic people in some ways, but they *did* give him the Map, so they're not heartless, either -- at least not intentionally (always, at least!).

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 18th August 2006 16:47


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Healing
Oh, the twins were cruel... No matter what they said afterwards. Cruel, but not heartless. Their apology later was so wonderfully Weasley-family-ish.

This is an incredibly well written missing moment. Really, it could have been taken right out of the book (if it weren't for the very last part where everyone comes and apologises).

Funny, I hardly ever cry when I read a romance, but this little story brought tears to my eyes. It was the part where Harry let it all out that did it. Of course, those tears dried up quickly and the ending made me all warm inside...

A friendship story can be a wonderful thing.
Sherylyn
Sunday 20th August 2006 20:03
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks, Evelyn. I'm glad you enjoyed the story and thanks for leaving such a nice, thoughtful review. It really made my day!
  Quote

Tuesday 9th May 2006 07:02


Healing
hi
I know you wote this a long time ago, but thanks anyway, its a really lovely read. I got the link from Mel's web-site, so now I can check out your other stories. Bye Polly
Sherylyn
Tuesday 9th May 2006 20:18
Healing (Author Response)
Hi Polly... Thanks very much for the review, and thanks to Mel for the link (apparently). I'm not sure which site that is, but I appreciate the mention somewhere/somehow! LOL!!

Thanks again for the review!
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Wednesday 26th April 2006 22:32


Healing
that was so sad! It must have been so hard for harry, not having his "family" speaking to him ... the homesickness for howgwarts was a nice touch.
well done, i loved it!
Sherylyn
Thursday 27th April 2006 11:16
Healing (Author Response)
I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks bunches for the review!
  Quote
Bob Jones
Sunday 16th April 2006 15:29


Healing
That was fantastic!
Sherylyn
Monday 17th April 2006 16:08
Healing (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! Thanks so much for the review!!
  Quote
Chocolatier
Wednesday 29th March 2006 12:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Healing
I found you finally, I read this fic when it was on GT, and then I couldn't find it for ages. Such a beautiful fic, you made me cry again; I love fics that can make me cry. Thank you
Sherylyn
Wednesday 29th March 2006 17:57
Healing (Author Response)
Wow, I'm sooo amazed that you remember it from way back then! I'm so glad you found PS (and me! ) and THANK YOU for the lovely review!!
  Quote
NiennaTru
Wednesday 9th November 2005 13:21


Healing

Lovely, just absolutely lovely. I liked the fact that you grouped the brothers around Harry. It felt to me kind of like when elephants surround their young when danger approaches. Very nice touch. The Gryffindor bonding at the end was well done as well. I always enjoy Neville being included. ;) Great story.

Sherylyn
Friday 11th November 2005 11:53
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks bunches!  I reallllly appreciate the review!  I'm so glad you liked it!!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 18th October 2005 18:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Healing
Aww what Gryffindor loyalty! How sweet.
Sherylyn
Friday 11th November 2005 11:53
Healing (Author Response)
Thanks so much for the review!  Glad you liked it
  Quote
Melindaleo
Tuesday 4th October 2005 09:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Healing

Oh. My. Goodness.  I was just looking through the author list to decide which stories I'd like to nominate in the Best Of category and I stumbled upon this one.

You made me cry!!!

My Goodness, I kept picturing sweet little Harry from the movie and my vision blurred, my nose started running, my throat tightened and before I knew it, I had big fat teardrops running down my cheeks!!

Nicely done.  I've never seen this one, but I thought it was brilliant.

Sherylyn
Friday 7th October 2005 23:36
Healing (Author Response)
Oh thank you, Melinda!  I'm so glad you liked it.  I guess I should apologize for making you cry, but I am glad it "hit home", so to speak.  Thanks bunches! 
  Quote
loveandheartbroken
Monday 25th July 2005 15:29


Healing
honest, the story was awesome. i loved it. but it still made me cry...
Sherylyn
Friday 5th August 2005 21:18
Healing (Author Response)
Awww... I'm sorry it made you cry, but I'm glad you liked it overall! THANKS for the review! 
  Quote
levotatingT
Tuesday 31st May 2005 14:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Healing

That was so cute.  I loved it.  That is what friends are for.  Great job with the characters

Great job, keep writing, and plez write back

levotatingT

Sherylyn
Monday 6th June 2005 09:28
Healing (Author Response)
I almost always write back to reviews -- even if it sometimes takes me a bit of time to see them   I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for the reviews!  Mucho appreciated!
  Quote
lizzyrose89
Monday 13th December 2004 14:22


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Healing
Oh, wow!  That actually made me cry!  Poor, poor Harry.
Sherylyn
Tuesday 14th December 2004 17:59
Healing (Author Response)
Should I apologize for making you cry?   Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Julie
Wednesday 27th October 2004 14:40


Healing

Wow.  This is an amazing story.  If I wasn't at work, I'd be in tears.

I like the way Ron stood up to his brothers for Harry.  And this line: '"When?" Harry whispered brokenly.  "Next year?  It's been-it's been weeks, and no one will even l-look at me."' is perfect for an 11-year-old.

I only discovered PS recently, and I stumbled across your stories by accident, but now I'm off to read more.

~Julie

Sherylyn
Wednesday 27th October 2004 14:40
Healing (Author Response)
You're so sweet!  THANK YOU for the reviews!  I'm glad you liked the story, and WELCOME to PS!
  Quote

Saturday 11th September 2004 20:55


Healing
I like it, I wish you could of got Mcgonagal in there but I loved the story anyway.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004