Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  

Reviews For More Than Meets the Eye by Aggiebell

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Friday 18th May 2007 22:18

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

That was a good summer for Neville. I am so glad his grandmum finally told him she was proud of him. It is about time. Neville has grown up a lot and now that he has a new wand his magic should work better. Thank you for writing. p
Monday 21st February 2005 07:07

3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 117

The 'tm' after DragonDung made me smile and I liked the name "Flitterbloom Fancies".  Nice to see Gran proud of Neville at last.
Tuesday 9th November 2004 23:31

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Yes, a Neville fic!  I've believed for quite a while now that the only problem with Neville's magic is lack of confidence and the wrong wand.  Now that he has his own, he should be marvellous.  And I like the symbolism.  Like Tom and Harry, you gave Neville's wand a phoenix feather--life rising from the ashes.  But while Tom's wood signifies death and Harry's wood signifies life, you gave Neville oak--signifying strength.  Beautiful. (I've been playing with a Neville plot bunny in my head for awhile.  I'd just as soon have someone else write it.)

Monday 8th November 2004 11:54

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

All right, I will be the first to admit that, friend as I am to you, I'd put off reading this fic, because I tend not to be able to get into stories that aren't from Harry's POV. But you've got me hooked. This is fantastic. It's not a Harry rip-off (as I've seen many times before) where it seems as if Harry is talking or acting through another person's mouth. It's Neville . You've given him a three dimensional identity of his own which fleshes out the often under-detailed Neville of JK's world. I shall read on with interest and enjoyment :)
Myth xxx
Tuesday 9th November 2004 11:06
Prologue (Author Response)

LOL, Myth.  It's ok!  I knew when I started writing this that the fact that it's not Harry's POV might put some people off.  I appreciate your taking the time to read (and review), even though I'm woefully behind on my reviews of OoS, OoM (I'm working on it, I promise!)

And thanks so much for the comments!  The hardest thing about this fic for me is to NOT write in Harry's POV--or to not write in Neville's POV, and have him come out sounding like Harry.  I'm trying really hard to keep Harry, Harry and Neville,  Neville (and never the twain shall meet), so I'm glad that they're coming across as their own characters.

Thanks again!


Bring and Fly
Monday 8th November 2004 08:40

5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201


To my embarrassment, I have read this story before but never reviewed.

Why did I enjoy this? Well, its about Nev and he is a bit of an enigma to us so far. We are led to believe he is a bumbling child because we only see him through other peoples eyes. I think this sets the score straight. There has to be more to Neville (and I have my own theory about the forgetfulness) because the Prophecy could have applied equally to him as well as Harry. I am a firm believer in Prophecy picking its tools very carefully.

I think Julie has done an excellent job of getting inside the character and fleshing him out so that we can relate to him more easily. And I love the name of the plant shop!

Thursday 4th November 2004 13:56

2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 59


Well done! I just love Nelville. You've done a brialliant job with him so far and I really felt for him. I think we all have a soft spot in our hearts for poor Neville. Sure we can feel sorry for Harry, but he's tough. He's been through it all and we know a bit more won't kill him. Neville however, sweet, loyal Neville hurting makes me want to cry right along with him.

Well done! Can't wait to read more.



Thursday 4th November 2004 13:56
Prologue (Author Response)
Thanks, Jner!

I've got a huge soft spot for Neville--I've liked him since we first met him in PS/SS.  It's been really interesting trying to get into his head, because I think he's tough, too, but I think it's buried--with Harry, we can see the toughness more easily, you know?

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 2nd October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Tuesday 29th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Monday 28th September
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Sunday 22nd February
Author: Nundu
Story: Wild Goose Chase
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004