Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For More Than Meets the Eye by Aggiebell

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
Patches
Friday 18th May 2007 22:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1: Back to School
Good, Neville is getting a backbone! Harry is going to help him. Those are good things. I wonder what Snape is supposed to teach Harry and Neville. That will be interesting. I look forward to more of this story. p
  Quote
Kelleypen
Wednesday 10th November 2004 13:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

1: Back to School

Very nice once again.  Don't you just want to take Neville home and adopt him?

  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 9th November 2004 09:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

1: Back to School

*sigh* I love Neville, have I mentioned that lately?

I can't think of a better fic to introduce the "Story of the Week" campaign! I remember reading this first couple of chapters on another site several months ago and thinking that this was one I wanted to keep up with. Then I got distracted by other things -- you know how it is -- and lost track of it. I promise to do better this time around.

Apart from the fact that I'm totally biased in favor of Neville, I like how you've set this up. The style is reminiscent of JKR's without being slavishly imitative, you've got a good balance between dialogue and narrative and I really like your characterizations, in particular of Gran Longbottom and Luna. I'm really looking forward to seeing how this story plays itself out.

Aggiebell
Tuesday 9th November 2004 11:13
1: Back to School (Author Response)

Thanks, MM!  Yes, I do believe you've mentined your Neville-love a time or two.  It's nice to know I'm not the only one who loves him!

And thanks for the comment about Luna--she's really hard for me to write! I just hope I can live up to your expectations!

 Julie

  Quote

Monday 8th November 2004 12:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: Back to School
Interesting, I think you've got the vulnerability just right :) Neville is important but his uncertainty is spot on, and I like the idea about he and Harry working togetehr, they both have their enemies, and there is somthing about Dumbledore's "United we stand" words that makes me think perhaps the two of them would be better than one alone.Very good, I'm afraid i have nothing constructive to say... but then perhaps that's a good thing :D
Myth xxx
  Quote
Bring and Fly
Monday 8th November 2004 08:56


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1: Back to School

This line,   You should grow a backbone and stand up for yourself once in a while. really made me want to slap Harry for being so inconsiderate. But I suppose we must excuse him, he has a lot on his plate.

I did enjoy Neville threatening widdle Malfoy and Neville's subsequent rationalisation in his mind. It all flows quite naturally in a logical yet emotional fashion that has the feeling of reality. Even the scene about the nightmare feels as though you are eavesdropping somehow.

Aggiebell
Tuesday 9th November 2004 11:09
1: Back to School (Author Response)

This line,   You should grow a backbone and stand up for yourself once in a while. really made me want to slap Harry for being so inconsiderate. But I suppose we must excuse him, he has a lot on his plate.

I did enjoy Neville threatening widdle Malfoy and Neville's subsequent rationalisation in his mind. It all flows quite naturally in a logical yet emotional fashion that has the feeling of reality. Even the scene about the nightmare feels as though you are eavesdropping somehow.

Yeah, well, I wanted to slap Harry when I wrote it, too!   Harry will get a bit better as things go along (I hope).

Thanks for the review, Cara!

 Julie

  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Monday 1st February
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004