Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Sword of Gryffindor by Hank

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 28th December 2006 18:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

1: A Letter from Harry
Poor Ginny. Not knowing what to do. And what is wrong with Aunt Petunia? Very good chapter.
Hank
Thursday 11th January 2007 09:59
1: A Letter from Harry (Author Response)
Thank you! Yeah - I wanted to do something a little different with Ginny and that's what I ended up with. Aunt Petunia is having a bit of a nervous breakdown and Uncle Vernon doesn't want to discuss it with Harry. "Not normal, it is," to quote him. Harry's treatment at the Dursleys, his continued stay at Privet Drive and his final cessation of communication with his friends are my literary attempt at bringing a feeling of foreboding isolation to the story. By the end of the summer Harry is left alone, lying in the darkness... All the more challange for Ginny and her character needs to be up to it!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 4th October 2006 14:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: A Letter from Harry
So what's up with Petunia? Is she pouting? Or is it related to the blood magic? Nice Harry is letting everyone know, but so many people .
And Ginny realizes what Harry needs .
Hank
Thursday 5th October 2006 10:44
1: A Letter from Harry (Author Response)
Petunia is having a nervous breakdown. It's not specifically mentioned in the story as Uncle Vernon is keeping this from Harry and everything at Privet Drive is being told from Harry's POV. This is one of the plot lines I'm using to show Harry becoming more and more isolated.

As far as the prophecy goes, Harry is telling everyone he thinks has the need to know, which includes Neville (for obvious reasons), Hermione and Ron (can't leave them out), Ginny and Luna (because they went along with him to the MOM, and Molly and Arthur (also for obvious reasons).

And, of course, there's Ginny. This is a character-building subplot which will become stronger and stronger as the story progresses. I wanted to do something with Ginny to build her as a character. I think JKR hasn't done enough to get her where I needed her for this story. Her relationship with Harry will become of primary importance as the story progresses and I need her to be believable, likeable, and strong.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Rocky235
Monday 27th February 2006 10:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 127

1: A Letter from Harry
I like your story and your writing style. Your grammar and dialog are both good.
Hank
Monday 27th February 2006 11:11
1: A Letter from Harry (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm glad to hear you're enjoying it. I have to give credit to my betas, Shannon, Nancy, and Rachel, for much of the style and grammar. At this point in time I was trying to mirror JKR as much as possible and Shannon and Rachel helped me a great deal to clean up and clarify my writing. Later on, Magnolia Mama helped me a great deal with style, simplifying it and making it easier to read. I hope you enjoy future chapters just as much. Chapter 13 is in the works, but it will be a few weeks before it is posted. I've still got quite a bit to flesh out and no time to do it!
  Quote
tilly
Thursday 8th September 2005 01:39


1: A Letter from Harry
James? A Git? Never!
Hank
Thursday 8th September 2005 06:53
1: A Letter from Harry (Author Response)
You've got to remember, there was this certain time in his life when he had to deflate his head to win the hand of the fair Lily...    I love James, but he was a Marauder after all.  And Snape deserved that.  I don't care what Harry thinks, but Snape got what he deserved! 
  Quote
sonicdale
Wednesday 30th March 2005 05:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

1: A Letter from Harry
Yard work can be very therapeutic. I'm glad Harry is doing it. What's wrong with Petunia? Hm. Hope Harry can make a difference there. Seems as if Dud and Vern aren't helping her.

Good idea, that, the letters. Hope Neville has a similar reaction.
Hank
Wednesday 30th March 2005 07:01
1: A Letter from Harry (Author Response)

Although not specifically mentioned in the story (Uncle Vernon is keeping this from Harry) Aunt Petunia is having a nervous breakdown.  This is one of the plot lines I'm using to show Harry becoming  more and more isolated.  I'll stop now lest I give anything away.

Thanks for the review.

  Quote
SillyGillie
Saturday 1st January 2005 22:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1: A Letter from Harry
Brilliant job! I'm glad Harry told everyone about what's been happening in his life. The question now is if owl post is safe enough. Good job!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004