Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Conditioning by Gridley

Showing 1 to 20 of 26 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
bleeblahblee
Friday 9th April 2010 10:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Conditioning
For your authors note: I saw nothing wrong My personal opinion was that this story was perfect and hilarious
  Quote
majolie
Monday 7th January 2008 19:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Conditioning
Love the hormones. Some of the back and forth between humor and angst was kind of abrupt, but heym life can be that way.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 2nd October 2007 15:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Conditioning
nice story
  Quote
pyromain
Friday 24th August 2007 12:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Conditioning
loved her tease would have enjoyed it if yould could have made the story a bit longer. More because I enjoyed it than that it needed it.
  Quote
attridge
Tuesday 20th March 2007 23:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Conditioning
That was really greatJ Thank you for the thoughtful read. Very well doneJ
Eileen a.k.a. mrs weasely
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 08:03
Conditioning (Author Response)
Thanks! As I piece of craftsmanship, I've always liked this story.
  Quote
Novera
Thursday 29th June 2006 22:12


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

Conditioning
Poor Poor HARRY
Gridley
Monday 17th July 2006 05:36
Conditioning (Author Response)
That's a smiley/word ratio of almost 4:1; dont' you think that's a little high?

Still, thanks for reviewing!
  Quote

Friday 23rd June 2006 08:13


Conditioning
Gridley
Monday 17th July 2006 05:35
Conditioning (Author Response)
Hi Harry!
  Quote
Ashley06
Friday 30th December 2005 01:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Conditioning
Cute...
Gridley
Tuesday 7th February 2006 12:44
Conditioning (Author Response)
We'll just pass over the fact that I was trying to write an angst-heavy story and pretend I meant it to be cute.

Thanks!
  Quote
XXXmister-E drago unit
Wednesday 31st August 2005 11:20


Conditioning
oooh good.ten!make a sequal!
Gridley
Saturday 10th September 2005 05:25
Conditioning (Author Response)
Well, several events of this story are going to re-appear in HP&t Flame of Life (coming soon to a site near you!). Does that count?
  Quote
Sarcasmo
Saturday 25th June 2005 18:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Conditioning

I enjoyed this. I love that in every segment you start with the 'ah, relief from the heat'. Very clever.

I must say that I don't find your characters convincing, though I did find them very entertaining. I don't think Ginny would be that forward or do such shocking things, but I did find Ron's reactions funny to these. Bravo with that. The other example of a character being OOC is Fred... him and George wouldn't be arguing and he wouldn't be defending his dad... they would certainly be joking about it, of course.

Still, as I said, this was very entertaining! Thanks again

~Sarcasmo

Gridley
Wednesday 27th July 2005 09:57
Conditioning (Author Response)

Actually, I thought F&G were very much in character, but that's a matter of opinion.

Especially after reading HBP (especially the very, very END of HBP) I'm having a harder time than ever getting a handle on Ginny. I think I understand where she wants to go, but I'm not sure how she'll get there.

  Quote
amulder
Wednesday 2nd February 2005 10:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Conditioning
Sure there's a problem.  It ended!!

I guess one issue is when Ginny says "we're only going out". 
That seems rather abrupt and out of nowhere.  If this were a humour piece I'd think this was an example of aggressive!Ginny not giving Harry a chance about dating her.  In this more introspective piece it comes across... I dunno, a bit strange.

Still, well done.
thanks for sharing

Gridley
Wednesday 2nd February 2005 11:34
Conditioning (Author Response)
Well, I was stuck with the way the line was worded in the challenge (I'd already decided to include all of them), a deadline, and constant attempts to get it angstier. I may do a re-write of this one at some point that focuses on the humor.
  Quote
bluejeanphoenix
Tuesday 30th November 2004 23:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Conditioning

The balance of angst and humor in this is extremely Rowling-esque.

 it.

 

Gridley
Wednesday 1st December 2004 11:20
Conditioning (Author Response)
I can think of few higher compliments for a fanfic writer. I thank you. :-)
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Sunday 21st November 2004 16:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Conditioning
I really enjoyed this. You've got a nice balance of angst, fluff and humor, which, though it might not have been what you were aiming for, nevertheless produced a nice one-shot. My favorite parts were the bit with Arthur and the twins dicussing his previous mishaps with Muggle devices and the conversation between Ginny and Harry at the end. Really, it's an enjoyable fic overall. Good job!
Gridley
Sunday 21st November 2004 17:42
Conditioning (Author Response)

Unintentional success certainly beats failure. :-}

Every so often, the twins drop by and write scenes for me. It is very nice of them, but I wish they'd come by more often.

  Quote
mary-v
Wednesday 27th October 2004 17:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Conditioning

honestly, the are no bad parts to this story. It was all brilliant! I really liked how you characterized Gin\ny, and harry's reaction to her lol, but I would have like maybe just one small kiss between them. lol

~Maria~

Gridley
Wednesday 27th October 2004 17:21
Conditioning (Author Response)
This Ginny is much more playful than my usual portrayal - and I couldn't write a kiss that wasn't dripping in fluff. :-(
  Quote
hermionegreen
Sunday 26th September 2004 23:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Conditioning

Loved the Fluff... I'm off to read your many chaptered fics now...

HermioneGreen

Gridley
Sunday 26th September 2004 23:08
Conditioning (Author Response)

You consider that fluff?!? I hope you just mean the fluffy bits...

Wow. I really can't write angst. :-(

  Quote
saugart
Friday 10th September 2004 07:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 71

Conditioning
I enjoyed this story. I liked the portrayal of the characters. I also liked how Ginny , although willing to listen, was also able to decide she'd had enough. It's so often in the fan stories that she tells Harry that she'll listen to him and then he suddenly dumps everything out.

This is a very good story.
Gridley
Friday 10th September 2004 07:54
Conditioning (Author Response)
I think there's only so much you can take in one sitting, and Ginny realized both she and Harry were at that point. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
stardust8791
Thursday 8th July 2004 17:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Conditioning
i absolutely love how ginny goes from being so kind and gentle to a huge flirt. what a wonderful story!
Gridley
Thursday 8th July 2004 17:14
Conditioning (Author Response)
Ginny really spoke to me writing this, as she has in one or two other spots. Oddly, I generally feel that I don't write her that well overall. Glad you liked it. :-)
  Quote
St. Margarets
Wednesday 30th June 2004 17:27


Conditioning
I have a hard time with angst as well. I think you hit some angst notes--esp. when you have Harry looking in the mirror. Harry was definitely depressed--but at least Ginny in the bikini jolted him out of his stupor.

I really enjoyed that part as well as Mr. Weasley and the air conditioner and Dobby as the house elf. Fred and George were a lot of fun--Ron was very "Ron-like."

I think you could have gone with either the funny thread or the angsty thread--both were well done. In fact I couldn't tell you which was my favorite. I do think either story line would stand on its own with no real improvements.
Gridley
Wednesday 30th June 2004 17:27
Conditioning (Author Response)
Yeah - chalk it up to my desparate attempt to meet the contest requirements. I can write angsty bits, but I hate doing that to the characters without some redeeming fluff and fun.
  Quote
Pooca
Wednesday 30th June 2004 15:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Conditioning
Oh, I liked the reoccuring "Ah! Relief from the heat!"--it was a nice motif for the story.
Gridley
Wednesday 30th June 2004 15:48
Conditioning (Author Response)
What can I say? I like catch phrases.
  Quote
parakletos
Tuesday 29th June 2004 16:08


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Conditioning
I enjoyed this, I think you have the twins down to a 'T'. I also think you made some very good observations on the experiences of Harry and Ginny. OK not too much fluff but it made me smile a lot and laugh out loud.

Well done
Gridley
Tuesday 29th June 2004 16:08
Conditioning (Author Response)
The twins came by and wrote that back-and-forth about Arthur's previous efforts. I take no credit for it, and its one of the few bits that survived from the first draft I did of this story (which was VERY different).
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 26 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004