Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Cry Havoc by Faelaern

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
daniel_r_crazy22
Saturday 29th July 2006 19:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: Tension
Wow. Nice punch Ginny. But did she have to be so brutal? And I liked a lot of those gifts. Nice.
  Quote
Velvethope
Friday 16th July 2004 00:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

2: Tension
Oh, goodness. Very good. Hmm..such a cliffie ending. I love the interaction between Harry and Ginny here- I love the way you've written her. Way to go, knocking Harry on his + +blocked+ + . That's my girl. I could say more, but chapter 3 is calling...so um...yeah...lol
  Quote
Jenadamson
Wednesday 7th July 2004 08:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2: Tension
Joe, lovely chapter (as usual). I love how you mix tension with humor, very much in the style of Rowling, so that nothing is ever overwhelming when reading. It's very nicely done! Lot's of invisible devices in this chapter - I'm oddly looking forward to Harry having to use them all. This line was great:
"A killer? Perhaps. As in 'one who has killed'. Or 'one who kills when necessary'. Not a murderer."

I hope someone tells canon Harry that, as well (and heck, I hope it's Ginny who does so).

Great job!
Jen
  Quote
Anka
Tuesday 29th June 2004 20:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

2: Tension
Late, as usual, in replying, but I'm here nonetheless.


Harry was awakened by the feeling of someone crawling into bed with him.
Well that's certainly quite the way to be woken up...and quite a good way, I might add. It's quite attention grabbing, so it works well as the start to the story.

Actaully, it's a nice beginning passage all around, with some nice Harry/Ginny interaction, which is always welcome. And Karl's gift? Trust you to bring in throwing stars. Ah well, it's a part of who Karl is, no? So it works.


Harry's tirade/Ginny's reaction to it: Honestly, my first reaction when reading this that Ginny was overreacting. But after a second read through of the chapter, I'm finding I appreciate it more. Harry tends to take things and blow them out of proportion. He most certainly has some anger/control issues, and even if they're aren't completely his fault, he has to deal with them in some way. He has yet to realize just how to do this, and thus the anger gets out. An it sucks for the people around him, so I can see Ginny nipping it in the bud, so to speak, taking care of it before it gets too out of hand and letting him know that she won't have any of it from him. So now I like it.


I really liked how you had Ginny show Harry the difference between killing and being a murderer. I agree, there is a difference, and Harry needs to hear that now.


Harry let off a string of curses more colourful then anything he'd heard Ginny use to date, earning him a disapproving "Harry!" from Hermione.
Hee. This made me giggle.


The conversation with Mr. Wealsey was interesting and informing. I like how you write his character, and it was a good way to work in the Prewetts. Poor Mrs. Weasley, though. I feel bad for her.


Harry reckoned Kingsley must have worked out some kind of deal where Ron and Ginny got the Wand Concealer for less then its actual price, unbeknownst to them. Taking Kingsley's hint, Harry closed his mouth and pulled Ginny and Ron into a quick hug. "It's brill! Thanks, both of you!"
Kingley is my new hero.


"You don't have to worry about losing your buttocks now," said Tonks with a wink.
And Tonks just rocks.


Harry tore the paper off and opened the small box to find a golden ring with an intricately carved phoenix head on the front.
Interesting. ANd Molly's reaction even more so. Order? Are we going to find out more about how it all works? You've got me intrigued here.


"Well, it just so happens that I need a Junior Minister. Since you're free, I was wondering if you'd be up to the task, in the event that I win?"
Ok, well, maybe now Emmeline is my new hero. Arthur as a Junior Minister? That's great. He deserves it!


And what a way to leave us. But, hey, at least you know you've peaked my interest for the next chapter. Though you would have had it anyway. Lovely, as always, Joe.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Tuesday 29th June 2004 08:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

2: Tension
Great chapter Joe! Although I missed the Hermione/Harry talk after the argument about Kreacher. Did this happen the day after that?

Evil cliffy of an ending! Oh oh. I liked how you worked in about Mrs. Weasleys maiden name. I'm glad some of the Weasleys know the Prophecy as well, some support for Harry. Did Ron and Hermione hear that whole thing?

Looking forward to Chapter 3!
  Quote
Lena
Monday 28th June 2004 08:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: Tension
Oh Joe, the cliffhangers again! You'd think I'd be used to this by now, eh? As always, great writing! I get the feeling that your next chapter will be very informative, to say the least Arthur as Junior Minister! A nice birthday for our hero! That Wand Concealer will come in handy. You left me with many questions, I hope you know! I'm sure you'll answer them all in due time.

Much
Krys
  Quote
Kirsten
Sunday 27th June 2004 20:24


2: Tension
Is this story a continuation of another?
Faelaern
Sunday 27th June 2004 20:24
2: Tension (Author Response)
Yes, this is the sequal to my story 'In Memoriam'. It may be found here on PhoenixSong, at Checkmated, and at SIYE.
  Quote
p0tterfan
Sunday 27th June 2004 01:33


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

2: Tension
Interesting chapter. Let's see where things are going.

On the writing front, looked like you had a couple of paragraphs of quick dialogues without much description. Just thought I'd let you know that
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Saturday 26th June 2004 23:16


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

2: Tension
I love your stories! This is thrilling. (Will there be more Harry and Ginny wrestling?)
  Quote
Lady Chi
Saturday 26th June 2004 20:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

2: Tension
Of course you would have throwing stars in your stories, Joe. You just can't get around having martial arts related material in your HP series. But that's okay, it makes the world more unique and real.

I'm enjoying "Cry Havoc", it's probably one of the best you've written so far, honestly. It's less concerned with flowy language and brilliant description and more concerned with telling a storyline. Things do get better with age.

Keep it up, because I'm on the look-out for updates.

~Chi~
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004