Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  

Reviews For Reading by Alexandra Lynch

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Disassembly of Reason
Friday 9th December 2005 06:18

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17


Challenge: Can the notoriously wordy Disassembly of Reason review a 10 paragraph story in fewer paragraphs than the story itself? (Very likely not, but let's give it a shot.) The entire story is from Hermione's POV, third person, though she is not identified by name until the 8th paragraph of 10.

The story starts with Hermione's own feelings toward reading, something so intrinsic to her and learned so young that she can't remember not being able to do it. Reading is a very intense experience for her, emphasized by the initial analogy with using a Pensieve - something Hermione knew how to use instinctively, because for her it was the same experience as losing herself in a book. Very nice conceit, that.

The analogy being set up is with her first kiss with Ron (who, like Hermione, is not identified by name until paragraph 8), and how to her it was like reading his skin. There's also a corresponding analogy set up for Ron, about how he might perceive her as a chessboard; very nice parallel, there, for *his* grand obsession.

[I]She watches the other girls flirt and touch, and wonders where she was when they learned. Fortunately, there are books on the topic. Both of them watch her now, only forgetting she's a girl and from a distant disturbing land when saving someone or thwarting something.[/I]

Yes, having books on the topic, provided it's something one can learn by heart out of a book, would be enough for Hermione. (And if it couldn't be learned that way, she'd still try.) The paragraph started in the context of "the other girls" - Lavender and Parvati, I presume - but "both of them" toward the end appears to refer to both Harry and Ron. There are no other suggestions in the story that Harry might have feelings for Hermione, though.

Monday 15th August 2005 13:19


This one was so sweet! All of your stories are amazing and so touching and they reach your soul. These stories are well-written and I love them all!


Monday 28th February 2005 18:57

That one gave me chills.  It's such a very accurate description of us bookish types...  I love your work.
Monday 28th February 2005 13:00

Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 616

Wow...this is really something.  I love your description of how immersed in a book Hermione becomes.  You've done a wonderful job describing her and Ron's relationship and your likening them to books and chessboards at the end is very clever indeed.  I enjoyed reading this.
Thursday 16th December 2004 00:35

3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

"Poetic" is the word, yes, thanks Mara.  I must admit I've always had an affinity for Hermione, given our shared ignorance of the real world and dependence on books to rectify the deficiency.  Only I'm not a genius like her :-)

"Wonders where she was when they learned".  That sort of cuts to the core of Hermione's disassociation with the world, doesn't it?  Except this isn't really the *real* Hermione, from canon, is it - the Hermione from OotP knows all about girls and the teenage courting ritual - she could write a book on the subject! - and doesn't really exhibit the vulnerability that this Hermione displays.  I don't think your Hermione is the HP one, but I like this version anyway.  Thanks for the poem/story.
Tuesday 15th June 2004 11:20

1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

One of the best R/Hr I've read yet. Great job portraying their feelings toward each other using books and chess. Poetic and beautiful. ^_^
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 2nd October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Tuesday 29th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Monday 28th September
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
Monday 18th May
Author: MyGinevra
Story: Excision
Saturday 18th April
Author: Nundu
Story: 54 Years Later
Sunday 29th March
Author: Author by Night
Poem: Mischief Managed: A Re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Sunday 22nd February
Author: Nundu
Story: Wild Goose Chase
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004