Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Reading by Alexandra Lynch

Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Disassembly of Reason
Friday 9th December 2005 06:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Reading

Challenge: Can the notoriously wordy Disassembly of Reason review a 10 paragraph story in fewer paragraphs than the story itself? (Very likely not, but let's give it a shot.) The entire story is from Hermione's POV, third person, though she is not identified by name until the 8th paragraph of 10.

The story starts with Hermione's own feelings toward reading, something so intrinsic to her and learned so young that she can't remember not being able to do it. Reading is a very intense experience for her, emphasized by the initial analogy with using a Pensieve - something Hermione knew how to use instinctively, because for her it was the same experience as losing herself in a book. Very nice conceit, that.

The analogy being set up is with her first kiss with Ron (who, like Hermione, is not identified by name until paragraph 8), and how to her it was like reading his skin. There's also a corresponding analogy set up for Ron, about how he might perceive her as a chessboard; very nice parallel, there, for *his* grand obsession.

[I]She watches the other girls flirt and touch, and wonders where she was when they learned. Fortunately, there are books on the topic. Both of them watch her now, only forgetting she's a girl and from a distant disturbing land when saving someone or thwarting something.[/I]

Yes, having books on the topic, provided it's something one can learn by heart out of a book, would be enough for Hermione. (And if it couldn't be learned that way, she'd still try.) The paragraph started in the context of "the other girls" - Lavender and Parvati, I presume - but "both of them" toward the end appears to refer to both Harry and Ron. There are no other suggestions in the story that Harry might have feelings for Hermione, though.

  Quote
Anni
Monday 15th August 2005 13:19


Reading

This one was so sweet! All of your stories are amazing and so touching and they reach your soul. These stories are well-written and I love them all!

~Anni

  Quote
Narumi
Monday 28th February 2005 18:57


Reading
That one gave me chills.  It's such a very accurate description of us bookish types...  I love your work.
  Quote
Arnel
Monday 28th February 2005 13:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Reading
Wow...this is really something.  I love your description of how immersed in a book Hermione becomes.  You've done a wonderful job describing her and Ron's relationship and your likening them to books and chessboards at the end is very clever indeed.  I enjoyed reading this.
  Quote
brad
Thursday 16th December 2004 00:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Reading
"Poetic" is the word, yes, thanks Mara.  I must admit I've always had an affinity for Hermione, given our shared ignorance of the real world and dependence on books to rectify the deficiency.  Only I'm not a genius like her :-)

"Wonders where she was when they learned".  That sort of cuts to the core of Hermione's disassociation with the world, doesn't it?  Except this isn't really the *real* Hermione, from canon, is it - the Hermione from OotP knows all about girls and the teenage courting ritual - she could write a book on the subject! - and doesn't really exhibit the vulnerability that this Hermione displays.  I don't think your Hermione is the HP one, but I like this version anyway.  Thanks for the poem/story.
  Quote
Mara
Tuesday 15th June 2004 11:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Reading
One of the best R/Hr I've read yet. Great job portraying their feelings toward each other using books and chess. Poetic and beautiful. ^_^
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004