Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Mechanics of the Human Engine by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
majolie
Tuesday 18th December 2007 19:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
I got shivers reading this - it was so perfect!
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Tuesday 13th November 2007 18:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

The Mechanics of the Human Engine

Nice story! Will there be any more to this, or was this a one time deal?
You should add more. If not, it is still a nice story.
Cheers!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 13th November 2007 18:28
The Mechanics of the Human Engine (Author Response)
Considering it's been over 3 years since I wrote this, I'd say it's a one-shot (I may be slow, but I'm not that slow! ) I'm glad you liked it all the same. Thanks for leaving a review!
  Quote
pyromain
Monday 25th June 2007 08:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
this is so cute, I really liked the way the come to each other in this story.
  Quote
Rebel_Dream
Tuesday 10th April 2007 12:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
that was so amazing. I liked this one-shot.
  Quote
Bryher
Sunday 18th March 2007 12:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
A lovely story thanks Very sweet and romantic. A couple of "brit picks" though - petrol isn't *that* expensive! About 80-90p a litre. And in a British pub, if you're too young for ale (beer) then you're too young for cider as well!
  Quote
monkey14
Sunday 11th March 2007 00:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
i love this story its awesome keep writing!
  Quote
cckeimig
Thursday 8th March 2007 20:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
Very, very enjoyable!
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 11:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
Wow...it's a nice story. Very much in cannon I think. I really really liked it. Thank you for sharing it with us. Great job!

Lils
  Quote
Dollface
Tuesday 6th March 2007 16:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
OMG i loved it.! it was soo sweet...is there a sequel??
  Quote
rupertgrintsgirl
Monday 5th March 2007 18:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
Biker Boy And Biker Babe! I like it!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Monday 5th March 2007 09:54


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
Very cute! I love that Harry was so nervous around her and everything, it made for an excellent story!
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 28th November 2006 19:05


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 202

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
I love this story! I can't believe in all the time I've been at PhoenixSong, I've never seen it before. Quite well written. I love the idea of them working together, getting to know each other through actions and cooperation rather than talking. Working in such close proximity to each other for days on end would certainly change their relationship, and you showed that very well. I love the hesitancy but the acceptance as well. The storm was perfect as it not only provided a change to the scene and forced them back together again, but it also represented the upheaval of their relationship. Wonderful storytelling. I can't tell you how much I liked this! Thanks for sharing it with us!
  Quote

Sunday 7th August 2005 15:57


The Mechanics of the Human Engine
that was so awsome! do some more stories like that!!! that would be cool if u did a chap. of what harry was thinking!lol i was jw ! great work and keep writing
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 10th August 2005 07:41
The Mechanics of the Human Engine (Author Response)
Thank you! This was the first H/G fic I ever wrote and it holds a special place in my heart, so it's always thrilling to know that others have enjoyed reading it.
  Quote
itsme07863
Thursday 28th April 2005 21:49


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
wow. really good. i liked lol
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 12th April 2005 11:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
That Harry was crying in the shed with the bike was touching. Bravo.

The "intro" they gave to each other was so cheeky it was sneaky. Good work.

hm. the 'closeness' scene will need some explaining. They 'ignored' it. Funny. Hope they 'make up' soon.

There's an awful lot of magic going on here... and they're underage... Not that I'm complaining, mind, but how did you work that out?

It...it.. it... just ended. Oh, you sneaky skneaky squeaker! Why?
Oh, it was getting just good...harumph. Okay. I'll bite. Are you going to continue this??? It SAYS completed at the top, but I don't buy it.
It's too darn good to leave it there --- or it's too darn good to continue it. I can't decide.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 08:01
The Mechanics of the Human Engine (Author Response)

Alas, this is all there is. I left it open-ended on purpose, so the reader could continue it in his/her imagination. Evil, I know, but not all that unusual for me.

As for the underage magic, my theory is that there's no way the MoM can keep track of who's doing what spells in a large magical household such as the Weasleys', so they leave it up to the parents to monitor their children. Of course, after Fred and George, Molly more or less gave up.

Thanks for the thoughtful review!

  Quote
HumanTales
Monday 7th February 2005 06:32


The Mechanics of the Human Engine

This is lovely.  I quite enjoyed the burgeoning romance between Harry and Ginny, and the fits and starts they're going through as it begins.  Or begins to begin.

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 9th February 2005 08:28
The Mechanics of the Human Engine (Author Response)
Thank you! Sometimes it's nice to explore the "before" before the "before."  The door's been opened, but they haven't quite walked through it yet. I'm glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 4th January 2005 10:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
G is unusually passive here - and H a little to dominant, to my taste.
  Quote
Shloz
Sunday 4th July 2004 08:55


The Mechanics of the Human Engine
Very well written. Nice tension and dialogue. The characterizations were very clear and realistic. Keep up the good work!
  Quote
sunsethill
Friday 2nd July 2004 09:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
This was a very well-written, compelling piece. Great job!
  Quote
Tosca
Friday 2nd July 2004 00:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

The Mechanics of the Human Engine
I read this on the ficafest, and I must say that I just love it. It makes me so happy, and you have such a good grasp on the characters. I love the interaction. I love this! Good for you! You will be posting the little epilogue, right?
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004