Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match by Tarkas

Showing 1 to 20 of 53 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Thorn
Friday 23rd January 2009 17:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
ha ha ha ha ha thats amazing! keep up the good work
  Quote
alzeeb
Tuesday 1st April 2008 11:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
lol brilliant, and i just couldn't stop myself reading it with accents lol
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Wednesday 25th April 2007 16:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
Wow. That was....interesting. l0l. :0) I love it!!
  Quote
The Goblets
Tuesday 9th January 2007 20:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
Congratulations! You've been nominated for an award at The Goblets!

The Goblets is a Harry Potter Awards Association that strives to acknowledge the "Best of the Wizarding World" in fan fiction and fan art. We are only in our second term but already have over 290 members, 14 fan fiction and 13 fan art categories to nominate in, as well as a slew of new reading material at your fingertips! Discover sites, stories, and artwork that you've never seen before and open your eyes to the marvelous and magical world of The Goblet Awards!

The category your story was nominated for: Best Humorous Fiction

The story nominated: Harry Potter and the Amazing Slanging Match

INFORMATION:

To Vote and Nominate, you must join the Yahoo! Group here:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/The_Goblets/

To view past terms, current nominations and everything else in between, go here:
http://www.stellanima.com/The_Goblets/
Tarkas
Monday 15th January 2007 00:48
Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match (Author Response)
Thank you... does it count if you got the story name wrong?
  Quote
tassiecat
Thursday 7th December 2006 08:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
I am reminded of a scene from Monty Python (I think it is The Search for the Holy Grail) when the French (John Cleese) hurls insults at King Arthur from the battlements of the Castle Ug. Very funny, and great job.
  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Friday 1st December 2006 23:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
totally hilarious!! im getting loads of weird looks because i keep laughing! lol loved harrys insults to voldemort and ienjoyed it even though i havent watched crocoldile dundee
  Quote
TrainzStoffe
Friday 1st December 2006 18:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
Oh my... It has been a while since I laughed that hard, that many times, in such a short period of time! The concept is... hilarious!
I probably didn't even get half of the obscure references, but the meaning behind them is pretty clear.
Yes, the text is really confusing for the first couple of "pages", and though it does gain some clarity down the line, it is still very... strange.
Not the best written work I've read (language- and story-wise), but certainly one of the most fun! And that's saying something! (If you know me, anyway). Great work!
  Quote
trustnlove
Sunday 3rd September 2006 13:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
I have been reading on this fanfiction site for a long, long time and today is the first time I've come across this story..... FANTASTIC!!!! I loved
"aussie" Harry, and I loved this story!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Sunday 13th August 2006 19:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
Oh wow. At first I was a little confused. But, I think I got most of it. But, what I did get, it was really good and really funny.
  Quote
MercuryBlue
Wednesday 9th August 2006 20:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
I really needed that laugh...and my resistance to asking what on earth you're talking about has officially crumbled. My email's MercuryBlue144@aol.com.
  Quote
willow
Saturday 6th May 2006 06:23


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
that was hilarious! i don't think i've laughed that much in ages- i actually reread some jokes twice because they were that good!
  Quote
ttestagr
Thursday 4th May 2006 21:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
I loved this fic. I was too awestruck to even laugh. My only thought through this was: They aren't... I finished reading it and laughed so hard I choked myself.
  Quote
Delfino
Wednesday 26th April 2006 17:42


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
You have absolutely NO idea how hard I laughed. My dog started crawling away from me in fear. I nearly fell out of my chair. This was perfect and I loved it more than anything. My favorite scene was the very beginning, with the starting of Australian accents. Oh God, I was laughing so hard! This was a wonderful story, very creative, and amazing writing.

And the humor, of course, was the best I've ever read.


Thanks so much for sharing this with us!!
  Quote
cherry30023
Sunday 26th March 2006 02:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
wow. I'm australian and most of the time I only half knew what they were talking about!! I think your story is very original and funny!
Tarkas
Sunday 26th March 2006 11:12
Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match (Author Response)
Thank you. Explanations are available on requexst.
  Quote
Zero
Tuesday 24th January 2006 01:39


Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
Bloody awesome, mate! If only JKR had half your sense(s) of humour. The world needs more of this imaginative-ness.

Professor Katzenjammer - nice one. (Even if it is just about the only German word I know.)
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 12th November 2005 19:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match

Oh, Godl! I can't remember when I've laughed so hard! I almost fell off my chair, and I think I did wake the baby up at one point, although she fell right back asleep. Even if I don't get all the Aussie references, it was absolutely brilliant fun. I have to say the second section was the funniest, although there were lots of supremely funny bits. It was just the longest stretch of hilarity in the story. Thanks for brightening my weekend!!!

Tarkas
Sunday 13th November 2005 04:47
Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match (Author Response)
Explanations of obscure Aussie slang and references are available on request, though it's probably best to take them to private e-mail.
  Quote
Machiavelli Jr
Saturday 29th October 2005 14:43


Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match

I've seen Crocodile Dundee; Aussie insults are understandable to anyone who watches Neighbours and this is an absolute hoot. Yay for Aussie!Harry - HP would have been very, very short if set Down Under.

  Quote
Wolfy
Saturday 29th October 2005 06:56


Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match

Excuse me now, while i go soak my head in a 44 gallon drum for the better part of an hour. Best combination of Steve Irwan and the "typical" aussie i've ever seen though. Just remember, if you read this fic, this is not how aussie's talk, apart from the Stevie-Boy himself. I should know, I'm a Queenslander.

(and for clarification, we don't say "prawns/shrimps on the barbie". Hell, we prefer our prawns boiled, not cooked on the barbie.)

Apart from that? A+ Effort. Great work, especially the thought of the major mitchell (malfoy) with a load of effluence for brains.

Tarkas
Sunday 13th November 2005 04:40
Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match (Author Response)
Hey, don't tell me about the prawns, tell the Australian Tourist Board.  They're the ones who came up with that slogan for Paul Hogan. I prefer my prawns in a curry or fried rice, though the traditional plate of cooked prawns with a glass of milk is nice, too.
  Quote
MercuryBlue
Friday 28th October 2005 10:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
I haven't laughed this hard in months. It took me a while to convince my sister I wasn't actually having a seizure.
  Quote
dragon-breeder
Wednesday 26th October 2005 15:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

Harry Potter and the Great Slanging Match
*nods and smiles* wondered how this got the "Most Out-There Award"... amusing!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 53 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004