Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For New Year, New Hope by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
TangoCharlie
Thursday 18th September 2008 05:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

One
What a great start to a new story! I thought it was a perfect introduction that wasted no time getting to some interesting action - what a great pace to set...

At first I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to see the final transition of Harry and Ginny's relationship from close friends to boyfriend/girlfriend. But, I loved the way you showed some snippets of what happened as flashbacks. Just lovely!
I also really like that their relationship is moving slowly (like only having shared one kiss). Again, it makes it seem so much sweeter, deeper and genuine.

I had a bit of a giggle at the line about Draco “He looked like he could use a trip to Madam Malkin’s" after his run-in with the thestrals. Thought that was amusing given that we now know Harry's 6th year starts with a trip to her shop and an altercation with Malfoy!!
Arnel
Thursday 18th September 2008 06:06
One (Author Response)
TangoCharlie, thank you so much for this delightful review. I must tell you that I came up with the idea for this story while I was listening to my CD of OotP. As the chapter about Harry's first Potions class dealt with the Draft of Peace unfolded, I realized that particular potion is what Ginny could make for him, to help him cope with what happens between the Christmas hols and the end of school.

It was important to me that I keep Harry's and Ginny's relationship at a slow pace. As much as Ginny would have liked a very amorous boyfriend, she understands that Harry is quite new to the emotions he's beginning to explore and is hesitant to show, lest his affections be unceremoniously rebuffed. [Not likely with Ginny, but because of Dudley, Harry's axiom is 'Once bit, twice shy.']

I had to laugh as well when I discovered the Madam Malkin's scene in HBP. I had written the thestral scene several months prior to Book 6 coming out, so the coincidence between the two stories struck me as something rather amusing.

I'm very glad you're enjoying the story so far and look forward to more of your reviews.

~Arnel
  Quote
The Boss
Sunday 1st July 2007 06:38


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

One
Blimey a book not in the restricted section, that is a first
This is starting to look like a very good sequel to 'You're Still You'
Looking forward to reading more very soon.

The Boss
Arnel
Sunday 1st July 2007 17:26
One (Author Response)
Actually, no matter what Madam Pince does, she can't keep that magical book in the restricted section. It keeps finding students who need it and won't stay put! There are many twists and turns to come. Keep reading to find out what happens next. Thanks for your comments.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 17th March 2007 20:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

One
It sounds like Ginny may have gotten more than she bargained for. This is a very dangerous book. Mixing potions could be very dangerous. I look forward to more of this story and I hope to see more developement between Harry and Ginny in the near future. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Sunday 18th March 2007 05:20
One (Author Response)
With Hermione for her friend and Fred and George for brothers, Ginny has naturally learned to be cautious in her approach to mixing potions. Believe me, she's going to research her idea and heed Professor Snape's warning about how much of each ingredient to add to her potion before she even sets fire to her cauldron. Keep reading and you'll see how Ginny's idea helps further her relationship with Harry. Thank you for your kind review.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 17th March 2007 03:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

One
Very good chapter. I like the way you have started this story. I look forward to more of it. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Saturday 17th March 2007 07:48
One (Author Response)
You're welcome! I hope you have time to read more of my story. There are nineteen chapters total and I've posted fourteen of them. I look forward to reading more of your reviews. Have a nice day!
  Quote
margaret
Wednesday 7th February 2007 17:28


One
all rightty then. one quetion. does ginny end up poisoning Harry? I relly want to know. Tell the truth!
Arnel
Wednesday 7th February 2007 20:46
One (Author Response)
I'll counter with this: If Ginny poisons Harry would there be eleven more chapters posted involving a *live* Harry? Please keep reading and I hope you enjoy the story. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 27th November 2006 19:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

One
Hmm. That's a weird book. But very cool. And yay! Harry and Ginny are going out. Can;t wait to see what happens.
Arnel
Monday 27th November 2006 22:53
One (Author Response)
Keep reading and you'll find out more about the book and what happens to Harry and Ginny. Thanks for the review. I hope you'll review more of this story.
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 22nd March 2005 09:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

One
I likey the book.
This is shaping up to a good fic.
I loved the thestrals defending Harry.
I assume that Ron and Herm were at a prefect meeting - or in another carriage snogging. You didn't mention that...

Is this the beginning of a bit of wandless magic for Harry? You made a point of Ginny talking about it... we'll see...

Good work.
  Quote
lissabee
Monday 24th January 2005 16:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

One

Wow! I'm so glad you chose to sequel You're Still You, because I just finished reading that and it was excellent! Plus I really love Josh Groban!

This story is shaping up to be very interesting as well, I think it is a great idea for Ginny to brew up some Draught of Peace for Harry.

I really like the way you portray the way they relate to each other. It is interesting to not have a Ginny that is fiery-tempered and confrontational--I kind of like that about her, but you have a good idea of her nature as well.

  Quote
p0tterfan
Saturday 4th December 2004 14:38


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

One
Promising start to the sequel.  Thestrals defending Harry, that is definitely interesting.  Did he do wandless magic, or did the thestrals free themselves?  I guess Harry will be performing more wandless magic, esp. when someone insinuates anything against Ginny, or the ones he loves.

Let's see what the potions do :)  Okay, gonna go read the next chapter now.  Good job!
  Quote
TigerLily8186
Tuesday 30th November 2004 13:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

One

Yay a continuation! The thestral situation was certainly interesting. As was the book Ginny finally found. That book seems slightly spooky, helpful, but spooky. I suppose I'll just have to wait and see...

  Quote
huffboy36
Tuesday 30th November 2004 06:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

One
Great start.  Very promising.  Looking forward to what you're going to do next.  
Arnel
Tuesday 30th November 2004 09:10
One (Author Response)

This story just gets more interesting from here.  Part two should be up by the end of the week.  I sent the final copy to my beta last night!  Thanks for reviewing.

  Quote
Pugpal
Thursday 21st October 2004 14:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

One
EEEPP!! What the heck was that?! I REALLY don't like cliffhangers but if the story is good then I don't mind and let me tell you this is an awsome story! Great job!
Arnel
Monday 29th November 2004 23:28
One (Author Response)
I'm glad you like my story...Sorry about the cliffie.  Unfortunately, most of the chapters in this particular fic end in one!  You'll be hearing more about the book in other chapters, so keep reading!
  Quote
mary-v
Monday 11th October 2004 16:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

One

This was an amazing chapter! I really liked this story! I hpe you update really soon!

~Maria~

  Quote
parakletos
Saturday 25th September 2004 09:51


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

One
Like the rest of your writing this is beautifully crafted. It's unusual these days to read about Ginny without her exploding at someone or other. I did think that Ron and Hermione desrved it in the autum term though !
Arnel
Monday 29th November 2004 23:30
One (Author Response)
Hermione's going to be making an effort to help Ginny keep an eye on Harry this term.  I think she's been properly scolded and is now willing to make amends.
  Quote
brios
Monday 19th July 2004 20:31


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

One
Now you have to update this pretty fast. It's such a great companion to my cup of red wine!
Arnel
Monday 29th November 2004 23:31
One (Author Response)
I hope that cup of wine has aged well.  Chapter 2 should be up soon.
  Quote
IScoldLazyAuthors
Sunday 18th July 2004 17:07


One
Oh please tell me the next chapter is underway!
Arnel
Sunday 18th July 2004 17:07
One (Author Response)
Yes, Chapater two is well underway and will appear sometime in August. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Teen Prodigy of Ravenclaw
Friday 16th July 2004 15:55


One

Brilliant!
-TPoR
  Quote
Showing 1 to 17 of 17
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004