Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Dolores' Sorrow by Kagome

Showing 1 to 16 of 16
Dad
Tuesday 16th March 2010 09:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 483

Dolores' Sorrow
Very interesting and unusual. Well writen.
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 8th February 2009 11:11


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Dolores' Sorrow
This is really well-written, with an intriguing idea. I refuse to believe that Remus ever actually hurt anyone, though. But you've done a great job, all the same.
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Tuesday 15th January 2008 05:54


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Dolores' Sorrow
Poor Remus, that must have been so difficult to watch. I've never liked Umbridge but your story gave her some humanity which I never thought possible! Great story!
  Quote

Monday 3rd July 2006 14:10


Dolores' Sorrow
  Quote
siobh007
Monday 30th January 2006 11:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Dolores' Sorrow
great!!! it also gives a human side to Umvridge, wich is nice ( although she's still an old brat!!!)
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Tuesday 11th October 2005 13:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Dolores' Sorrow
Great story.  I kinda saw it coming but that's ok.  I loved the part where you switch to POV from Umbridge's memory to Lupin's.  S.
  Quote
TigerLily8186
Thursday 15th September 2005 16:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Dolores' Sorrow
Wow. This was really powerful. Poor Remus, I felt so sorry for him when he realized that it was him. I can't believe Umbridge would think of using truth serum on him like that. Wow.
  Quote
cckeimig
Tuesday 13th September 2005 19:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Dolores' Sorrow
Wow. At first this kind of bugged me because I find Dolores an anything but sympathetic character. But what an interesting twist you added, making Lupin the cause of all he and the other werewolves have had to suffer, even if he wasn't in control of himself at the time. A very good read!
  Quote
amamama
Tuesday 13th September 2005 10:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Dolores' Sorrow
Aargh.  Poor Remus, and poor Dolores.  This was an experience neither of them should've had.  I feel sad that you put this on Remus' shoulders, though.  Having him recognise Fenrir Greyback would have been so much better.  And it doesn't change the fact that Umbridge is the worse beast, after all, her beastly actions are planned and willed.  It's well written, though.

Thanks!
Kagome
Tuesday 13th September 2005 17:49
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
Hello, and thank you for your review.

Yes, I too think now that the reference to Fenrir would've been of even more effect for the fic. However, when I wrote it HBP wasn't yet published, so I really knew nothing about who bit Remus. I couldn't read Jo's mind ;)

However, even if indeed it's a stone maybe too heavy on Remus' back, I think it still works, even after HBP.

Thank you for your nice words!
  Quote
Aaran St Vines
Monday 12th September 2005 19:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Dolores' Sorrow
Amazingly well constructed and executed tale. I felt for Dolores Umbridge - unimaginable.

(Actually, I felt more for her dog, but I did feel for her.)

A fine story that can go on or stay right there in the ether unanswered.
Kagome
Tuesday 13th September 2005 17:51
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
(Actually, I felt more for her dog, but I did feel for her.)


LOL... yes, poor Sorrow. I too love that dog :)

Thank you for your comment!

  Quote
ridgeback77
Monday 12th September 2005 07:50


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Dolores' Sorrow
An interesting look at both Remus and Delores.  Very well written.
Kagome
Tuesday 13th September 2005 17:52
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
Lina
Friday 8th July 2005 17:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

Dolores' Sorrow

That was... chilling.   Are you planning a sequel?  I'd love to see how Remus deals with the guilt, and what Umbridge plans to do.

-Lina

Kagome
Tuesday 13th September 2005 17:53
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
Thank you for your review!

I had thought about adding a sequel to the story, but then, I chose not to. I prefer to leave the future to the reader :)
  Quote
Rogue
Friday 26th November 2004 07:14


Dolores' Sorrow

my heart breaks for remus... seeing the human you once nearly killed... would you be doing a sequel for this?

Kagome
Saturday 27th November 2004 07:35
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
yes, and seeing when you KILLED somebody (Dolores' mum). This is maybe the biggest shock with which remus has to deal here. I mean -- at the moment his bigger shock is thinking at how Doloes might react if she finds out, and he runs away for such reason. However, AFTER the terror of the moment disappears, he will of course realise what he'd done, and the sense of guilt will give him some hard problems.

Thank you for your review! I do't know if I will write a sequel to this. I have even the title for the sequel in my head: "Dolores' hunt") but I don't know if the sequel needs to be written or not. I have the feeling that it's better to leave how the story continues to the imagination of the reader.
  Quote
Pooca
Friday 23rd July 2004 21:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Dolores' Sorrow
Hm... interesting. This was a very original story, and Unbridge's POV was quite good, especially with the 'maternal tone'... haha. At any rate, this was good... though I rather wish it would have been the same werewolf that bit Lupin, rather than Lupin himself. First, that knowledge would have thrown Unbridge for a loop *smirk*... and second... does Lupin really need more angst?

Great job!
Kagome
Saturday 27th November 2004 07:37
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
does Lupin really need more angst?


Thank you for the wonderful review. Well no, I don't think Remus really needs more angst. But I can't help. I wanted to write the story as if Remus found out that a werewolf had killed Dolores' mum and stop, but as I wrote, Remus decided to be the werewolf, and the bit where he realises that had written itself too powerfully to scratch it down. I'm afraid Remus himself decided that, I'm not guilty

  Quote
DADAGinny
Friday 23rd July 2004 08:49


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Dolores' Sorrow
This was very good! Are you going to continue it at all? It felt right when Lupin could not continue watching. Excellent work!
Kagome
Saturday 27th November 2004 07:40
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
Thank you very much for the lovely review, and sorry for my late answer. I'm happy you liked my fic so much and that you felt it *right* at that moment. It just wrote itself like that. My idea for the story was a bit different, but seems that Lupin himself wants to have more angst even if you don't plan it for him. 
  Quote
XiaoXiao
Thursday 22nd July 2004 23:58


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Dolores' Sorrow
Whoa. Crazy What-If here. I liked it a lot, and I think that it makes a very good reason as to why Umb ch is so paranoid about part-humans.
The Pensieve was very odd, edged in lace and made of crystal like the figurines on the sideboard. What a silly thing to hold your memories in, Remus mused.
This is exactly the kind of Pensieve she would have, isn't it?

Poor Remus!
Kagome
Saturday 27th November 2004 07:44
Dolores' Sorrow (Author Response)
Thank you very much for the review, and sorry for the late in which i'm replying to it! I recently moved to England, just after having posted this story up, and I needed some time to find a job, a house, and settle in. However, now I'm well and I can write again , so i can also answer to your reviews.

yes, I thought that the pensieve done in such way was exactly as she would have chosen it. You know, some reviewers elsewhere said that it made them realise that a pensieve can be made in a way that fits the owner's tastes, because they had always thouht the pensieves were exactly like that of Dumbledore and Snape. But I think the pensieve can have any shape, it's the content, and probably the spell that binds it, that is important.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004