Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Chances by Jeconais

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Praeceps09
Friday 17th July 2009 01:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 85

What have I got to do to make you love me?
OH MY GOD this is funny. Thanks for the good laugh.
  Quote
Danikay
Saturday 21st March 2009 21:45


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Ahaha YES I do remember this! And I thought it was brilliant then too!
But I'm still reading it! *grins*
"You know, if you wanted to get horizontal with me, all you had to do was ask,"

Amazing line ^_^
DaniKay
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 13th September 2008 08:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

What have I got to do to make you love me?
hhahahaha that was insane!! ginny better hurry up and break up with dean!
and snape... always the slytherin haha
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 11th October 2007 15:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

What have I got to do to make you love me?
lol. i love this story!!! it is so cute and sweet!!!
This idea gave the dark professor a sudden thought. With what he knew of Harry, it was fairly likely that Harry would get fed up with the stupidity of the Ministry sooner of later, and would make moves to get himself elected, so he could take care of it. It might be an idea if he started to cultivate a friendship with the boy, or at least see if he could stand him at close range. After all, it never hurt to have friends in high places, and if one thing had happened over the summer, it had been the proof that Harry was not James Potter.

such snape behaviour! good job!
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 11th July 2006 17:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Poor Ginny. I'd hate to be in her position at the moment. Very good. And I like how Dumbledore is looking at Harry like a grandson figure.
  Quote
sonicdale
Monday 18th April 2005 12:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Love the banter, LOVE IT!
It's what I'd expect - But I doubt JKR will be that casual with the Harry and Dumbledore situation. But who cares?!?!

Oh, that line, "Ginny was in hell." That was hilarious!

And the new line of cards with Harry's photos - that was great. And the twin's reaction to the Harry Potter candy.... I sense a new Candy Man in the works. Look out Willy Wonka!
  Quote
sonicdale
Monday 18th April 2005 12:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Love the banter, LOVE IT!
It's what I'd expect - But I doubt JKR will be that casual with the Harry and Dumbledore situation. But who cares?!?!

Oh, that line, "Ginny was in hell." That was hilarious!

And the new line of cards with Harry's photos - that was great. And the twin's reaction to the Harry Potter candy.... I sense a new Candy Man in the works. Look out Willy Wonka!
  Quote
Megan
Thursday 2nd December 2004 14:46


What have I got to do to make you love me?
Your stories are inventive and funny.  I always enjoy the characterizations and jokes, but there are some typos and grammatical mistakes that disrupt the story's flow sometimes.  Perhaps an extra person editing for flow and grammar would be an asset.  Thanks!
  Quote
pixiellie
Saturday 4th September 2004 18:41


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Dear Tim AND Jaquelyne,

*Note to Jaq-Iím sorry I didnít include you in the first chapter review, please know those thoughts are directed to you as well.
The romp continues! Part two is just as cute, and you add in even more back-story, providing exposition on the whys and hows of Harryís (elemental) power. Weíve already seen fire- will he display the others?

Our boy also continues to work fast. Within moments Harry is flirting with Tonks, and getting another reaction worth blackmail material.

Leave it to Sev to laugh over an interrogation. The change from the horror he felt in the hall to his acceptance of Harry as almost friend is quick, but I can accept that Sevís whole life has changed recently. He doesnít have to play evil anymore. And letís face it- this Harry
is a charming buggar.

Strangely enough, my favorite line in this installment was
ďThe morning started bright and early, which, coincidentally, were the two main things Harry had against mornings.Ē
(This has a Douglas Adams feel to me.) That pretty much sums me up every day- without the trans continental fire elemental apparating jetlag. Say that five times fast.

This is a very sweet scene between Harry and the younger students. I like that heís relaxed, open, and itís not all just flirtatious bravado. Iím also pleased that slytherins arenít all treated as sinners to the gryffsí saints. Iím not sure Harry needed the ďbig finishĒ though. I canít imagine anyone not listening to this version of Harry.

The idea of elemental travel is interesting, why would fire work rather than air? Is it a distance thing?
Tim, a scene between DD and Harry referencing the abyss? Your Freudian slip is showing.

I always love a Forge scene, and the quartet of pranksters in the shop was a nice touch. I can picture Dumbledore stopping in when he needs a new laugh. And Harry announces his intentions towards Ginny! Not only to the twins but Molly as well. Nice to see him maneuver Albus out of the room for both conversations.

Poor Ginny has to deal with Lav and Pav moving in on her true love-and still hasnít broken up with Dean. I canít wait to see Harryís reaction to the nightgown. It sounds exquisite. Doesnít look like sheíll need it though. Aww. Harry thinks sheís gorgeous. Now if we can just get him to tell her . . .

In TMW, I mentioned you use enlightened self- interest in Sevís relationship to Harry. You seem to echo this here, but in a more calculating way. Similar ideas, but very different feels. Maybe itís the level of humor used or that Harry didnít personally save Sev in this story. This time it feels more premeditated.

I really enjoyed this installment, but I had hoped for more direct Harry Ginny interaction. I canít wait until Dean is history.

One again, I really enjoyed myself reading your work. Only one more part to go, I canít wait. Now Iíll have to read some more of Jaqís work. Iíll be curious to see how the styles differ. Excellent spelling and grammar, so once again thanks to your betas- please keep writing.

ellie, a reviewer


  Quote
saugart
Tuesday 17th August 2004 09:45


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 71

What have I got to do to make you love me?
I look forward to reading the third part of this story, and then the second and third parts of the trilogy it will be part of. This is fun. Harry's nearly perfect in this story, which worries me a bit, but it is a fun read.

  Quote
Gridley
Monday 16th August 2004 12:54


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 160

What have I got to do to make you love me?
A 'lighter side' of TMW? Interesting...
  Quote
dave gerecke
Tuesday 10th August 2004 05:25


What have I got to do to make you love me?
I really like it.
I like TMW also but I think this one has the legs to be a really good story.
Hope you get to finish Fifth House as that one is not bad either.
dave
  Quote
jedione
Wednesday 28th July 2004 15:18


What have I got to do to make you love me?
Good story, I assume we'll get to the fluff in the next part

Good Job you two!
  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Tuesday 27th July 2004 02:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

What have I got to do to make you love me?
This is another extremely fun chapter, but then, all your chapters are fun. The notion of Harry and Dumbledore off galavanting during class time is brilliant and makes for a great story line. I especially enjoyed McGonagall's reaction to Dumbledore. Arthur and his gadgets is the perfect analogy.

I've just read back through 1-7 of TWM over the last few days and then went through this chapter. A couple of things struck me. The first, is that you always make Harry and Ginny come across as such firm and resolute characters. It's not quite canon, but it's refreshing and it makes for lively stories. Things like the Get-Out-Of-Detention cards are just brilliant touches that kind of approach allows.

I'm also impressed with the parallels between this and TWM (Snape's potential banishment to Siberia and Blais' role came immediately to mind). The contexts are quite different but the plot devices worked just as well in either situation.

Nice, fun work as always!
-KC
  Quote
Zeo
Monday 26th July 2004 14:58


What have I got to do to make you love me?
You're such a talented writer, and always can make me grin on end. Might I ask, where do you get such wonderful inspiration for these stories? So creative. I especially liked this line:

Harry smiled, "Oh, a bit of this, a bit of that. Full control over the elements, bake a pie, you know, normal stuff."

Keep the good work coming!

  Quote
Jack B Nimble
Monday 26th July 2004 13:58


What have I got to do to make you love me?
Wow... from your description of what this fic is, I expected it would move faster, and sacrafice some character development. This is really good stuff.

The complaints... One thing that bothered me was Harry's talk with the twins about Ginny. He came off sounding a bit "Well, I figured I should get myself a girlfriend, and Ginny's nice looking and I don't dislike her, so what the hell?" The conversation with Molly, brief tho it was, played out better -- it sounded more like "this is something I've been wanting to do, and now I will as soon as I get my chance." Next, I think Snape (who started out happy Harry was still missing) turned around too quickly. Also, while this is fluff, and I doubt you want to deal much with Harry's resentment of Dumbledore, their interaction here seems to go too far in the other direction.

All that said, this is an incredibly fun read. I noticed all those things while reading, and putting them in the review sounds very negative, but they cannot ruin the fun and humor you manage to put in your characters and situations.

I wait anxiously for the next part of this and, of course, THW!

Thanks for the great work!
Jeconais
Monday 26th July 2004 13:58
What have I got to do to make you love me? (Author Response)
Thanks for the review...

What Harry said to Fred and George was aimed at to prankster twins, so isn't quite what he feels, but more of that in part 3 - the final part of this first stroy.

Now, Snape, I do kinda agree with. I'm going to post on my Live Journala deleted scene later that builds up their relationship a lot more than here. I guess I did cut things a little to much.

I write in scenes, then fill in the blanks, so because Jaq persuaded me to dump the scene, I also cut out more of Snape's turn around than was probably a good idea.

This is fluff, and yeah, that's why I didn't deal with Dumbledore properly. I have a fic that I've been talking about for ages called The Darkness, that will address these issures fully - it will be launched when TMW is finished.
  Quote
Ne-oX
Monday 26th July 2004 13:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

What have I got to do to make you love me?


Consider yourself paid for another good chapter

(Although it may be becasue you are my brother that you are getting more reviews than anyone else )


(Did you know it is beths 21'st ? Debbie had to tell both me and michael :blink
Jeconais
Monday 26th July 2004 13:09
What have I got to do to make you love me? (Author Response)
Yeah, I did know, Mum told me on Saturday - how old does that make us?

I sent her card to Mum's, and I've ordered her present, but want to give it to her in person - she'll flip.

BTW, I'm working on Fifth House again...
  Quote
DADAGinny
Monday 26th July 2004 11:22


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Excellent job, as per usual Tim! Loved this chappie, can't wait for you to bring on the H/G!

Also, quick question for you: Why is it you always try to show Snapes "other side" in your fics, but you don't do that with Draco? Just curious!

DADAGinny
Jeconais
Monday 26th July 2004 11:22
What have I got to do to make you love me? (Author Response)
Not a quick answer

Snape, despite being a comple ++blocked++whit (great, running into my own word filter), does have some redeeming qualities - in that he's a spy and has been for most of his life. It's something I've explored in more detail in TMW! Snape expects to die, so doesn't really care about anything at all - especially not a pretentious bunch to teenagers (as he sees them).
From a writing perspective, it's fun to find a new way bring him around - whether it be by appealing to his self-preservation side here, or by a complete series of actions bringing him around (and that's finished off in TMW8)

Draco, and by the way, I do have him as a good guy in Fifth House, is most of a time just a dick. I don't actually think he's good for anything at all, I don't think he's skilled, powerful, or has anything that would make him a useful ally for Harry.
There is also the fact that I hate D/G a lot, and through that, Draco, that I really can't be bothered to put in the effort to try and redeem him. Much better, as far as I am concenred, to use him as comic relief.
  Quote
BabyRuth
Monday 26th July 2004 09:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

What have I got to do to make you love me?
Great story! Some of it's so far out of canon who care? I hope part 3 has more R/Hr/H interaction though, I feel like they're being left out.
Jeconais
Monday 26th July 2004 09:40
What have I got to do to make you love me? (Author Response)
Actaully, the next part starts with some R/Hr/H interaction, and it has one of my favourite few lines that I've written in it.
  Quote
brios
Monday 26th July 2004 00:05


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

What have I got to do to make you love me?
I love this, waiting for part 3!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two ó A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004