Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Consequences of the Heart by Mr. Intel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Flash07
Tuesday 29th March 2011 12:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Assignments and Requirements
I would have told Remus to stick his bracelet up his > > > > . If I was Harry, I would told them to stick it. No one in this story has the right to do this to him. They can take away school, but he can take away their lives so let D decide which he prefers. My BP exploded after this chapter as to who these people think they are especially Remus, I never thought about Harry before, Lupin.
  Quote
kmackone
Monday 9th February 2009 06:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

2: Assignments and Requirements
After everything that Harry has already suffered by being forced to be a slave to the muggle and the wizarding world it is wrong, across the board, to make Harry wear an enchanted bracelet to force him to have feelings for Ginny. Your version of Ginny is so out in the AU universe as to be unlovable. She should be thoroughly spanked and expelled and sent to Beauxbatons, so Harry can move on with his life.

Forced love is no better than what Romilda Vane did with the love potion. This story is unacceptable to me. I will not finish it. I'm sure you'll have them all happy together at the end and everyone will love it. Everyone but me.

I believe in Harry's right to control his life, as much as possible. This scenerio is a travesty. I believe in Harry and Ginny being together, but by their own choices not those of diseased and befuddled old quacks like your Dumbledore. Your Lupin is a traitor to Harry. Lupin should stand up For Harry against anything anyone tries to do to him, not be his Lord and Master.

If I was in that cituation I would literally shove the bracelet up Lupin's arse. Harry is the wronged party in this. He should not be punished at all let alone to have Ginny, the unreasable bitch made to be his minder.

It's really sad to see another story where the premise is everyone has the right to abuse Harry without a logical reason, except he's Harry and it's conveient and fun to mess with him.

On a scale of 1-10 I give it a 0. Harry deserves better.
  Quote
Prongs739
Monday 25th August 2008 15:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 174

2: Assignments and Requirements
Well, I wonder if that is the start of something better between the two of them. They did have one very powerful battle, what with knocking Snape off of his feet with two simple spells.

  Quote
harrysnotgoingtodiein7
Wednesday 18th July 2007 11:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

2: Assignments and Requirements
i was rotflol when Molly said Ginny would be going to Beaxbatons.

This is funny, im betting in the next chapter they will
  Quote
noylj
Saturday 29th July 2006 21:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

2: Assignments and Requirements
I am rereading. I still say Harry has the worse of it. I would be happy to watch Ginny sweat as I brought out water and food...
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Monday 17th April 2006 15:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

2: Assignments and Requirements
Sorry for the double post. I also forgot to mention a theory I have before I read the rest of the story and either prove it right or wrong. I think that they were placed together 1. because Dumbledore knows they are meant to be together and 2. Firenze had to of mentioned more than that. I think FIrenze or someone told him {Dumbledore} that they needed to be together... like they needed to be in school together because they were going to need to work to gether to do something with the war... I dunno just a hteory and I hope im right... anyway Im on to the next chapter!!!
Kortnee
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Monday 17th April 2006 15:41


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

2: Assignments and Requirements
Wow I don't even want to stop for a review so that means I absolutely love it so far.

Kortnee
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Monday 17th April 2006 15:41


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

2: Assignments and Requirements
Wow I don't even want to stop for a review so that means I absolutely love it so far.

Kortnee
  Quote
Wooster
Monday 9th January 2006 20:00


2: Assignments and Requirements
Brilliant. You always come up with the most clever ways to throw Harry and Ginny together. Poor Ginny, I think she got the worst end of the bargain: having to wait on him hand and foot? Harsh. Very harsh.
  Quote

Thursday 24th February 2005 07:36


2: Assignments and Requirements
I doubt that either Ginny or Harry would be expelled for fighting in the halls. I understand the banning from quidditch part, but not the expulsion. That is just plain unfair, and no teacher would do it. Except maybe Snape. But McGonagall and Dumbledore definitely would not. Not meaning to be rude or anything, just my opinion
  Quote
pixiellie
Saturday 13th November 2004 20:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

2: Assignments and Requirements

Hee.   They’re grounded.   A summer full of work sounds pretty harsh to me as Harry’s punishment, until you realize that he spends his summers pretty much working anyway, the Weasley’s will at least let him outside and feed him, and, well, he did hex a teacher, and ignore his head of house.   So, I can accept. Grin     The catch was he was stuck with Ginny.   In my house, my Dad kept the fighting kids separated.   Hmmm.   I wonder….Hee   (I tend to review as the chapter goes, I hope they make sense to you.   If not feel free to let me know)

 

I really really really like that Molly calls Ginny on her insensitive behavior.   The same day as Sirius dies- come on!   (You’re going to have to work not get me and Harry to forgive her…) But this scene went along way towards me seeing her side.   She knows she was wrong, and she mourns both for Harry and Sirius.  

 

Ok.   I’m feeling sorry for Ginny now.   No one should have Molly Weasley mad at them for a summer, or have to miss dinner.   Plus, she’ll be Harry’s servant.   The Weasley pride will be up in arms over this.  

 

Great job of capturing a teenaged girl’s love of verbal italics and dramatic statements.   (I should know, I’m still fighting the instinct to underline every review.) Grin.  

 

(Just a note Ewww over the Vernon moment.   Oh, and Remus and Petunia, double Eww.)

 

I like the contrast of Remus pointing out that Harry and Ginny’s friendship never being the same and Harry acknowledging that, and Ginny still calling Harry a brat and trying to shift more of the blame.   They seem to be approaching the punishment from very different directions in a way.   Maybe it’s that Ginny never really felt like one of Harry’s friends.  

 

Nice foreshadowing that Firenze sees their continued presence (and friendship?) important to the war against Voldimort.   Again, they have to be so together?   Hmmm….

 

I’m not sure I like the idea of monitoring bracelets.   A person can’t help the way they feel, and it seems cruel to add a type of corporal punishment for emotions.   As long as they carry out their chores, that should have satisfied the terms.   But, for the sake of the story, I can accept them, and see how they come into play in the future.

 

Poor Ginny.   I don’t blame her for holding on to her anger.   (You are doing a wonderful job in getting me to empathize with both characters.   My sympathy has yo yo’ed back and forth- both for Harry and Ginny.   That’s hard for a writer to do!)  

 

Hee.   What a difference a talk with Mum can do.   She’s flirting, and getting a reaction, even if Harry isn’t sure that’s what’s happening yet.   I like that she began talking to him, reminding him of the person he began to be friends with earlier in the year.

 

I felt a little sad though, that Harry was that exhausted, and looked for Ginny, and she didn’t appear.  

I liked this chapter, and you have continued to create a unique situation.   The best part has been your ability to express what our favorite couple is feeling.   You have a gift for leaving things hinted, but unsaid.   I look forward to the next chapter.  

As always, pass along my appreciation to your betas, the grammar and spelling were terrific.   Take some of those thanks for yourself as well.   You take time and effort to share with strangers, and we thank you.   Pixie

Mr. Intel
Sunday 14th November 2004 20:31
2: Assignments and Requirements (Author Response)
Whew.  Another marathon review.  I like your review style - reviewing as you read.  It make perfect sense and I won't discourage you at all.

The punishments were the hardest bits of this story to write.  I found myself waffling between being too hard on both of them and being too lenient.  In the end, I hope I found a good balance.

The bracelets were a late addition to the plot, but add another level of complexity to the plot - giving the reader another way to see what's going on in H&G's heads.  They also play a part in a future sequel (or two).  Never underestimate the power of sentimental attachment to jewelery.


  Quote
Cera
Wednesday 13th October 2004 18:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

2: Assignments and Requirements

Phew... this was a long one.

I like that you've written both Harry and Ginny was strong personalilties.  It isn't unrealistic that they would argue like siblings (well... not really like sibling.. but you know )

" Sleep that night came late and her dreams were filled with visions of Harry suspended from the ceiling, covered in enraged Bowtruckles, or Harry pinned between a Chimaera and a Blast-ended-Screwt at the bottom of a Doxie infested canyon, or Harry naked and covered in chocolate...."

This was a great part!  The punishments were inventive, and the last bit made me crack up.

Great chapter!

Sarah

  Quote
Teen Prodigy of Ravenclaw
Friday 17th September 2004 22:29


2: Assignments and Requirements

We are not worthy!!!!

-TPoR

  Quote
Keytobias5
Wednesday 15th September 2004 10:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: Assignments and Requirements

This very nice.  I can see where this is heading and I look foreward to the next chappie.

 

~Toby

  Quote
brad
Wednesday 15th September 2004 01:06


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

2: Assignments and Requirements
Cute.  A bit contrived, but cute.

Are the adults seriously trying to arrange a romance here?  Has Firenze given them more details about exactly WHY the couple have to continue attending Hogwarts?  Will a violinist be showing up for their next dinner under the stars?

The Firenze advice was, indeed, a very good touch, adding an extra dimension/undercurrent for we readers to ruminate about.  Hmmm ... is romantic love part of the 'power the dark lord has not' with which Harry will win the day?  Good one.

That bit about Ron & Hermione snogging for a year - spoken to Mrs. Weasely of all people - was a surprise, as this is supposed to be coming straight after the end of OotP.  Have I missed something (along with Harry)?  And will Ron be showing up to help/watch Harry perform his next task?

Looking forward to more!
Mr. Intel
Wednesday 15th September 2004 01:06
2: Assignments and Requirements (Author Response)
Ooh.  I'd answer but I'm afraid I'd incriminate myself.  Of course it's contrived!  It's an A/U! :D

Ron's got some parts to play in future chapters, so we'll see more of Ginny's infuriating older brother.  Along those lines, Hermione 'pops' in for a visit as well.  Around July 31st, I believe.

Thanks for the great review!  Keep them coming.
  Quote
heather
Tuesday 14th September 2004 23:43


2: Assignments and Requirements
I love this story,i really enjoy the realtionship that ginny and harry are starting to form,not to fast not to slow. In my honest opinion I think ginnny got off alittle easy in comparision to harry,yes I know she somewhat like a slave to harry but all she has to do is bring him water and food, spend sometime with him then gets to do whatever the hell she feels likes doing and in way she started the whole fight she should of just left harry alone I mean the boy just lost a godfather.Anyway please continued and update soon.
  Quote
p0tterfan
Tuesday 14th September 2004 23:35


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

2: Assignments and Requirements
Promising start.  Looking forward to the rest.
  Quote
Kokopelli
Tuesday 14th September 2004 19:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

2: Assignments and Requirements

Actually, there's a lot of plots that in the abstract are just terrible, but the story is wonderful.  Delylah's Deadly Deception is a real oddball plot - Harry fakes his death and comes back to school to live as a Slytherin in disguise - Puh-Leez!  That being said, that story is terrific, no matter how lame the plot synopsis might be.

Harry and Ginny torque each other off to the point of a dangerous duel.  As punishment they are forced to work together until  . . . .well, you get the point.  Some plots, in synopsis form, inhale vigorously with lots of lip action.

This story, however, shows lots and lots of promise, until the last chapter, when it goes completely out of control, but that's not Michaels fault either.

J

  Quote
Kelleypen
Tuesday 14th September 2004 18:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

2: Assignments and Requirements
wonderful.  this is working really well.  I can't wait for the next chapter.  Kelley
  Quote
Kokopelli
Tuesday 14th September 2004 18:40


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

2: Assignments and Requirements

Okay, you've made it this far - take a deep breath.  Okay, now, let it out.  The story gets much, much better after this chapter, keep reading.

MrIntel (Michael) and I have been trading barbs, bad jokes, double entendres and stories for several months now, and when he outlined this story I thought to myself "gag me with a spoon - this is going to be a terrible story."  But because I'm an exceptionally tender and sensitive guy, I didn't tell him that, so he shipped me the first two chapters anyway.

Michael writes - dilligently.  His goal is to write 1000 words a day - I don't know how often he misses his goal, but I know that when I send him an e-mail at lunchtime (my lunchtime, not his) listing my gripes, questions and suggestions for one of his stories, more often than not by bedtime (my bedtime) he's sent me a new revision to the chapter.

This story has taken shape with a lot of work on Michael's part, putting up with my rants, lame suggestions and ribald comments.  Some people take him to task for his characterization, but I think he's spot on with this one - there are no characterizations here that can't be defended with references to canon.

Sit back and enjoy the show - you're in for a treat.

Has Kokopelli ever steered you wrong? 

 

J

Mr. Intel
Tuesday 14th September 2004 18:40
2: Assignments and Requirements (Author Response)
Wow...  I think you may have actually made me blush there, John.  Such unabashed endorsements are as common as a tornado in Utah; they happen, but once a decade.

"Exceptionally sensetive and tender", eh?  You've been letting your fangirls inflate your ego again, haven't you?   Although I'm surprised to know that you thought this was a horrible plot idea and that it panned out anyway, despite my attempts at characterization.

Speaking of which, I want to let anyone who's reading this to know that I'm the only one to blame if you disagree with how my characters act in this story.  This is how I see Harry, Ginny, and company behaving given the scenario I presented.  Like John said, I can defend my position with canon, though many might not agree with me.  That's okay - it's what makes the world a great place to live in.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004