Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Hands Around Hogwarts by Arnel

Showing 1 to 11 of 11
ckarocks
Tuesday 24th January 2012 22:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: Part One
This was good. Part two should be interesting...
Arnel
Wednesday 25th January 2012 01:53
1: Part One (Author Response)
This story is in three parts. I've had parts of the second and third sections written for about seven years, but because I have been writing other stories, I haven't finished either. Finishing this story is on my To-Do list, but will not be finished until my current story is completed. And yes, it will be interesting because I've decided to update it by adding DH characters.

Thanks for the review.
  Quote

Sunday 25th November 2007 08:57


1: Part One
ron weasley is hotter than harry potter, in his third ang forth year at hogwarts
Arnel
Sunday 25th November 2007 23:13
1: Part One (Author Response)
You may think so. However, Ginny would tell you otherwise. Thanks for the reveiw.
  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Saturday 24th March 2007 03:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1: Part One
good story. i really enjoyed the other one and this one is just as good

just one tiny thing, im not trying to be picky but its really american to say "reviewing" here in england we revise. i know its just a tiny thing but its just slightly annoying. that said, your stories are better than most at keeping americanisms to a minimum
Arnel
Saturday 24th March 2007 05:17
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to write to me.

In my defense, I started this story prior to OotP coming out and at the time, did not know that the British equivalent of "reviewing" is "revise". Since I have essentially abandoned this story in favor of completing "New Year, New Hope", I plan to have my beta go in and clean up all the Americanisms in this first chapter. I appreciate your pointing this out to me. It's reviewers like you who keep me engaged in learning the differences between American cultural and British cultural differences.
  Quote

Wednesday 8th March 2006 19:54


1: Part One
I really liked this story! Thanks for the new take on fan-fiction- It's good to hear something different!
Arnel
Tuesday 21st March 2006 06:34
1: Part One (Author Response)
You're welcome. There's more to this story, but I'm stuck on how Ginny sees some of the staff members and am contemplating bringing it up to date with a bit about Slughorn. The good news is, I'm halfway through Snape's part; after almost a year and a half I've finally come back to the story and am playing with what Ginny thinks of Snape as the DADA teacher as well as Potions Master. I'm glad you liked my story.
  Quote
XXXmister-E werepony unit
Wednesday 2nd November 2005 15:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

1: Part One
evan stranger...
Arnel
Thursday 5th January 2006 00:37
1: Part One (Author Response)

...and this one's not even done yet.  Just wait until I get the time and the inspiration to finish the teachers and support staff at Hogwarts!  Thanks for reading.

  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 7th July 2005 12:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1: Part One
Love it! What interesting conculsions you've come to about the characters hands! Good show!
Arnel
Friday 8th July 2005 05:20
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing.  I'm glad you like the story.  I had fun researching what little information JKR provides about the characters in this manner.  The rest is mostly conjecture and observations of my own of real-life Muggles.
  Quote
Lady Padfoot
Monday 2nd May 2005 18:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

1: Part One
Wonderful piece, I've been meaning to review this forever, once I figured out how to get around my fire walls.  They're as bad as over protective parents. *pout*  I love the fic though, I think it's a wonderful idea, and I can't wait to hear Ginny's opinion on Snape.
Arnel
Friday 6th May 2005 22:11
1: Part One (Author Response)
Ginny's got an awful lot of words about Snape, but she's procrastinating putting them down on paper! (She's afraid he'll give her a month's worth of detention if she writes what she really feels!)  Thanks for the review.  I'm glad you are enjoying the story.
  Quote
Sassenach
Wednesday 13th April 2005 13:48


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

1: Part One

OMG, Arnel! I had to read some of your stuff since you get to read all of mine! Can I just say that I'm in love with your writing. I seriously hope I become at least half as good as you are! Thank goodness you're my beta!

Honestly, I could feel Ginny talking. It was like she was talking to herself but in my ears I could hear it all. Your words flow seemlessly together.

I loved the description of Dean, because it's so nice to hear about an Artist in Hogwarts. If I were there, I'd hope there was someone else that was an artist too! Seamus' background added a lot to the character, and I think differently of him now- in a good way, I promise!

Seriously, I'm just amazed and dumbfounded by your work. I should have been reading your stuff a long time ago! I hope I pick up on your great writing! Cheers, girl!

Arnel
Friday 6th May 2005 22:08
1: Part One (Author Response)

I'm so glad you could find the time to read and review...your praise has me blushing!  I hope I can live up to it!

Writing what you know, in this case hands, makes the process easy.  I spend hours each week studying hands to see they are properly curved on the piano keys or using the proper fingering for difficult passages and translating those hours into words about JKR's characters came easily when I remembered what certain hands looked like.  Add my own feelings towards the characters and voila...a fic!

Just keep writing...the more you do it, the better you'll get!

  Quote

Thursday 7th October 2004 17:46


1: Part One

Hey, you forgot to tell us what  thought about 's hands!!!!!  lol

 

I like it, especially Hermione's, can't wait to read the second part. . . 

Arnel
Tuesday 21st December 2004 00:23
1: Part One (Author Response)
This is a sequel of sorts to my fic Hands: a Study by Ginny Weasley which deals with what  sees in 's hands.  Have you read it?  Thanks for reviewing.  It was nice of you to do so.
  Quote
Aggiebell
Thursday 7th October 2004 14:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

1: Part One
Arnel, I really am constantly amazed by these "studies" you do. I especially liked the time you spent on Dean and Neville (surprise, surprise ;) [italic]*hugs Neville*[/italic] ). I feel like I have so much more insight into the characters you chose to have Ginny study. [quote]I did notice one glaringly obvious omission on Ginny's part however...[/quote] BaF, Check out Arnel's [URL=http://phoenixsong.net/symphony/story.php?cid=151]Hands: A Study by Ginny Weasley[/URL] for the "missing" observation. She's got him covered. I agree...can't wait to see what Ginny makes of the professors. Because you know she's spent at least as much time studying them as she has the students. [quote]And yes, Aggiebell is very eagle-eyed, isn't she!:yourock:[/quote] :blush: Thanks to both of you! :bowdown: Julie
  Quote
Bring and Fly
Thursday 7th October 2004 03:25


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1: Part One

Totally amazing! This story (Essay, almost) really rang true for me because I'm a hand studier too! I liked the descriptions and the way you had Ginny extrapolate back to what they meant to understand those around her better You must spend a lot of time people-watching to have made the imagery so clear for us to follow.  

I did notice one glaringly obvious omission on Ginny's part however...

Waiting eagerly for part two. Longing to see what Ginny makes of Snape, the potion master (bother!) And yes, Aggiebell is very eagle-eyed, isn't she!

 

Arnel
Thursday 7th October 2004 03:25
1: Part One (Author Response)

I'm glad you liked my ideas about the characters Ginny studied.  I purposely left out Harry because I covered him extensively as a "quasi-Weasley" in Hands: a Study by Ginny Weasley.

By the way, this piano teacher spends a good deal of her time watching her students' hands, so this little plot bunny showed its fuzzy little ears quite naturally.  Thanks for reading.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004