Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Little Wizard-chick by Waywren Truesong

Showing 1 to 20 of 57 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Ginger20
Monday 11th August 2008 21:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Little Wizard-chick
"She would pluck herself bald if that were all it took to make him happy"

Ok, that line made me tear up a bit. Very sweet story. Well done.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 27th June 2006 15:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Little Wizard-chick
I like how you did that in Hedwig's eyes, and had Harry ad her chick, and made all the connections. I wonder if JKR made that connection as well because there are a lot of things like that in her books. (example):Sirius Black, and Remus Lupin.
  Quote
Goddessa39
Saturday 13th May 2006 16:24


Little Wizard-chick
Hey, I have this hrl saved and I reread it. I like it lots by the way. I love Hedwig. More please if you come up with it.
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Tuesday 20th December 2005 17:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

Little Wizard-chick
Gray Hair?? Poor Harry, he has grey hair already.
  Quote
'Ll Which
Friday 4th November 2005 10:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Little Wizard-chick
My word, that was touching. I felt tears come to my eyes.
  Quote
Kala Phoenix
Saturday 24th September 2005 22:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Little Wizard-chick
Superb metaphor and imagery. Everything is so well expressed; Hedwig's thoughts and remembrances just break my heart ...and Harry has some white hairs. Not unexpected.
  Quote
Ariane
Saturday 30th July 2005 21:34


Little Wizard-chick

I first read this fic on Schnoogle a long time ago.  I loved it then and I love it now.  Hedwig's point of view is a refreshingly unique choice, and you have pulled it off brilliantly.  An owl would describe everything in terms of nests and hunting and perches, as it has no other frame of reference.  It gave me a thrill to see an author pick up on that and then use it in a fic.

But what made it really, truly beautiful was Hedwig's gentle affection, Harry's underlying sadness, and her noting his growth.  And it is filled with "oh, wow" moments.  My favorites: "[his hands] still shake sometimes, but it is not with joy."  "She would pluck herself bald if that were all it took to make him happy."  And of course, the touching:  "The first of his adult coloring is coming in already."  Every time I read it, my eyes burn a little bit.  I can't tell you how much I admire this work.

Waywren Truesong
Sunday 31st July 2005 10:50
Little Wizard-chick (Author Response)
*bows humbly*  What a beautiful review!  Thank you so very, very much--you described my story so gorgeously that I--of all people!--had to go back and reread it. *.*  You marvellous, marvellous person you.
  Quote
Ariane
Wednesday 11th May 2005 19:33


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Little Wizard-chick
I really, truly love this story.  In this, Hedwig's point of view is unique, mature, and touching; you did very well with it.  And the last line is just heart-wrenching.  Beautiful job.
  Quote
Trystym&Delylah
Wednesday 27th April 2005 13:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Little Wizard-chick
Terrific :)  I love Hedwig stories. It's plain to see in the books that Harry has a very special relationship with her, she does indeed seem to act as if she is the parent and he is her child sometimes. You've expounded upon that characterization brilliantly. The bit about his "adult coloring" at the end was brilliant. Took me a minute to get it, but I got there (ok, so I'm a bit slow on the uptake) and it added just the right touch of poignancy to the story.  If you write a sequel, I'll be delighted to read it!

Delylah
(too lazy to login to my own account)
  Quote
sonicdale
Monday 25th April 2005 08:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Little Wizard-chick
Wow. What a nice little idea that you made into a good fic.
I've read a few novels that used the 'animal POV' to some extent. Steven King had some good dog POV, and this ranks right up there with his. I wonder if you'd consent to writing a few more chapters to it? Maybe one-shots that would be just glimpses into certian events. Maybe an expansion of Hedwig's purchase by Hagrid and meeting Harry for the first time, sending letters to certian people, how she gets along in the owlrey in Hogwarts... the list could go on, and I liked this a lot. Hope you can expound, but if not, good work and I hope to see more.
  Quote
en
Sunday 24th April 2005 19:14


Little Wizard-chick
This is absolutely lovely. I have never seen a fic from this perspective, and I really enjoyed the poetry of your writing. Makes me love Hedwig even more. :o)
  Quote
Daksian
Sunday 24th April 2005 14:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Little Wizard-chick
Great ficlet!  A perspective I've not seen before, but one well worth exploring, and you've done it very well indeed!

Keep it up!
  Quote
Nimloki
Friday 22nd April 2005 09:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Little Wizard-chick
It's unique and very nice. Job well done. Please write more of this vision of yours...
  Quote
Astrid
Thursday 21st April 2005 16:33


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Little Wizard-chick
Oh! There's nothing more touching than something sad noticed naively and described positively.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Thursday 21st April 2005 13:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Little Wizard-chick
This is such a lovely fic. 

He sits up again, bearing a tome with him, and begins to flip through; she carries on preening, and wonders when he brushed his hair last. He doesn't seem to take care of himself very well, since he left the nest-place again, and he doesn't write unless written to, not even to the wolf-wizard, not since the dog-wizard left for the Far Sky. She wishes she could tell him about the Far Sky, where the hunting is always good and the mice rich and sweet with fat, and all one's nest-mates and perch-mates are whole again, and all pains are healed ... but as well as he understands her, he does not yet understand her that well, and by the time that he does, he might well have found out already.

This is very consistent with First Nations Mythology.  Maybe that's why this one has always felt so right to me. 

Waywren Truesong
Thursday 21st April 2005 16:02
Little Wizard-chick (Author Response)
Well, I'm about 1/32 Cherokee with the possibility of Creek, with a Creek middle name to boot; I've been very proud of my heritage since I was quite small.  The stories and beliefs of the American Aboriginals have always had a marked influence on my own pot of Story, and here I suppose they felt most needed.
  Quote

Thursday 21st April 2005 13:29


Little Wizard-chick

"there may yet be more; I shall truly try."  -Waywren

I sincerely hope so. This was wonderful. Keep up the creative writing!

-Loopy

  Quote
VanishingShmink
Wednesday 20th April 2005 15:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

Little Wizard-chick
What a sweet, refreshing view of Harry.  Great job.
  Quote
Summer Daisy
Wednesday 20th April 2005 13:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 32

Little Wizard-chick

Very very cute and unique! I love the bit about the "Far-Sky".

Somehow, through the little we hear about Harry directly, we know an awful lot about him. Please continue! I really loved it.

  Quote
Reenie
Wednesday 20th April 2005 03:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

Little Wizard-chick
 I'd read this story before but alas i didn't review it and i'm sorry about that... it tuggs at my heartstrings and it truely gives a good idea of what hedwig might say if JK had her point of view in the story.  It made me a little misty... oh alright it's a six kleenex story thank you for writing it and i hope the insperation to write more  of them comes to you
  Quote
kaiserzacc
Wednesday 20th April 2005 00:29


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

Little Wizard-chick

this is beautiful...please give me more

 

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 57 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004