Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Terrible Burden of Grace by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 20 of 38 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
mysinger
Tuesday 3rd January 2012 20:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Powerful story, with great depth of emotion. It made me cry for Harry and for James. Very well-written.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Wednesday 4th June 2008 06:27


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Look .. you should write more .... I loved this !
  Quote
Patches
Friday 21st March 2008 00:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Wow! What a powerful story. I am so glad you chose to write it. This is very well done. I look forward to reading more of the stories on your authors list. Thank you forw sharing your tallent. p
  Quote
alzeeb
Monday 11th February 2008 21:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

The Terrible Burden of Grace
aww bit of a sniffler this one. but very well done.

i especially approve of your chice of whisky, but it really has to be drunk neat
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Wednesday 19th December 2007 11:28


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Sorry I can't spell sometimes. I meant a very touching story!
Cheers!
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Wednesday 19th December 2007 11:27


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Very toughing story, made me cry. Cheers!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 11:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Terrible Burden of Grace
WOW!!!! This was an amazing story!!! I loved it so much!!! You really captured all of their attitudes and emotions well!

  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 7th June 2007 14:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Thanks for this great story I real like the storry's of H/G with children.
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 12:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Me again. But I just remembered that this goes with other stories so that could have been why it didn't really click with the characters for me. I'll have to go and read your other stories. Thanks again!
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 12:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Hmmm....I didn't like this Harry. Don't get me wrong the story was fine and dandy...well written and everything but he just seemed a little out of character. But he is older and I guess we don't really know how he would take that. Only I thought it would be better because of Remus....hmmm....although I did like the change of heart at the end. Good job on the story. Plot was good and I actually did enjoy it. Thanks!

Lils
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 1st August 2006 19:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Wow. That was really good. Not in the normal way, butin a better way. I can't explain it. But it is a very good compliment. And Father was so much right. And it did go with the other two stories.
  Quote
Novera
Friday 14th July 2006 05:26


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 157

The Terrible Burden of Grace
okay good soo far but i dont understand the last paragraph
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 18th October 2005 17:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Interesting.Poor Harry, everything happens to him doesn't it? He was dealt the tough card of life.
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 18th October 2005 20:23
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Poor Harry does seem to have gotten the bum's rush at times, doesn't he? Ah well... a hero who wasn't put through all sorts of adversity would be rather boring, wouldn't he?
  Quote
amamama
Wednesday 17th August 2005 12:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Oh, wonderful!  I read the other two first, and now this...  It's just so beautifully written, and I absolutely loved to read a fic that had a spiritual theme.  The burden of grace... and blessings in disguise.  Believe me, I know blessings in disguise.  Apart fom the realization that something initially thought to be only bad actually can bring in good, there's something with realizing we have a choice.  It's our choice, our decision, which meaning we give to our experiences or things that happen.  You've written it so well, the reactions of everyone - and Harry's final understanding of what Father Myghal had meant about the terrible burden of grace.

Thanks for sharing!
MagnoliaMama
Monday 12th September 2005 16:13
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
I am deeply touched by your kind and thoughtful review. Rowling has occasionally hinted at magic itself being Harry's true "terrible burden," so (not that I'm comparing myself to her) it was fun to explore that idea, but on a more personal level. I'm so glad to hear you liked this; it's one of my personal favorites. 
  Quote
Wonko
Friday 6th May 2005 16:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Wow. Just...wow. I don't even know what to say. You've portrayed this absolutely beautifully. You keep Harry's grief absolutely convincing, and the streaks of humor only serve to make the whole seem that much more real. You've got, erm, mature relationships between Harry and Ginny, and yet there's absolutely no stretch of the imagination by which this could possibly be called smut. I really like Father Myghal as a character, is he by any chance in anything else you've written?
MagnoliaMama
Saturday 7th May 2005 05:58
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you for such a thoughful review! I put a lot of effort into making sure all the pieces fit together, particularly the bit at the end, since it was important to show Harry and Ginny in an adult relationship of many years without resorting to simple titillation. It was equally important to provide an emotional balance, so that this wasn't all about grief and angst, because humor shows up even in our darkest moments. I'm very gratified to hear that you enjoyed this so much. As for Fr. Myghal, he's not in any of my other stories at the moment, but that doesn't mean he won't show up again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to review!
  Quote
VanishingShmink
Tuesday 3rd May 2005 21:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

The Terrible Burden of Grace
I loved this.  Sweet, thought-provoking, and tastefully done in spite of the content.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 4th May 2005 09:48
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Mie779
Tuesday 12th April 2005 14:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

The Terrible Burden of Grace

Wow I just loved this story and the other two: "A Life Well Lived" and "Domestic Disharmony". It was really well written and I got a lump in my throat, trying really hard not to cry.   So keep up the good writting

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 08:02
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you! I will certainly do my best.
  Quote
hiddenhibiscus
Wednesday 9th March 2005 19:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Terrible Burden of Grace
I can see the research you did on this, and liked the touch of Father Myghal and his own backstory.  Good job!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 10th March 2005 07:29
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
MollyW
Tuesday 22nd February 2005 10:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

The Terrible Burden of Grace
Very interesting story! I haven't read one quite like this before--very original and creative. Thank you!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 22nd February 2005 11:33
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you! I was aiming for something a little different, so I'm glad to hear I succeeded. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Evenstar Charm
Tuesday 14th December 2004 21:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

The Terrible Burden of Grace
A Very Touching story for what it says about the different people in this world and how we must accept them.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 15th December 2004 05:32
The Terrible Burden of Grace (Author Response)
Thank you. :-)
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 38 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004