Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Despair by Jeconais

Showing 1 to 20 of 75 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
ibelieveintruelove
Wednesday 10th March 2010 20:47


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Despair
Oh my gosh!!! Harry!!! You seem to have a running theme here of Dumbledore being a villain. Wonderfully well written, nice work!!
  Quote
worleybird
Sunday 6th December 2009 19:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Despair
OMG, it had me in tears. Though it is partly true. It is an amazing story. Oh, and I LOVE This means war
  Quote
Dad
Saturday 6th June 2009 11:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

Despair
Grim and sad.
  Quote
GinevraMollyWeasley
Sunday 28th December 2008 19:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Despair
I loved it, but it is VERY depressing!
  Quote
pokos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 19:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Despair
Awesome story!
  Quote
potterlovesginny
Monday 4th February 2008 10:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Despair
I loved this! I've realised that I really enjoy angsty fics. I liked the abyss as well.
It's wierd, but I never really thought how bad the Dursely's really were. I suppose as they are children's books, J.K.R. cant emphasize the child abuse too much, Only after reading fics I realise how truely evil it is locking a child in a cupboard. I also didnt think about how odd it was that Dumbledore didnt check on Harry for eleven years. (Though he new something was wrong, since he must have thought it was odd that Harry was sleeping in a cupboard. He knew, as he put the address "cupboard under the stairs" on his first hogwarts letter. And why did he send hagrid. He went to see Voldemort personally for Gods sake.
I see that you've explained that Harry wasn't in his right mind when he did this, as i think that Ron and Hermiones crime isnt that terrible. They probably didnt want to hurt him further, which is why they didnt tell him. (By the way how did Ron and Hermione have time to get "intimite" before the Feast. Harry died of starvation so he obviously hasnt had any Hogwarts meals yet.)
I think Harry is really right when he says that the students of Hogwarts didnt deserve to be saved. They hate him til he saves the world, and then hes their hero for a couple of days, til something else happens.
I think that Harry is too strong to let something like thyis keep him down in the real world. He risked his life to save DRACO MALFOY in the last book, after hed just tried to kill him.
  Quote
potterlovesginny
Monday 4th February 2008 10:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Despair
I loved this! I've realised that I really enjoy angsty fics. I liked the abyss as well.
It's wierd, but I never really thought how bad the Dursely's really were. I suppose as they are children's books, J.K.R. cant emphasize the child abuse too much, Only after reading fics I realise how truely evil it is locking a child in a cupboard. I also didnt think about how odd it was that Dumbledore didnt check on Harry for eleven years. (Though he new something was wrong, since he must have thought it was odd that Harry was sleeping in a cupboard. He knew, as he put the address "cupboard under the stairs" on his first hogwarts letter. And why did he send hagrid. He went to see Voldemort personally for Gods sake.
I see that you've explained that Harry wasn't in his right mind when he did this, as i think that Ron and Hermiones crime isnt that terrible. They probably didnt want to hurt him further, which is why they didnt tell him. (By the way how did Ron and Hermione have time to get "intimite" before the Feast. Harry died of starvation so he obviously hasnt had any Hogwarts meals yet.)
I think Harry is really right when he says that the students of Hogwarts didnt deserve to be saved. They hate him til he saves the world, and then hes their hero for a couple of days, til something else happens.
I think that Harry is too strong to let something like thyis keep him down in the real world. He risked his life to save DRACO MALFOY in the last book, after hed just tried to kill him.
  Quote
mynameisginny
Sunday 30th December 2007 09:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 32

Despair
Wow. I'm glad that things did turn out differently. But this was a really good way of showing what would have happened if one more thing had happened to harry.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 11th October 2007 06:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Despair
oh wow! Was Harry actually acting on his own terms?? I thought that he might be under the imperius curse. I\'m still kinda confused on that one...
  Quote
squidtamer
Sunday 2nd September 2007 21:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Despair
This story is absolutely awesome when I saved it for a day I had a foul mood myself. Bravo. I realise it took years to review this But I needed just the right craptastic day.


quick grammer note as this sentence bothers me:

"If you had been such a failure at teaching Potter Occlumency for me, you would be the most celebrated of all my Death Eaters, but you did it for yourself."

  Quote
CmdrHawkes
Sunday 22nd October 2006 14:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Despair
Nice and dark!

I generally don't go for agnsty stories but I loved the reasoning given by Harry (& Voldy) as to how screwed up HP could have become. Thanks.

Aside: I saw your note about finishing "This means war". I really love it too
"I howl at the moon"
"You howl at passing cars."

Classic

I have to ask - do you have a time feame on when that work might be completed - not to push (too much) but that was the first of yours I'd read and really look forward to its conclusion.

Thanks,
John
cmdrhawkes@comcast.net
  Quote

Saturday 27th May 2006 15:44


Despair
Plz finnish "This means war!" not finnishing it is pishing everyone off! we dont care if its not what happend in HBP its YOUR story we want so badly!
  Quote
expetesso
Saturday 11th March 2006 17:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Despair
I clicked on the link for this story after seeing your acclaim in the "Best Of" awards, on a whim, really. I did not expect to find such an incredible speech by a passionate-hero-turned-dissenter

I have never been so impressed with a piece written "this one morning." There is a sophistication to the terseness, the closeness of the language, the off-cadences. There are areas where your clenched hold on the reader is looser than the rest (Harry's references, obliquely, to Ron/Hermione, Ginny/Dean, and Malfoy with the same degree of upset) and where it loosens far too much (the side story with Draco and Seamus being the betrayers at the end), but otherwise the dialogue and narrative are so tightly-woven.

This piece latched onto my lungs as I read, and every breath I took pulled me more fully into the story, created a fuller investment for me in Harry's decision. For we the readers, and the fic writers, are also those who abandoned this Harry. We, too, are guilty.

Lissa
  Quote
Justin
Wednesday 14th September 2005 15:40


Despair

READ ALL OF THE REVIEW!!!  You motherfucking self centered .  Just because you have a problem with the administration of fan fiction net doesn't mean you should abandon the story when you have hunderds, no, thousands of fans waiting for part ten.  If you don't like ff net then post on pheonix song.  But we all really like the story and want you tp finish it.  In ten weeks, you got twelve pages of reviews full of people begging you to finish your story.  Just finish it.  Thats all i ask.  Finish this means war!!!

  Quote
Bill Gould
Tuesday 13th September 2005 07:36


Despair

This story does a good job at being very grim.

 

 

  Quote
ridgeback77
Wednesday 31st August 2005 18:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Despair
That was unbelievable.  The pain and suffering, inflicted by those who "cared" for him most of all, was truely devastating.  I'd almost like to get a glimpse of what happens in the wizarding world after this event.  Well done.
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Monday 1st August 2005 17:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Despair

 Poor Harry 

I liked it a lot. It was very angsty and sad, of course, and I usually don't like those very much, and it was a little confusing at first, but I liked it. It made me want to go "HA!" to everyone who was so evil to Harry. 'Cause the story was true (well, most of it) when it talked about Dumbledore and all the students abandoning him and stuff. They treat him like dirt the whole year while he's working out what's going on, and then when he figures it out and fights the evil, he's a hero for a few days before school ends, he goes back to the hell-hole for the summer, then it starts all over again. So, whenever I get mad at how Harry's life sucks thanks in part to many many people besides Voldemort, I'll pull this up and go "HA!"....... So, yeah. Nice job.

  Quote
jeanne
Sunday 31st July 2005 15:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Despair
So filled with common sense that it was scary. I have always wondered why Harry fought so hard for so little. Well done,and instead of finishing a fic with H/P,why not finish TMW??Harry and Pansy,pardon me while I bring up the really good meal I ate while reading your A/N.
  Quote
Cxjenious
Saturday 7th May 2005 10:17


Despair
Well, I must say that this is an excellent piece of writing. All I can say is that it touched me enough to make me cry, and that is a good thing. I like your work, and may yo write much more in the future.
  Quote
Alex
Sunday 1st May 2005 09:47


Despair
I realy loved this like all of your work.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 75 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004