Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For New Year, New Hope by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
TangoCharlie
Thursday 18th September 2008 05:44


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

Two
I am already in love with this story. It's clever, well-paced, well-developed, and as I've mentioned before, I really like seeing more of the Ginny/Hermione friendship.
Your language is just lovely! So nice to read...
Arnel
Thursday 18th September 2008 06:18
Two (Author Response)
TangoCharlie, you're making me blush!

Since the Ginny/Hermione friendship is an important part of the You're Still You universe, I'm having a lot of fun exploring how the two girls work, interact and help each other as the story develops. I've always thought that Ginny was very lonely for female company as she was growing up and now that she's at Hogwarts, a strong female friendship is something she needs to complete her identity.

Keep reading... I think you're going to like the rest of the story.
  Quote
The Boss
Monday 2nd July 2007 01:51


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Two
Aww its good to see that Ginny is willing to share her knowledge of the Draught of Peace with Hermione.
I am surprised that Hermione didn't know all of the different types of potions that could be made from the Draught.
I like where this is heading - especially with the gift that Ginny is going to give to Harry as it has special significance.

The Boss
Arnel
Monday 2nd July 2007 04:38
Two (Author Response)
The way I look at it, Hermione is very good at researching, but when she was researching the Draught of Peace back in fifth year she had no need to know so much about the derivatives of the potion. Ginny does and what makes the girls' friendship so effective is that they are willing to share what they know and learn from each other.

As for Ginny's gift, keep watching for it since it is beneficial to not only Harry but her as well.

I look forward to your thoughts on chapter three. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 29th March 2007 23:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Two
Ginny is really working hard on these projects for Harry\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s benefit. I hope he appreciates her motives and the projected results of her efforts. I am glad she has Hermione to help her with these. Two heads are better than one. Especially two smart heads like Ginny and Hermione. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more. I may have reviewed this before but I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m not sure. I get more out of this when I reread it. Thanks again. p
Arnel
Friday 30th March 2007 06:38
Two (Author Response)
Detailed chapters tend to hold more than one can absorb in one reading; my beta, Aggiebell, often comments that she has to read my chapters twice because she gets so caught up in the action that she forgets to do any editing! I'm glad you're rereading the story. I hope you catch more than you did the first time.

Also, I agree that two heads are better than one and with Ginny as determined as she is to help Harry, she needs someone to hold her in check. At this point, Hermione is just the stablizing force Ginny needs.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 17th March 2007 21:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Two
This is really complicated. I understand what Ginny is try to accomplish. I hope it works with no negative side effects. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Saturday 17th March 2007 21:57
Two (Author Response)
Please keep reading. This is a truly critical chapter because it contains ideas central to the rest of the story. I love to research as much as Hermione does and having Ginny research the potion and finding the Uncommon Uses for Everyday Potions book seemed natural after all the research I did for the chapter. Keep reading...the story only gets better. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 22nd March 2005 11:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Two
Like the pendant work at the end.
Knew that Hermione was going to be dragged into this. Anytime someone does a "project" for Harry, she seems to be the one to go to. Liked the potions work -- very well thought out.

Now, what would happen if Gin went to Snape for help? Especially to answer the "I still donŐt understand how adding a poison to a potion doesnŐt make the entire batch lethal" question.

Looking forward to more. At first I was not liking seeing everything from Gin's perspective -- now I'm warming up to it more. She's fun to read from.

Cheers.
  Quote
lissabee
Monday 24th January 2005 16:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

Two

Great chapter, and I would have thought Hermione would be more sensitive to Ginny's experience, but it is true she was petrified for most of the action at the end.

Again really great! This is great, but I agree with many of the others, a little more fluff couldn't hurt!    Ah well, you write so well and I can see how the mood of the story would not call for tons of fluff.

  Quote
LoverofBooks
Thursday 13th January 2005 16:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Two

This is a really interesting story, i can't wait to read more.

it always amazes me as to how creative people can get. Good job

Arnel
Saturday 15th January 2005 23:53
Two (Author Response)

Ginny seems to be directing me as to how creative I can make her.  Her love for Harry is her guiding force and because of how she views him, she feels she must be unique in her approach to helping him deal with what life has thrown his way.

I'm glad you are enjoying the story.  Chapter Three is just about ready to go to beta.!  Yahoo!

  Quote
p0tterfan
Saturday 4th December 2004 17:34


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

Two
Well written chapter.  How come Harry isn't suspicious as to where Ginny is spending her time?  She's been missing dinner and is feeling magically drained ... hmm ...

Lots of research Ginny has been doing it seems like.  Look forward to the effects of the pendent, enchantments and potions.

Hopefully next chapter isn't posted after 4 months  

Keep up the good work !!!
Arnel
Wednesday 22nd December 2004 12:40
Two (Author Response)
Just wait for the beginning of Part Three...because of this review and several others wondering where Harry is and whether he's noticed that Ginny's been missing, I put in a scene to satisfy the curious.  The chapter is about seventy-five percent done and should be out the first of the year, so no four-month wait for the next installment.  Thanks for your review.  I appreciate your feedback.
  Quote
XiaoXiao
Thursday 2nd December 2004 23:06


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Two

Yay!  I love your Ginny, because she's so proactive.  I don't blame her one bit for keeping a personal detail like that from Hermione. 

I'm sure she'll figure out the draught soon, too. 

Arnel
Wednesday 22nd December 2004 12:42
Two (Author Response)

I think she has the draught well in hand.  It's obtaining the ingredients which will give her trouble.  Just wait for Part Three which will be out in January.  Thanks for your review. 

  Quote
Bring and Fly
Thursday 2nd December 2004 04:51


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Two

A good long chapter and an excellent read, especially for the character development of Ginny and Hermione and also for highlighting the way their friendship works. Not something we get to see in canon, as everything is seen from Harry's POV.

I'm intriuged by the ideas Ginny has come up with for helping Harry and curious to see how she will persuade him to accept her help.

More power to your quill!

  Quote
Ph03n1x
Wednesday 1st December 2004 14:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

Two

Good, keep it up.

You seem to have some fasination with lighting Snape's robes on fire (points to "Hourglass"), yay for you!

  Quote
Pugpal
Wednesday 1st December 2004 12:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

Two
Awesome and worth the wait!
  Quote
parakletos
Wednesday 1st December 2004 05:53


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Two
Just a quick note to let you know I'm enjoying this and I look forward to the next chapter. I would agree with Brios, I think Ginny needs some kisses from Harry !
Arnel
Wednesday 22nd December 2004 12:48
Two (Author Response)

My take on poor Harry is that this is his first foray into a more advanced friendship/relationship and he's rather uncertain about how he should go about it.  Also, his natural inclination to not want Voldemort know about those he cares deeply about is coming into play here. 

I appreciate your review.

  Quote
TigerLily8186
Tuesday 30th November 2004 22:11


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Two
Such interesting developments. It figures our favorate ghost is as unsocial as ever. But I really want to learn more about the necklaces and Hermione's book now. I'm glad you updated so soon after I found this story. It makes for such a pleasant surprise.
  Quote
mary-v
Tuesday 30th November 2004 20:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Two

 Once again, a brilliant chappie! I can;t wait ot read the rest! And what Giny's doing for Harry...*sigh* so sweet...  I just hope she gets *ahem* rewarded for it. *wink wink* * nudge nudge*

~Maria~

 

  Quote
brios
Tuesday 30th November 2004 20:05


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Two

I kind of got lost there in all the potion-making-ingredients explanation.  And, I forgot the wine, didn't have any available, so maybe that was it.  Anyway, I wasn't much of a scientist-math student when I was in school (one of the reasons I decided to study law).  It was that, or that I was expecting some fluffines.  I think Ginny deserves some (only one kiss since Xmas!)

  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004