Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Wrapper by Calixa

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Elvenlaughter
Monday 5th March 2007 14:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 88

Wrapper
This is so incredible beautiful! I've written a few drabbles about that scene, but that's an angle I hadn't considered. Poor Neville! I hope he comes into his own soon. He deserves to be appreciated too.
  Quote
cara
Saturday 17th September 2005 20:09


Wrapper
That was so beautifully done. That's always been the saddest part of OotP for me. I know Sirius dies, but that scene... and the wrapper... and Neville's mum...

And you just did it so well, and it was touching. This sounds so corny to say it was moving and I was fighting back tears and stuff, but it was and I was.

Wow. Just... wow.
  Quote
chickymica
Tuesday 5th July 2005 00:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Wrapper

Wow! This is the first time I've reviewed a HP fic, but I just had to let you know how much I loved this fic.

Short, but powerful, and a fantastically accurate characterisation of Neville.

I think this is a wonderful piece of writing. Well done

  Quote
VanishingShmink
Friday 20th May 2005 17:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

Wrapper
This is so beautifully written and poignant.  Poor Neville.
  Quote
VanishingShmink
Friday 20th May 2005 17:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

Wrapper
This is so beautifully written and poignant.  Poor Neville.
  Quote
levotatingT
Friday 20th May 2005 13:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Wrapper

I think I have read this before, but I didn't review, I don't know why, it was a wonderful story.  So touching, I like how Neville wasn't ashamed of his parents but of himself.

Great job, keep writing, and Plez write back

levotatingT

 

 

  Quote
Finduilas (of Dol Amroth)
Thursday 19th May 2005 03:37


Wrapper

You know what, Calixa? I think that this was even more heart-rendering than JKR's chapter. You're a FANTASTIC writer, and always keep it up!

p.s. I think that once you put in an unnecessary word- I'm only nitpicking because you're so good that I hate having little things marr your work- but you wrote 'It didn't bother Neville that much when he presented both gifts to his parents and neither of them reacted'- the 'and' was unecessary. I'm just being an old fusspot here, so it doesn't really matter if you don't fix it or anything.

Please write more fanfics! They'll keep me alive until Half-Blood Prince comes out!!!! 57 whole days- longer, too, because I'll be in Malaysia when it comes out- for an entire week!- and it'll all be in Malaysian, which I can't read! PLEASE write more fics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  Quote
Split Decision
Tuesday 17th May 2005 19:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Wrapper

Wow. I absolutely love your characterization of Neville. You've added so much incredible depth to his character in such a short fic, it's amazing, but you still integrated it all so nicely with canon.

"He turned away from the others and despised them a little, for having witnessed his shame all these years. He hated them a little for never knowing who he was."

That line, and, really, this whole fic, just made me ache for him... poor Neville.

I'm so glad the story of the week brought this to my attention. Thanks for a great story!

  Quote
dancinginmagic
Tuesday 17th May 2005 08:24


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

Wrapper

Beautiful. Well done.

  Quote
Antonia East
Monday 16th May 2005 08:44


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Wrapper
*gulps*

Oh ... my.  Beautifully written.  The emotions are so clear here, so well expressed.  There was line upon line where Neville's feeling were palpable, and you don't feel sorry for him, you feel angry for him.

Stunning.
  Quote
Muggle Witch
Monday 16th May 2005 08:18


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 118

Wrapper
Well done. I really like the way you were able to bring Neville's emotions across.
  Quote
cowputerlover
Monday 16th May 2005 07:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Wrapper

*gulp.* that was a beautiful peice, beautifully written from neville's POV, and it was very good. please keep up the good work. thanks again for this short story

  Quote
passionflower89
Monday 16th May 2005 04:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Wrapper
Oh my goodness! So sweet, i feel so sorry for Neville, and i think you conveyed him marvellously in this story.. good work! I wish i could just give Neville a hug! Good fic.
  Quote
tante
Wednesday 4th May 2005 20:11


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

Wrapper
What an amazing character study!
I'm truly impressed and hard pressed to single out particular bits as the whole fic was wonderfully done.  You've thought this out beautifully and I'm glad I read it.  You've given me a good deal to think about Neville.  Thanks!
  Quote
Aggiebell
Tuesday 11th January 2005 20:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

Wrapper
I can't believe you don't have any reviews for this.  Gah.  Absolutely one of my very favorite Neville-fics ever.  It's just so poignant and makes me want to give Neville a huge hug (while I'm slapping Gran upside the head).  I love how you include the bits of canon and then expand on them, showing us how Neville reacts to the situation.  I think the inclusion of his petrification from PS is brilliant--I can easily imagine him feeling "utterly stupid and undeserving of those ten house points".

Thanks, Cali, for the inspiration to write more about Neville.

~Julie
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 29th April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Tuesday 19th April
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004