Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Promises and Possibilities by Sherylyn

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Melindaleo
Tuesday 4th June 2013 16:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Two
It's been a really long time since I've read any fanfiction, but I stumbled upon this one and smiled when I saw the author's name. It's really good! I wish you'd finished it! Post-OOTP are still my favorite. Hope all is well with you, and thanks for a pleasant afternoon!

M
  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 19th December 2004 18:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Two

Brilliant job!

I loved it! I can't wait until you post some more!!

Sherylyn
Monday 20th December 2004 13:14
Two (Author Response)
Thanks for the review!  I really appreciate it, and I hope you'll like what I've got planned overall... even if I'm not exactly the fastest writer around! 
  Quote
Musings
Wednesday 15th December 2004 11:10


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Two

It's just wonderful, Sherry.  My heart was just breaking when I read this paragraph:

Harry heard the bed creak softly as Remus stood and came toward him. He lay a gentle hand on Harry's shoulder. "It's not your fault. You mustn't blame yourself. You did the best you could at the time, Harry. Just like Sirius did. Both of you were willing to do anything in your power for the other. It could just as easily have been you, sacrificing yourself to help him." Remus' voice was quiet, caring, comforting, but Harry miserably shook his head in mute argument. He couldn't force his voice to work, and he clenched his eyes shut, trying to push away the unbidden tears. Remus' other hand came to rest on Harry's shoulders as well, and he squeezed warmly. They stood for several moments, silently, as Harry fought to control his emotions.

Just brilliant, my friend.  

Sherylyn
Wednesday 15th December 2004 12:48
Two (Author Response)
Thanks bunches, sweetie!!  I'm so glad you liked it!!  
  Quote
Bring and Fly
Wednesday 15th December 2004 06:39


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Two

Splendiferous! I thought the feelings and dialogue were well handled and the kind of things these characters would have been likely to say. Harry's reactions seemed just right to me, as you don't get over something like he's endured in a couple of weeks and his thought about it being so final felt very appropriate.

With regard to the 'portrait', I presume Dumbers didn't do something like that in the first place because of time constraints, although Jo must have put it in for a reason, right?

Sherylyn
Wednesday 15th December 2004 12:47
Two (Author Response)
LOL I'm thrilled that you liked that bit... You've no idea how many people I asked, "does this sound reasonable to you?"  I was aiming for something that dealt with her (and Kreacher, too), but not in a way that made a big deal out of the "process", I guess you could say.  Anyway, glad it seemed to make sense to you 

And thanks for the review! 
  Quote
Aibhinn
Tuesday 14th December 2004 12:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 46

Two

Beautiful, as always, Sherry! I'm consistently amazed at how well you capture JKR's voice in describing Harry and his feelings. This sounds like I could be reading the beginning to H-BP ... I don't know how you do it. :)

Hope  is good to you this year! *grin*

Sherylyn
Tuesday 14th December 2004 13:00
Two (Author Response)
Ooh, thanks sweetie!!   I'm glad you liked it!! 

So far, 's been very good to me.. .he brought me a hippogriff in the mail yesterday


  Quote
mary-v
Monday 13th December 2004 10:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Two

This is brilliant so far! I really like where this story seems to be headed! I'm enjoying this story a lot! And the first chpater - the way Harry dealt with his cousin- was brilliant. The fact that Harry controlled himself enough not to use magic against Dudley was excellent. It shows how much he's matured, even if he doesn't realise it himself. Although I'm sure Ginny will be some help in helping Hary through everything he has to go through. *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*  lol Please update soon!

~Maria~

Sherylyn
Monday 13th December 2004 12:59
Two (Author Response)
Thanks, Maria!  I'm glad you're enjoying it!  I update as quickly as I can, but to be honest, between Real Life and admin-ing stuff onsite, etc. (and that fact that I'm not a very fast writer in general) , my updates do tend to be rather spread out.  But I won't be giving up -- just being busy!

Actually, too (in regard to Harry/Ginny)... if you read my Valentine's Day: Bah, Humbug story, you'll get a glimpse of Harry&Ginny-ness to come.  Ultimately, I plan to make that ficlet a part of this story.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Monday 13th December 2004 08:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Two
Wonderful chapter Sherry.  I thought you had Harry spot on here and I so wanted to reach my arms into the computer and hug him.  Feeling Sirius' loss more strongly when Remus was stepping up was so logical, and heart breaking at the same time.  I think my favorite scene was the silent, yet still strong support of Remus and Mr. Weasley as Harry struggled up the steps into Grimmauld Place.  They knew he was having difficulty, yet they supported him and let him keep his dignity at the same time.
Sherylyn
Monday 13th December 2004 11:27
Two (Author Response)
Thanks, Melinda!  I'm glad you're enjoying it!  Hopefully a few more things will be kicking off next chapter (whenever I can get it done! ), so I hope it'll be okay, too!  I'm glad you caught the "little things" about Harry's reactions to all this so far!
  Quote
BJH
Monday 13th December 2004 01:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Two

A nice beginning.  No real hint as to the long term plot yet but the feel of the story is right, if you know what I mean.  You've set things up well, from the benign neglect of the order while Harry stayed at the Dursleys, meaning how they watched Harry struggle, even his physical struggles with Dudley and wanted to come to his aid but in the end tey just watched and let Harry deal with it.

Now we have Remus, and the agreement for him to take over as Harry's guardian, taking an active role and agreeing to keep Harry more involved with things as well as giving him more say in his own life.  The question is:  will Voldemort and Dumbledore allow it?

BJH

Sherylyn
Monday 13th December 2004 11:24
Two (Author Response)
Thanks, BJ!  Yeah, actually, I'd intended this 2nd chapter to go on a bit longer and have some other things happen, but (esp. b/c I'm so slow at writing a lot of the time) it turned out that this felt like a good place to stop, and let other things really kick off next chapter. 

Now, re: Voldie and DD... well... I can't give *every*thing away, now can I?
  Quote
Robert Owen
Sunday 12th December 2004 23:27


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 129

Two

Very nice.  I thionk you hit Harry's angst over returning to Grimmauld Place rather well.  I am definately looking forward to seeing his reunion with the gang.  I'm also sorry we'd didn't get to see Molly reaction to the guardian options.

 

Robert

 

Sherylyn
Sunday 12th December 2004 23:30
Two (Author Response)
Thanks, Robert.  I'm sure we'll see plenty of reactions from Molly in the future.  This just felt, to me, like it needed to be something between Harry and Remus.  We'll see everyone else next chapter!  
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004