Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Lunar Eclipse by DreamcoatMom

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
gelena
Wednesday 27th July 2005 10:03


1: Night Watch

Wow! What a great beginning! You have a fantastic style and the story flows incredibly smoothly. I love the way you paint Remus' character as well as the dynamic between Remus and Tonks, and the way their grief is extremely real. I really hope you'll expand this story with lots and lots of chapters! :o)

  Quote
tante
Thursday 9th June 2005 06:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

1: Night Watch

I cried right along with them, which is one of the highest compliments I can give you.  You made the emotional element real and it touched me.  Raw and real without melodrama.  Thank you!

I've read this before when I was on a Lupin/Tonks kick last winter.  Where else do you have this posted?  I can't remember where I've seen it.  Loved it then too!

  Quote
Jennifer
Monday 6th June 2005 15:03


1: Night Watch
It's been ages since I read some Tonks/Lupin and yours has drawn me in.  An angsty beginning, but I'm looking forward to seeing where it's going.
  Quote
Wild Magelet
Sunday 6th February 2005 03:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

1: Night Watch
So lovely! I'm not an especially emotional person, but I actually got teary sitting here and that happens very rarely, so compliments! I can afford to just be impressed rather than embarrassed, because no one saw me. =) Wonderful job.
  Quote
Pugpal
Thursday 16th December 2004 13:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

1: Night Watch
*sniff* Good story! I can always tell when a story like this one is good because they all most always make me cry, which is a good thing don't get me wrong! You did an awesome job!
DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 09:48
1: Night Watch (Author Response)

It's okay - I got a little teary too. How can you not when you consider Remus's situation? Thanks for the kind review!

  Quote
Bunny
Thursday 16th December 2004 04:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

1: Night Watch
*sob* That was really good. Thanks. Bunny
DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 09:49
1: Night Watch (Author Response)
Thanks, Bunny. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
p0tterfan
Wednesday 15th December 2004 21:42


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

1: Night Watch
Nice one ... interesting to see a one shot on Remus/Tonks' anticipated friendship :)
DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 09:51
1: Night Watch (Author Response)

I find them so intriguing as a duo, I just had to explore their dynamic a little bit. I'm looking forward to fleshing the story out. Thanks for the nice review!

  Quote
JenMusic
Wednesday 15th December 2004 20:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Night Watch

Excellent - I really enjoyed your characterizations of both Remus and Tonks. Makes sense that Tonks would deal with Remus in a similiar way as Sirius. And I think it's a great concise description of the grief that all involved are feeling.

I love the line, "Both he and Sirius had pinned all their hopes on each other." Very insightful!

Thanks, I look forward to reading more from you.

DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 09:56
1: Night Watch (Author Response)

Thank you so much!  I do intend to carry on with this story, since I've received some very positive feedback.

I love the line, "Both he and Sirius had pinned all their hopes on each other." Very insightful!

Thank you. To me, that is the tragedy of Harry's loss. It's not so much that he lost someone with whom he had forged an unbreakable bond, since he and Sirius had no time to make it happen - it was that he lost all hope of ever being able to do so. Remus did get that chance, and understands the depth of what Harry has lost. Thanks for the great review!

  Quote
Portkey
Tuesday 14th December 2004 14:15


1: Night Watch

But Remus would know the difference...

Perfect.

It made him shiver just to look at her.

Hmm.  I think there may end up being a more specific reason for that.  :)

...a vast abyss waiting to swallow him as soon as he gave in to it ...

Great image.

It's lovely from start to finish and your warm, descriptive writing captures the scene very well.  Remus and Tonks are both awesome characters to explore and I do hope you choose to continue with it.  You know I'll support you. 

Oh, one more thing:  thank you.  *hugs*

Portkey

DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 10:39
1: Night Watch (Author Response)

I can't tell you what it means to get such wonderful comments from you, Rox.  **we're not WORTHY!**   I will definitely develop this story into a chaptered fic, and your support will be very much needed - just keep me from pouring any more nasty tea, okay?

  Quote
Cera
Tuesday 14th December 2004 13:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

1: Night Watch

What a sweet and wonderful piece.  You've captured Remus so well here--his pain and misery, and his anger.  So many people focus on Harry's feelings about Sirius, few delve into Remus, although I think that his reaction would be just as intense.  To lose the last of your childhood friends in such a away would be devastating, and you've written that brilliantly.

I certainly hope that Remus plays an important role in Harry's life in the future canon books.

"In a way, I reckon it was. Both he and Sirius had pinned all of their hopes on each other. Merlin knows they deserved some happiness. The kid is so damned brave -- but I don't know if he has the courage to face this."

From the entire fic, this line stuck with me.  It's so true, about Harry and Sirius counting on each other for their futures.  I'm sad just thinking about it.

That said, I would love to see more of this.  It's beautiful and realistic.

Thank you.

Sarah

DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 10:49
1: Night Watch (Author Response)

Thank you so much, Sarah - what a great review - very insightful, and you completely got what I was going for with this.

I certainly hope that Remus plays an important role in Harry's life in the future canon books.

Me too!  I will be very disappointed in him if he doesn't step forward now. I believe that he will, since I don't think JKR would have so thoroughly developed his and Harry's relationship in book 3 otherwise - it all has to go somewhere. I find the fact that it was Lupin who kept Harry from charging through the veil to be significant. I'm hoping it's a forshadowing of how their relationship will play out. Harry may have pinned all of his hopes on Sirius, but the real hope has rested all along in Lupin. He just hasn't realized it yet. This idea will most certainly be a key component of the rest of my story. Thanks again for such kind words and astute observations.

 

  Quote
mary-v
Tuesday 14th December 2004 12:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

1: Night Watch

Ohhh this was... wonderful. And this is my favortie part, because I believe in what you wrote with such a fierse intensity. Harry never should have suffered. He's really just a child, forced to grow up beyond his years. I'm 17 and I can't even begin to imagine everything he's going through. Even Ron, Hermione, Ginny...everyone. It's unfair.

He was silent for a moment as he stared unseeingly at the wet grass. Hurting for him? Hell yes, he was hurting for Harry. How much pain was one person supposed to endure? And Harry was just a kid. He should be lurking after girls, sneaking Firewhiskey into house parties, inventing pranks to hack off that little Malfoy ferret, not fending off an army of Death Eaters, or being forced to play Voldemort's unwilling host, and certainly not watching his friends be injured -- or his beloved godfather be killed. Remus lifted his eyes to the lighted window again, the mask gone, replaced by grief, raw and stark in its intensity.

Well, I think you should add more to this. This is brilliant. A wonderful piece. I'm also a fan of Remus/Tonks. Although if you do add more, make sure not to leave out the Harry/Ginny-ness!  

~Maria~

DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 11:01
1: Night Watch (Author Response)
Thanks, Maria!  I haven't decided what to do about the whole H/G dynamic yet, but I can tell you that I see it as very possible in canon, so I may work in at least a hint of it. Thanks for such a wonderful review!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Tuesday 14th December 2004 07:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

1: Night Watch

Really nice job, very touching.  I like Remus and Tonks, and I really liked seeing the adults in Harry's life acknowledging that he's hurting, even if they can't do anything about it at the moment.

I'd love to see another piece from you on the meeting between Remus and Harry if DD allows it.  I think they both could help each other.

Nice work.

DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 11:05
1: Night Watch (Author Response)
Thank you!  I do intend to take Remus and Harry's relationship farther, as Harry really needs an adult in his life. It is my belief that this is the purpose of Lupin's role in canon - to be revealed as the steady adult in Harry's life who can always be relied upon. Granted, there was that little incident in 3rd year, but otherwise, Lupin has been very consistent in his dealings with Harry. I would definitely like to explore this possibility further. Thanks for a very nice review!
  Quote
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 14th December 2004 06:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

1: Night Watch
Congratulations, you're official now! This is such a sweet and poignant piece that offers an honest look at grief. I find the dynamic between Remus and Tonks fascinating and hope you'll continue (not that I'm biased or anything *g*). Greta job!
DreamcoatMom
Friday 17th December 2004 11:09
1: Night Watch (Author Response)
Thank you, thank you! Such kind words are the brass ring, coming from a person who is such a gifted writer in her own right. Couldn't have done it without you, dear - and I hope you're able to be on board for the rest of it as well. This whole experience has rocked! I can see why fic writing becomes such an addiction, since I'm pretty sure I'm hooked.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004