Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Through the Keyhole by Bring and Fly

Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Thursday 21st August 2008 13:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Chapter 1
i loved this story!
i wonder what it would be lik for a muggle to walk into a wizarding home... that would be oh so very wierd!
i loved the ending
  Quote
aharkins
Thursday 29th November 2007 12:11


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Chapter 1
This actually seemed like two very different stories run together but I enjoyed both of them very much. Thanks for sharing your creative talents.
  Quote
pyromain
Saturday 1st September 2007 10:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Chapter 1
Seems like it will be a only child (LOL), loved the story, thanks for writing it so I could enjoy it.
  Quote
Uzamaki-girl
Saturday 16th September 2006 17:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Chapter 1
That was cute.^^
  Quote
Cornelia
Sunday 8th January 2006 10:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Chapter 1

I absolutely loved this story! It's well-written and has a very sweet plot.

I can't wait to read the second chapter! I want to know the baby's name (please, not James!). Well, update soon, please!

Oh, I needed this, after a tiresome day, thank you!

Hugs from Italy ,

Hilde

 

Bring and Fly
Monday 9th January 2006 02:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Mille grazie, Hilde! To my shame, I'm still working on the second part... but the baby will not be called James! LOL

I'm glad you found the fic an antidote to your tiresome day, and stopped by to let me know. :))  Hugs from Lancashire!

Ci vediamo! Baffy

  Quote
mansegirl39
Friday 21st October 2005 09:44


Chapter 1

Thank you for your wonderful story! It was soo realistic ( I should know!) but still funny!

Anyway, I always wonder why all fanfics describing childbirth are so full of pain. Don't wizards use any pain relieving potions or charms? We muggles DO have good painkillers to be used in labour. They are quite effective, you know folks!

At least in my country (in Scandinavia). Probably in others, too. But that's just me, I get all worked up from small things. I really really loved your great story and it'd be nice to have a sequel...

Bring and Fly
Saturday 22nd October 2005 06:19
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Well, thank you kindly! *waves in direction of Scandinavia*

The Sequel is 75% there and being pre-betaed to help me kick the last 25% into shape and then you'll see what Ginny Does Next...

 

  Quote
cckeimig
Wednesday 12th October 2005 19:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Chapter 1

Tear-jerkingly beautiful. (Yes, I'm a mom.)

What I want to read about is what happens to the twins after this! (and all the baby stuff too, of course)

Bring and Fly
Saturday 22nd October 2005 06:23
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Thank you for pausing to read and review!

Why does everyone want to see what happens to the twins...  Ginny has a few ideas... and an accomplice...

  Quote
snowball
Thursday 26th May 2005 20:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Chapter 1
I enjoyed the story very much. Can't imagine why I missed it the first time round.  Awesome and funny
Bring and Fly
Saturday 22nd October 2005 06:24
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you Snowball!  Your review is appreciated.
  Quote
LaFleurRouge
Monday 25th April 2005 14:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Chapter 1
Awww!  Sequel means another baby!  HeHe!  That was really cute.  At first I thought it was harry and Ginny's house with three children (5 pegs for cloaks).  I also thought that maybe they were all at Hogwarts for some reason or another.  Where was Parsley when the cameramen came in?  Why is Billy's tail forked?  What's going to happen to the twins?  Great Stroy and I hope you write a sequel because I would love to continue reading about their lives.
Bring and Fly
Saturday 22nd October 2005 06:29
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Sequel means another baby!   Er --not yet! Sorry! *grin* To answer your questions: Parsley was ratting in the cellar with the Muggles got in and Billy's tail is forked because he is a Crup and Harry has been too busy to get his puppy tail docked yet.

As for the twins...  You'll see!

And many apologies for the appallingly late reply. Computer Woes!

  Quote
amulder
Wednesday 2nd March 2005 06:53


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Chapter 1
Hullo Hullo,
Don't know how I managed to miss this story when it was first posted.
You've got Jill for a beta?  Aren't you lucky, I really like her writing style.

The scene with the reporters was *hilarious*.  It must have been difficult to write.  We're so used to reading the HP stories and seeing all the magic as "normal", you've done an excellent job of writing just how weird it really would all look to us muggles.

The birthing scene was on the whole fairly well done.  You do seem to have a curious blend of progressive and old-fashioned mixed together.  On the one hand you've got a midwife and a natural home birth.  But on the other hand, you've got them trying to keep the husband out of the room.   Thank you for *not* having a crowd of family waiting outside.

Oh, and I'd like to point out, for the record, that I have four children.  Every one was a midwife assisted water birth at home.  (in a 5' diameter 3' deep kiddee pool.  The average bathtub is way too tiny)  To all the future mum's out there I'd like to point out that being in water *greatly* eases the pain of the contractions.   Being flat on your back in a bed is a thoroughly unnatural position for giving birth.  You're fighting gravity.
Rant over.  I've done my duty to defend midwifery and my wife will be proud.  :)

Glad to hear that a sequel is planned.  It did read as unfinished.  You've got this great situation with the TV crew, then you switch to a birth scene.  By themselves, it feels like two different things smashed together.  But if you write a few more chapters, then things can get pulled together.

And I'm not saying that just becase I want to see Harry and Ginny make Fred squirm.  Okay, maybe I do a little...

thanks for sharing, please keep it going!
Bring and Fly
Wednesday 2nd March 2005 07:30
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Thanks Art. Yes, I do think I'm lucky to have Jels as a beta -the more so because she offered before I'd submitted, after some good-natured banter on the Chirp thread.

I was interested to hear you say I had a curious mix of progressive and modern for the birth -I thought I was being shamelessly old-fashioned! lol! How can I explain...? I worked on the theory that the wizarding world seems to be more traditional in its views (magic notwithstanding) and approach to life. It felt logical to me that women would give birth at home, the way our grandmothers did. I had them try to keep Harry out of the way because I felt that childbirth would be viewed as a 'female mystery' from which men would be excluded. Of course, Harry was never going to agree to that! And I must confess -having the family around never occurred to me! Even if it had, I doubt I'd have gone that route as I've never seen it happen in real life. The family turns up later, well, they do in the UK to the best of my recollection!

*grin* I absolutely and positively agree with the water birth, and I say this from experience on  both sides of the birthing pool. Say no more.

You are only the second person to mention that the story so far reads in two halves. I know it does. Maybe, as you say, when I've got some more down, it will make more sense. Fred squirm...? He knows he's going to need an Everlasting Ladder to get out of the hole he's dropped himself in, oh yes indeedy!

Thanks for taking the time to read and pass on your helpful comments. Muchly appreciated.

 

  Quote
MollyW
Monday 28th February 2005 14:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Chapter 1
Great Job! I loved it! I especially loved your descriptions of the house and the H/G banter. And the whole thing with Fred and George's Muggle mix-up was hilarious and extremely creative. I'd like a sequel too. With the baby's name (I like James Arthur) and what Ginny does to Fred and George. Thanks for writing!
Bring and Fly
Wednesday 2nd March 2005 07:10
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for reading and reviewing! James Arthur, eh.... Have to see what Harry and Ginny think of that one! *innocent whistling* And yes, the twins are regretting the mix up with the post.
  Quote
saugart
Monday 3rd January 2005 15:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 71

Chapter 1
I enjoyed the story.  However, I think that the shape of events is a bit awkward -- we start with the TV team, we finish with the birth, and there's not really a lot of connection between the two, other than that Ginny happened to be about to deliver when the team went to the Potter house.

If this were part of a larger novel, then it would be a reasonable arrangement to have these two events pushed together in this way, but it reads awkwardly for me as a story.  One idea might be two separate stories, one on the birth and one on the TV debacle. 
Bring and Fly
Wednesday 2nd March 2005 07:06
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Apologies for not responding sooner.  I have to say that I agree with you -it does read in two halves! Maybe when I post What Comes Next, it will make more sense!

There wasn't meant to be much connection between the two beyond the Muggle and magical worlds intersecting at that point. Thank you for taking the time to read and review, I appreciate all comment!

  Quote
reading-rider
Saturday 1st January 2005 00:05


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 75

Chapter 1
I wanted you to know that I really enjoyed your story.  It is very well written an was pure pleasure to read.  Thank you!
Bring and Fly
Sunday 2nd January 2005 03:34
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Well, thank you for dropping by to let me know!  I appreciate it muchly.
  Quote
Jedione
Wednesday 29th December 2004 14:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

Chapter 1

Wonderful!  Great job Baffy, I'm surprized that hHarry didn't blow down the door when they tried to keep him away

I really enjoyed this and I can see some room for an expansion.

Great job!

 

 

Bring and Fly
Sunday 2nd January 2005 03:32
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks, J1! I'm always curious about how the way I write Harry will be seen from a male perspective. As for blowing in the door... well, there are lots of doors in part 2...
  Quote
ninkenate
Thursday 23rd December 2004 16:17


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Chapter 1
I was so glad to see this posted and to know that you were continuing it. I can't wait to see what Harry and Blaise do with the twins. I also want to know how Harry deals with Blaise. Harry has Slytherin qualities too that could be bad for Blaise plus his partnership with WWW. Blaise could be in trouble.

I liked the birthing scenes and Harry's forceful determination to be beside his wife.

You did well and I can't wait to see what you come up with next. 
Bring and Fly
Friday 24th December 2004 10:37
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks, Ninkenate, for all your help and your lovely comments. Yeah, Blaise will have his eyes opened, as will the twins... Harry is still 'Harry', only with more experience to draw on.
  Quote
Bart
Thursday 23rd December 2004 13:19


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Chapter 1
Wonderful to see this up here Cara, we told you it would be we received!
Bring and Fly
Friday 24th December 2004 10:31
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

Eee, tha's a reet little clever clogs!!

Seriously...  Thanks, bart!

  Quote
DADAGinny
Thursday 23rd December 2004 11:20


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Chapter 1
Yay!  Great job!  Sequel idea:  I would love to see what happens to the twins because of this!  Want More!


Bring and Fly
Friday 24th December 2004 10:29
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks, Susan. The twins will figure in the sequel... so I hope you will like that also.
  Quote
millercommamatt
Thursday 23rd December 2004 00:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Chapter 1
I thought that this story was fun.  Your starting premise was quite unique and I salute you for your original thinking.  I enjoyed the Games Workshop reference being a fan myself.
Bring and Fly
Thursday 23rd December 2004 07:18
Chapter 1 (Author Response)

I'm glad you thought so. It came out of one of those weird chains of +blocked+ociation while I was working on something else. Actually, I can't claim to have thought up 'Through the Keyhole', as a tv programme exists in the UK by that name. I 'borrowed' the idea and crossed the wires up, so to speak.

As for the GW... I'm ankle-deep in Number One son's Tyranids, soon to be joined by Space Marines... They were the kind of thing I could see being real in Harry's world

  Quote
p0tterfan
Thursday 23rd December 2004 00:14


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

Chapter 1
Great story ... wel written and quite fun.  Looking forward to what the twins will go through.  The muggles running in the house was definitely good too 
Bring and Fly
Thursday 23rd December 2004 07:07
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you., potterfan The idea of the twins catching it seems very popular... I can't imagine why.
  Quote
Pugpal
Wednesday 22nd December 2004 23:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

Chapter 1
 Love it!
Bring and Fly
Thursday 23rd December 2004 07:04
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
   Thank you!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004