Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For No Place Like Home by Melindaleo

Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Kori24601
Sunday 6th November 2011 09:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

No Place Like Home
Wonderful story! I didn't get the pumpkin pie thing until I read the reviews, but now I don't understand why h/hr shippers (gag) use the term pumpkin pie? Lol so weird. But like I said, great story! Now I want to put up Christmas decorations!
  Quote
Patches
Sunday 11th July 2010 20:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

No Place Like Home
I really like this story. I can't remember reading it before but thank you for a great little Christmas story. p
  Quote
bookish327
Wednesday 9th July 2008 17:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

No Place Like Home
Great story! I love how besotted Harry is with Ginny. I also appreciate that Ginny won't just kiss Harry because he wants to kiss someone, that he has to want her for her, so she makes that clear right away. Luckily, that's not a problem at all. I also enjoyed how wonderful Mrs. Weasley is in her demanding that Harry spend Christmas with his true family, no matter the place, as well as with her rib-cracking hug for him. I also liked the teasing atmosphere, with Harry gently teasing Ginny about Mr. Rudolph, and Ginny threatening to suggest to her mum that Harry needs to make decorations also.

I'm a sucker for romance and fluff, and this story put a huge, silly grin on my face.

Great work.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 8th March 2008 06:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

No Place Like Home
nice story!!!
im glad that harry gets to have a happy christmas for once
  Quote
afpease
Thursday 4th October 2007 08:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

No Place Like Home
Very sweet! I seem to be hung up on all of your one-shots today, but what a great diversion!

Ginny's understanding that Harry could deal with the Padfood ornament, and Harry's ability to accept it coming from Ginny, is a nice touch.

I like the detailed description of the kiss, starting with "brilliant". I've seen way too many "soft" kisses in fanfiction - another might make me sick, but this was perfect. And Ginny's concern that the kiss was not the same for Harry as it was for her seems authentic, and provides for a second opportunity of H/G goodness.

Thanks - I think I'll go try some of your longer works over the next few day!
  Quote
Yakshaver
Friday 7th September 2007 15:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

No Place Like Home
... nothing but an annoying bunch of moths in comparison to the full symphony of colorful butterflies that inhabited his abdomen whenever Ginny Weasley entered a room....

That's a fantastic piece of wordsmithing. I love it when a writer takes a metaphor that's become so embedded in the language that we don't generally notice it's a metaphor anymore, and draws our attention to it. All the more so when they embroider on it so colorfully.

And there's so much else to love about this story: Mr. Rudolph, Harry's realizing Ron has someone in mind for Ginny but being clueless as to who, and (for me, the moment my eyes grew moist), the Sirius ornament.

Overall, an absolute gem of a story. Though I have to say, my suspension of disbelief was seriously challenged by the idea of children disliking pumpkin pie...
Melindaleo
Friday 7th September 2007 15:20
No Place Like Home (Author Response)
Thanks for the lovely review! You've made my evening.

Pumpkin pie is the code name that harry/hermione shippers use to refer to their ship. I was sort of taking a jab at the idea of h/hr together. Shudder.
  Quote
HariyaFan
Wednesday 25th July 2007 20:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

No Place Like Home
Hey, All of us really wanted it at the back of our minds, for Harry and Ginny to get back together.
And what other ocassion could be better thn this than Christmas.

U have again done a good job, This time is was quite mushy though.
  Quote
harrysnotgoingtodiein7
Wednesday 18th July 2007 03:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

No Place Like Home
nothing else left to say. Another great fluffy kiss story
  Quote
MagicMom
Thursday 11th January 2007 11:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

No Place Like Home
I don't know how I missed this one until now! VERY lovely! But tell me something... how would Harry not know what pumpkin pie was considering he was raised by muggles?? It was really fun though that they didn't like it, lol.
Melindaleo
Thursday 11th January 2007 13:18
No Place Like Home (Author Response)
Heh! That's easy. Pumpkin Pie is an American dessert, not British - a fact I find entirely amusing since the wrong ship uses it as their slogan, lol.
  Quote
lacyrachil
Sunday 26th November 2006 10:35


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

No Place Like Home
How sweet. See, you can do romance
  Quote
DaFalcon
Saturday 19th August 2006 06:24


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 237

No Place Like Home
I am such a and fan.
And by the looks of it, you are one too.
Nice Job!
  Quote
DanAngelus
Sunday 2nd July 2006 07:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

No Place Like Home
Hehe aww.. I liked this one to.. especially the butter dish bit and the comparison between the butterflies that Harry got from seeing Ginny and from seeing Cho Chang.. lol.

Definitly a story to be read again around christmas..
  Quote
DanAngelus
Sunday 2nd July 2006 07:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

No Place Like Home
Hehe aww.. I liked this one to.. especially the butter dish bit and the comparison between the butterflies that Harry got from seeing Ginny and from seeing Cho Chang.. lol.

Definitly a story to be read again around christmas..
  Quote
i didnt do it
Thursday 25th May 2006 00:04


No Place Like Home
awwwwwww gr8 story!!
  Quote
Liz'M
Sunday 18th December 2005 12:01


No Place Like Home

I loved this story, very cute.

Love the Harry/Ginny fluff!!!

  Quote
Amber
Tuesday 4th October 2005 11:33


No Place Like Home
Sequel,sequel sequel,sequel,sequel,sequel.Woo,woo,woo,woo, and         it's as ron would say"Bloody Brillent".
  Quote
siobh007
Monday 15th August 2005 03:08


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

No Place Like Home

I don't know if I've already posted a review for that one, so I'll do it anyway. It's a great xmas tale. What better way than to make up at xmas?!!!

Ginny looks just like canon realy.

So for the 238th time, WELL DONE

  Quote
gra
Thursday 11th August 2005 11:39


No Place Like Home
Aww! so cute, i love it. Plus you got their characters so right which alot of people cant do. Congrats on a really nice story, straight out of a rom-com!
  Quote
Patrick
Wednesday 27th July 2005 20:53


No Place Like Home
i liked it a lot
  Quote
levotatingT
Friday 3rd June 2005 09:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

No Place Like Home

I have already read this once before but I had to read it again.  Even though it is the middle of Speing almost summer I feel like it is Christmas. 

Great job, keep writing, and Plez write back

levotatingT

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004