Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For To Save a Life by hairy_hen

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
daniel_r_crazy22
Wednesday 5th July 2006 16:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: Banned
Yes, a very stupid headache. And stupid Snape and Malfoy. Oh, and don't forget Voldemort. He is very stupid, and and using dementors. Jeezz.
  Quote
Gridley
Wednesday 5th January 2005 12:13


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 160

2: Banned

I was more than a little confused as to who Malfoy was referring to (Percy being dead); it might have helped to introduce that before the fight, or make it more explicit.

However, otherwise this is an excellent chapter.

hairy_hen
Monday 10th January 2005 23:23
2: Banned (Author Response)
That's the trouble with writing a story with a lot of backstory the readers aren't familiar with. More than once I've been told Ginny's overreaction to Harry was very confusing for that same reason, that they weren't familiar with the past events the characters are referring to. That confusion aside, though, I didn't want to overload the story with seemingly irrelevant background information before it becomes important to the story. To talk about Percy's death earlier without either using omniscient perspective or inserting a long and boring "data dump", I would have had to make Harry think about it beforehand for some reason. I didn't do that because he's not likely to just start thinking about Percy at length until the subject is forced on him.

I appreciate your comments, however, and I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Next chapter things start to get really interesting . . .
  Quote
SiblingCreature
Saturday 25th December 2004 08:44


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 81

2: Banned
I'm really liking this so far, and am looking forward to the next chapter.

I knew your name seemed familiar but it wasn't until I read the note on this chapter that I realised where I know it from,  that being your notes to St Margarets on SIYE. :-)
hairy_hen
Sunday 26th December 2004 14:40
2: Banned (Author Response)
I'm glad you like the story. Yes, St. Margarets is a good friend of mine, and an excellent author herself.
  Quote
Stormdelver
Thursday 23rd December 2004 15:34


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

2: Banned
As "not exactly where it goes"- I think I see where this is going- not a very well-liked path, but one that happens more often than not- You know the saying-better to love and lost than not at all? I don't agree with that. Tommy Lee Jones may have said it best with "Try it."
  Quote
Stormdelver
Thursday 23rd December 2004 15:31


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

2: Banned
Yes I would have to concur, men just don't understand the workings of the female mind...as perhaps it should be. But you are using that very well here, poor Harry- to love too late, its a very horrible feeling to find out who you want- only that they have went a different way. Tragic romance- its finding the one who makes you complete, even being very good, and long-time friends but the depth is never reciprocated. It feels like falling off a cliff- flying for a moment to shatter on the rocks below- every day. But I digress, very good second chapter- i see the touch of St. Margarets here- her stories are wonderful as well. Well done, I love the story- keep your muse comming>
  Quote
mary-v
Thursday 23rd December 2004 12:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

2: Banned

This stroy is brilliant, and I love where it ssems to be headed!  You write wonderously! Please update soon!

~Maria~

hairy_hen
Thursday 23rd December 2004 14:31
2: Banned (Author Response)
Thanks! Glad you liked it. Where it seems to be headed might not be exactly where it goes, though . . . :firedevil:
  Quote
Pugpal
Wednesday 22nd December 2004 22:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

2: Banned
AWESOME!!!!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004