Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Thaw by Jacynthe

Showing 1 to 20 of 56 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Dad
Wednesday 1st April 2009 07:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

The Thaw
Had to read this after the last one. Ginny was great. Get back to your third story after tea.
  Quote
hpnopart
Friday 7th November 2008 02:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

The Thaw
Wow! That was a well written story. I really loved it's tone. I am glad I found it! It is a pity you haven't written in ages.
  Quote
drummersgirl
Sunday 2nd November 2008 17:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

The Thaw
I know this has been out for awhile, but I just found it and I have to say one of the stories that has the most canon like harry and ginnyI've ever read! Great job
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 1st November 2008 17:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

The Thaw
Wow - fabulous. I am loving this story hugely. I wish it went on and on. You've got one more story posted here and I am hoping it's much longer.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 11th September 2008 14:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Thaw
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Tuesday 15th January 2008 02:22


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

The Thaw
Great story! I love the part about Weasleys being like dragons!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 9th October 2007 15:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Thaw
this is an awesome story. amazing how Ginny and Harry just confessed to liking each other and they are already talking about marriage and stuff lol.
Jacynthe
Monday 29th October 2007 06:21
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks! (and while they ma just have got round to talking about relationships, you can bet that she, at least, has been thinking it through for a good long while.)
  Quote
TrainzStoffe
Thursday 4th October 2007 16:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

The Thaw
You're really serious, aren't you? This is just a one-chapter story? I can't believe it... because, in some ways, it really doesn't read like that. It could very well have been a prologue to a multi-chaptered story. But in other ways, it is very much just one chapter long. There are just more things happening in this chapter than a usual multi-chaptered chapter (whoa...), and much faster.
That being said, I'm actually disappointed (and this is the point I started to make in the beginning...). I thought I had found my next long-time read story here, because I really like it. I like your writing style and use of words - it's different than most fanfic (or even writing in general, as far as I know), and it's a good different. I don't know how to say it... It feels to me like a language that is good, with a wide vocabulary and well practiced. A language that could very well be pretentious, but it's not. It's like it knows it's good, but doesn't have to show off.
The story is good too, very good, and I would love to read this as the beginning of an epic kind of story. I'll just have to imagine it myself instead, I guess.
Thank you for a great story!
Jacynthe
Monday 29th October 2007 06:25
The Thaw (Author Response)
Glad you liked it, and yes this really is all there is. I did play around with a brief sequel at one point, but it wasn't working. As you work your way through the stories on this site, meanwhile, you will see that there are many fine writers here in a variety of styles.

Happy reading.
  Quote
nicole_celtic
Wednesday 20th June 2007 10:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Thaw
That was really good
Jacynthe
Tuesday 26th June 2007 09:10
The Thaw (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it (and honored to get your first review!)
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 7th June 2007 12:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Thaw
I really liked this story it was bold and I enjoyed it. This isn't quite the ginny manners I had pictured for my self.
Jacynthe
Monday 11th June 2007 08:55
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked my portrait of a better, bolder Ginny. Sometimes, a girl just has to take charge if anything is to get done at all.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 11th January 2007 17:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

The Thaw
Aww. I liked that. That was very cute. And I like the part


"What I'm about to say please believe me when I tell you that it has absolutely nothing to do with fact that my hand is where it is right now, OK?"

"Absolutely."

"What I want you to know is I'm really, really glad you're on my side."


Love it! Very well written
Jacynthe
Friday 9th February 2007 01:44
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks! This was my first story ever, and it's alsways nice to know that people are still reading it.
  Quote
Miri
Tuesday 9th January 2007 12:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

The Thaw
I am sooo glad that I found this fantastic story (by way of the story of the week for this week--I always check out the author's profile to see their other works).

I'm also rather glad that I read this after HBP. I did enjoy the 6th book but I must admit that if I had read your version of Harry's arrival at the Burrow before JKR's, I might well have found cannon a bit bland ;-) Now I'm off to read your other stories.

Long Live the Quartet!
Jacynthe
Friday 9th February 2007 01:42
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks so much. This is the first story I ever posted, and I must admit to a sentimental fondness for it. As for the business of blandness ... let's just say that, unlike Jo Rowling, I don't have a censor (sorry, editor) from Scholastic Books reading over my shoulder ...
  Quote
rdprice29
Thursday 5th October 2006 20:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

The Thaw
This was very, very sweet! I am here from Melindaleo's gem list, and I agree, this story is a GEM!

Wonderful job, I really, really enjoyed the interaction between Harry and Ginny. Great Job!
Jacynthe
Saturday 7th October 2006 08:43
The Thaw (Author Response)
Oh hooray, someone is still reading this! It's the very first story I ever posted and I'm still ridiculously proud of it. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
red5
Thursday 23rd March 2006 16:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

The Thaw
"Do boys even get a vote in these things?"

"Don't be silly."

omg. what a great line and a great story. i found yours from Melindaleo's gems link, and have never been more happy! wonderfully written, looking forward to others! cheers!
Jacynthe
Tuesday 28th March 2006 19:35
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks! The Thaw is probably destined to be a one-shot story, but I had a great time writing it and am always happy when others tell me that they enjoyed reading it. For a rather different perspective on Harry and Ginny, meanwhile, stay tuned for updates of the Ravenclaw stories right here on PS.net.
  Quote
Hoss
Monday 27th February 2006 08:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

The Thaw
That was the 3 or 4 time I've read this fic. and I enjoy it more then I can say!!! Thanks so much.
Jacynthe
Wednesday 1st March 2006 08:19
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story -- I certainly had a great time writing it!
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 26th February 2006 18:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

The Thaw
I absolutely adored this. The dry humor you had going on was brilliant, especiall this bit: "By the time they reached the Burrow, the automaton with the frozen heart was ready to walk and talk, almost like a real boy." Great job. Though I really wish we'd have seen them facing the Weasleys. Especially Fred and George.

Excellent
~Maria~
Jacynthe
Wednesday 1st March 2006 08:22
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind words. It is possible that I might bring this story forzard at some point, although canonically speaking it has been overtaken by events. In any case, though, I am confident that Ginny as I have imagined her is more than a match for her brothers.
  Quote
annel22
Sunday 26th February 2006 13:08


The Thaw
Ilove your Ginny!! I much prefer her to JK Rowling's Ginny. I hope to read more of your work. Great job!
Jacynthe
Wednesday 1st March 2006 08:26
The Thaw (Author Response)
Thanks ! If you liked Ginny, just wait till you meet Parvati in the next instalment of .A Few Things I Remember About Ravenclaw. Yet another girl who has Harry's number ...
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Monday 3rd October 2005 05:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

The Thaw
Wow!  What a great way to start the week.  Beautiful imagery.  Thanks for writing it.  S.
Jacynthe
Tuesday 11th October 2005 19:24
The Thaw (Author Response)
And thank you for reviewing.  Glad you liked the images - in many ways this story was built around them, and what little plot it has came later.
  Quote

Tuesday 6th September 2005 22:26


The Thaw

This is incredibley good.  I loved the last line and this whole piece was sexy as well as hilarious.

Bravo!

  Quote
jeanne
Sunday 28th August 2005 06:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

The Thaw
I have no doubt reviewed this before,but after reading it again,I must agree with M&L,s,in as much as it is a really great work of art. I could picture and live every word and action.Even the last scene with Ginny placing his hand on her breast was not really a sexual act ,as much as a show of faith and trust in Harry to accept her into his life as a full partner and eventually lover. Her deep love for him dragged him up out of the deepest depths of despair,and self-loathing,and you did it all awesomely.My Thanks to you.
Jacynthe
Friday 2nd September 2005 19:03
The Thaw (Author Response)
You're welcome.  I enjoyed writing this story, and it is always good to hear that others enjoy reading it.  You are quite right that the final scene, and the whole story really, is about mutual faith. (Not that there's anything wrong with a good snog, mind you.)
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 56 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004