Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For New Year, New Hope by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
TangoCharlie
Thursday 18th September 2008 06:27


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

Three
I feel like I've just gotta keep saying it - the pacing of your stories and plot development is fantastic!

The opening sentence of this chapter was really engaging and catchy, as do all of your chapter openers. It's one of the things I like about your writing.
The passage about Neville waking a sleeping Harry also made me smile - very well written.

: )
Arnel
Thursday 18th September 2008 22:41
Three (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know what you liked about the chapter. I had fun writing the waking up Harry scene. My husband sometimes wakes up from a sound sleep in that same fashion, so it was easy add a bit of magic to something that occurs regularly at my house.
  Quote
twinsmom
Tuesday 22nd July 2008 15:13


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Three
I know this story is already completed but just let me say.....argh!!!! Ginny is the one that calms Harry down. She is the one that needs to be comforting him. She's been awol for way to long, even tho she has the best of intentions.

Anyhoo! I really am really enjoying this story! I love the one before as well. But, I don't think my review took on that one. It was really sweet. I even looked up that Grobin song.

Hope Ginny works out that potion so she can get back to Harry.
Arnel
Tuesday 22nd July 2008 22:05
Three (Author Response)
twinsmom,

The universe for this story was started prior to HBP being published when we really didn't know whether Ginny was Harry's best source of comfort or someone else was. Therefore, at the start of this story, I decided that Harry's and Ginny's relationship needed to go slowly, even though Ginny is bound and determined to eventually end up that way. Besides, you've got a long way to go with this story and a lot of things happen along the way with plenty of opportunities for Ginny to comfort Harry and vice versa.

I'm glad you like the story and "You're Still You". I checked and your review for that one wasn't added, but if you'd like to leave one for it, I always write back. Thanks for reviewing this one. I look forward to hearing from you again.

Arnel
  Quote
The Boss
Monday 2nd July 2007 04:33


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Three
Oh dear. The plot thickens with He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named... Sounds like bad times are ahead for all involved in Harry's life.
I hope that You-Know-Who doesnt find the Dursleys for Harrys sake as that was his last real 'family', even though they didnt treat him like family...poor Harry

Excellent chapter!

The Boss
Arnel
Monday 2nd July 2007 04:43
Three (Author Response)
At this time, You-Know-Who is only putting out feelers. He wants to scare Harry and remind him who is boss. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Patches
Friday 30th March 2007 00:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Three
This is a good chapter. I like the way things are developing. It is bad that Harry is suspicious of Ginny's absenses. She will have to tell him eventually what she is doing. I think her friends are wrong and she should have gone to Harry. At least he is talking to her now. That is good. I look forward to the next chapter. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Friday 30th March 2007 06:43
Three (Author Response)
I thought long and hard about whether to have Ginny go to Harry that night. However, since she has a history of being out of bed when she shouldn't be, her friends thought they were doing the right thing by stopping her from leaving the dorm room. Keep reading...I'm glad you like the story. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Friday 23rd February 2007 15:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Three
Wow. I hope they don't find the Dursleys. No matter how much I dislike them, they don't need to die. And Snape is a git. Very good chapter.
Arnel
Friday 23rd February 2007 23:13
Three (Author Response)
It's been so long since I posted this chapter I had to go back and read it to see what had happened! You'll be happy to know that the Dursleys are safe, that the Death Eater attack near Little Whinging was just an isolated incident. And I do agree with you that Snape is a git; he was a lot of fun to write in this chapter. Keep reading...I appreciate your reviews.
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 22nd March 2005 12:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Three
Ooo.
It's getting scarier.
And the potions are getting better too. Bravo on that.

Liked the way Gin sidestepped Snape.
I'm waiting for the shoe to drop if Harry gets mad at the time Colin and Gin are spending together.

"Harry still looked sceptical." Is that a british spelling? looked kinda funny.

Good show. I'm waiting for the next chapter. It's been almost 2 months since you last posted!!!
  Quote
roxypoxy
Saturday 5th February 2005 23:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Three

well done

i really enjoyed that !, expecially the ending.

pls right more soon.

 

  Quote
TigerLily8186
Monday 24th January 2005 19:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Three

Wow.  Wow^2. Wow ^3. Wow^reallyreallyreallybignumber. I am impressed. It seems like it's been a while, but when I started reading it was like seeing an old friend again. Now i recall all the complexities that I enjoyed.  I loved all the unexplainable spellish stuff that happend with . You did a very good Snape portrayal. I also liked the fleshing out of Colin. I hope you will have Ginny tell Harry her plan soon.

~Megs

  Quote
lissabee
Monday 24th January 2005 16:10


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

Three

This is getting more intriguing by the minute! But I'm confused. How was it that when Snape did Priori Incantatem on her wand it didn't show the spells she'd used? Or when he revealed the magical signatures? Will we get some sort of explanation there? And I can't say I'm surprised by Harry's confrontation of Ginny...she has been spending a lot less time with him, I was wondering when it would come out.

Oh, but I wonder at this point why she doesn't spill the beans to Harry. Does she want to wait until she has the potion brewed so that if he is really eager he'll have it right away? I keep envisioning him being somewhat resistant to it for some reason, though if I think about it Lord only knows why he wouldn't want to do it. It is good that she has it so thoroughly researched, because when she actually goes to tell him about it, she can answer all of his questions.

  Quote
reading-rider
Monday 24th January 2005 10:38


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 75

Three
I'm enjoying your story immensely!  You're very well-written and it's obvious that you put much thought into your plot line.  Needless to say, I'll be looking forward to your next post.  I'd like to thank you for sharing this story.  It's a fun read.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004