Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Secrets of the Mind by twins-rule

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
Praeceps09
Monday 20th July 2009 09:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 85

1: Returning to the Prison
nothing is more important than girls, get that through your thick head Harry
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 26th September 2006 16:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: Returning to the Prison
Wow, Harry sounds really depressed ... but then again that's pretty understandable. Great of Ginny to put a smile on his face .
Abusive Dursleys .
Harry sensing Vernon's anger -- is that related to the part in the prologue about the veil's master sensing auras? (I know Vernon's not magical )?
So Tonks is helping Ginny along and offering to help Harry (while finding him attractive). Sound like trouble .
  Quote
crazyredhead
Thursday 3rd August 2006 14:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

1: Returning to the Prison
that was so good i dont know what to say
  Quote
IHateSnakes
Thursday 25th May 2006 17:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1: Returning to the Prison
I must have started reading this story a while back because it's on my favorite list...I just can't recall anything about it. Ah, middle age! Anyway, you have a wonderful style of writing, much like my niece's.

Having just (re)started the story I'm withholding judgement on the plot, you'll have to jump through hoops to pull off a reincarnation of Sirius, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt, for now.

I loved the Tonks snogging Harry thoughts, it was very cute.

S.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 25th May 2006 15:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

1: Returning to the Prison
I think this chapter is pretty cool. But you had Tonks kinda fall for Harry. Now that is gross! Maybe if he was older and her younger but still. Nasty. But the chapter was good non the less.
  Quote
Wooster
Thursday 25th May 2006 12:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: Returning to the Prison
Mm...I wouldn't want to miss out on Mrs. Weasley's cooking either...man I love Tonks...she's so unabashedly (did I spell that right?) fun. Great chapter. I'm very VERY excited about reading all of this story.

Oh, one little spelling error in your story...dunno if you care or not...but it's 'per se' not 'per say'.
  Quote
Dragen
Wednesday 24th May 2006 09:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

1: Returning to the Prison
nice chapter, keep up the good work.
  Quote
KJ
Monday 22nd May 2006 14:29


1: Returning to the Prison
I love it! This chapter is a good opener for the story, it gives a little bit of information and yet hold back some too so you feel the need to keep reading. Absolutely wonderful!
  Quote
Bagelz
Monday 21st November 2005 16:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

1: Returning to the Prison
Just getting back to re-reading this story ... the one that started me out on PhoenixSong.  Excited that you got the story up and running again and seriously looking forward to your next installment.  This has easily been one of my favorite 'powerful' HPs and I'm fired up to see where you take it!  Peace, glad to have you back.
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Friday 11th November 2005 14:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

1: Returning to the Prison

Erm, Tonks crushing on Harry?  Ha ha aha aha ha

Your Harry is well done!

  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Friday 11th November 2005 12:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

1: Returning to the Prison

That letter captures Ginny spirit so well.

Harry is also in great character.  Very nice...

  Quote
GR
Tuesday 16th August 2005 08:34


1: Returning to the Prison

Two things your spell checker missed -

Per say isn't correct, its a latin phrase spelled 'per se'

and you spelled Occlumency wrong

  Quote
rdprice29
Monday 31st January 2005 10:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

1: Returning to the Prison

This is a great start, and I'm going to enjoy seeing where this story takes Harry!

Great job, and I hope you're able to update frequently!

twins-rule
Monday 31st January 2005 11:07
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Hi!  Thank you for reading and reviewing.

I do plan to update regularly, around half the story is already written.  My hope is to update on a regular schedule but that is not always possible since I work with both a pre-beta and a beta who have their own lives.  Keep checking back and hopefully we can settle on a weekly schedule at some point.  I would love to get this completed before JKR officially makes this all A/U, but that is life.

On an aside, I really must give a huge nod to the pre-betas and betas of the world who give so much of their own time to make someone's elses work shine. 
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Tuesday 25th January 2005 17:18


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

1: Returning to the Prison

A very nice beginning, if somewhat standard by now.  I did like the extent to which Harry is trying to get over Sirius' death.  You having him try -- however tenuously -- to connect with Tonks and Remus made for some good scenes.

I am enjoying this, and look forward to new chapters.

twins-rule
Wednesday 26th January 2005 18:22
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Hey thanks for reading and reviewing, this is still one of my more favorite chapters.  The begining was standard in a sense we all need to see our hero (since the books all start that way), but I drew symbolic inspiration from my favorite Disney movie with Harry's thoughts and Hedwigs return...well the letter she was bearing (okay, more importantly from whom).  More info on that will come in the next couple of chapters.

Harry will find himself vacillating between reaching out and being introverted as he struggles with this year.
  Quote
Pugpal
Monday 24th January 2005 21:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 162

1: Returning to the Prison
AWESOME!! That was great!  Great job!
twins-rule
Tuesday 25th January 2005 13:34
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Hey there.  Thanks for the review, glad you enjoy it.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Monday 24th January 2005 20:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

1: Returning to the Prison

Hi

I read the prologue to this when it first went up, but was alarmed with the idea of Sirius coming back, so I bailed.

Anyway, I saw this chapter and gave it another go.  You got me with my greatest weakness - protective Weasleys.  I adored Ginny's letter and the image of Bill bursting in and getting Vernon off Harry..

This story shows a lot of promise.  I liked the talk between Remus and Harry, and Harry himself is just breaking my heart.  I thought he was slightly ooc with that long speech (for him) to Tonks, but I liked the scene anyway.  I liked Tonks offering her advice if he wanted it.  I like seeing Tonks in the big sister role, but the older woman/younger BOY thing...well, that kind of creeps me out.

I'm very curious what Remus had to say to Aunt Petunia.  And Harry was grateful that Ginny didn't mention his first night back in her letter, which of course made me wonder if Ron made some typical Ron - insensitive but loveable - comment?

I'll be waiting for more, and hope poor Harry can escape Privet Drive soon.  I'm happy he's angry with DD - I am, too.  I really like his thoughts on trying to exhaust himself so he won't think too much.  Very Harry, and very appropriate, I think.

twins-rule
Tuesday 25th January 2005 13:42
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Do not worry about Tonks.  She is more of a breath of comedic air with a touch of hero worship (sort of...what young women would not mind making out with Prince William kind of thing).  In truth Tonks will be far more interested in having an older teasing friendship with Harry.  Once she figures out Harry is very susceptible to teasing about girls...well look out poor Harry.  

Thanks for reading your original story is without a doubt one of my most favorite stories of all time.  The way you approached the story from how Harry related to his friends and 'new' family is simply wonderful. 

I can only promise this, I have my own little fun what ifs that I wanted to tackle with this story and if I do tread in waters uncomfortable I will make all effort to explain why in the story.  Thanks for reading and I already miss Charlie.
  Quote
mattcon69
Monday 24th January 2005 15:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Returning to the Prison
I love the writing style so far. You have me reading.
twins-rule
Monday 24th January 2005 16:58
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Thanks alot.  You can thank my beta for beating me with a stiff stick to "de-formalize" my writing.  I am glad that it is working, thanks for reading as well.
  Quote
DSDragon
Sunday 23rd January 2005 22:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

1: Returning to the Prison

I like the way you're going so far with the plot.

The prologue was a bit wordy (could have been clearer), and it would've been nice to get some of Harry's responses to Ginny's letters in too.

Your timeline seems muddy as well--I can't tell how much time has passed in any part of this last chapter.  You said that he'd gotten a few letters after that first from Ginny, but it seems like it's just the day after Remus' visit.

Anyway, I eagerly await the next chapter. :)

twins-rule
Monday 24th January 2005 09:55
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
When I read the chapter after it was posted myself I got confused.  There was a section break in there that did not carry over to the posting.  The talk with Tonks is actually a week after his talk with Remus.

  I think you might see a letter from Harry to Ginny in the future.  Then again....  
  Quote
Treck
Sunday 23rd January 2005 15:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Returning to the Prison

You have a great start going on your novel. 

twins-rule
Monday 24th January 2005 16:56
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Thanks for reading.  
  Quote
dibberne
Sunday 23rd January 2005 13:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 32

1: Returning to the Prison

I cannot say much at the moment, but I just wanted to let you know that it's a great start, well-written, and that I'm intrigued.

Thanks.

twins-rule
Monday 24th January 2005 16:57
1: Returning to the Prison (Author Response)
Thanks for being intrigued.  I hope to create some mystery throughout the story.  Thanks for reading too.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004