Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Mathamagic by Gridley

Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Kori24601
Tuesday 22nd March 2011 17:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Mathamagic
Hahaha that was fun, thank you for sharing!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 2nd October 2007 15:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Mathamagic
wow very odd made no sense at all for me!
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Tuesday 17th April 2007 16:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

Mathamagic
Omg...that...is...hilarious! I can see many of the fun poking instances, and i cant take the smile off my face...and if you respond, please, dont make a pun from my site name...lol

anyway, i loved it...quite funny...the toads, and all that. and then the "I forgot" hahahaha and Mary and Sue...im srue thats just an accident ;-]

Alrighty...im gone...lol.

Tricia


ack! forgot to mention the part about dean, and that was my fave! poor Dean; getting his ears screamed off by rabid H/G-ers...almost feel sorry for him! lol...again, loved it!

Tricia
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 09:13
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Hmm. In my other fic I made him a spy, modified his memory several times, and shot him. In this one I deafened him.

I think I have a subconscious dislike of Dean Thomas. Odd, that.
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Tuesday 17th April 2007 16:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

Mathamagic
Omg...that...is...hilarious! I can see many of the fun poking instances, and i cant take the smile off my face...and if you respond, please, dont make a pun from my site name...lol

anyway, i loved it...quite funny...the toads, and all that. and then the "I forgot" hahahaha and Mary and Sue...im srue thats just an accident ;-]

Alrighty...im gone...lol.

Tricia
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 08:55
Mathamagic (Author Response)
I promise I won't make a pun out of your name.
Know that I appreciate your reviews.
Why do you use such a name if you've got a perfectly good one like Tricia?
You liked Mary and Sue, then? Of course you did, they're so wonderful...
Smile!
  Quote
ImmortalPhoenix
Saturday 19th August 2006 19:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Mathamagic
Okay now that was funny. I loved Dean's part in there --hearing voices is never a good thing, not even in the wizarding world. Seamus with the goblet thing was funny and then Harry with asking Ginny and all...

Simply hilarious.
Kortnee
Gridley
Friday 20th July 2007 08:52
Mathamagic (Author Response)
"For pure fluff, try Gridley's Short Stories! All the fun of regular fanfic, and no calories!" :-)
  Quote
#28 SC Braga
Monday 20th February 2006 01:18


Mathamagic
This is a great compilation of goofs from the films and books.
It must've taken a sharp mind and eye to spot all of these, and even more writing skill to actually be able to make a fic including all of the mistakes in a humorous fashion.

Well Done!

#28 SC Braga
Gridley
Tuesday 21st February 2006 05:11
Mathamagic (Author Response)
My mind naturally seeks out logistical possibilities in stories, although of course I am far from the first one to spot any of these problems. I think some of my solutions/explanations may well be unique, though.
  Quote
XXXmister-E werepony unit
Sunday 4th September 2005 20:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Mathamagic
hahaha!exellent
Gridley
Saturday 10th September 2005 05:27
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
robbie cupcake-girl
Monday 27th June 2005 20:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 35

Mathamagic

FUN!!    

Except when you made a 1984 reference. I am in deep denial about the existence of that book. (You try studying it for FOUR MONTHS with a lunatic lecturer and see how you feel about it).

But apart from that this was hysterical. Really liked the thousand voices bits.

I laughed every kind of laugh (except possibly evil mwahaha). From little giggle-chuckle, to a snort. (Don't spread the fact that I snorted around OK, I want to pretend to be ladylike)

Good grief. I'm really sorry but I just about felt my brain leave my head during that review. That really was a fantastic fic. Ignore the rambling

Gridley
Wednesday 27th July 2005 10:03
Mathamagic (Author Response)

Hey, I ramble myself. My wife claims she enjoys it. :-}

I was heavily traumatized by 1984 also - in fact I wrote a short-short called "1994" in which I postulated a Swiss overthrow of the system described therin (the Swiss having remained independant, and being willing to destroy the governments of the three powers without conquering them). That helped, but I still refuse to re-read the book.

  Quote
hermionegreen
Wednesday 15th June 2005 07:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Mathamagic

teehee this one is cute.  I muct read more.

 

'Mione

Gridley
Friday 24th June 2005 04:27
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Please do! :-)
  Quote
Trystym&Delylah
Wednesday 27th April 2005 14:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Mathamagic
 

I enjoyed every single one of your "explanations". Priceless!  Thanks for the giggle :)

Delylah
Gridley
Thursday 2nd June 2005 17:34
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Well, it all seems to logical. I'm especially fond of my Hagrid's missing day and the grad students. :-)
  Quote
trogdor
Tuesday 22nd February 2005 13:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Mathamagic
I really like the 1984 reference. Good story!
Gridley
Friday 4th March 2005 01:48
Mathamagic (Author Response)

Thanks!

  Quote
CheddarTrek
Tuesday 8th February 2005 15:27


Mathamagic
Hehe, very amusing parody... one of the better ones I have read.  I actually did "laugh out loud" when I got to the Eurasia line, hehe.  (Good to know someone else has read 1984 ^^).
Gridley
Wednesday 9th February 2005 16:05
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Oh, I'm sure there are many people here who've read and been traumatized by 1984. :-)
  Quote
Eressea
Monday 7th February 2005 19:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 46

Mathamagic

I forgot to tell you, I have something of a theory about the numbers of students, though it doesn't work in Harry's earlier years.  If magic is a natural occurance, I doubt that there are exactly twenty witches and twenty wizards born each year in England.  Even if they were, they wouldn't split evenly into the four houses, as magic came before Hogwarts.  Unless the sorting is done precisely so that the students would be split up evenly, which is hard, because the hat has to sort each student as soon as he sees them and can't look at all of them before deciding.  Also, there probably would be students born in other countries.

That being said, I would imaging that there would have been a wizarding baby boom right after Harry defeated You Know Who.  Couples would be more comfortable having children after the war, and might have waited so that they could be born in better times.  And since there were probably many deaths during the war, the students in the years above Harry would be reduced.  So I imagine that there would be at least double or triple the number of students in the years two and three below Harry in comparison to his year, and then high numbers continuing. 

Gridley
Wednesday 9th February 2005 16:05
Mathamagic (Author Response)

Unfortunately our evidence is a little more solid - it seems that Slytherin + Gryffindor (Harry's Year) is 20 students, as is Hufflepuff + Gryffindor. With at least 8 Gryffindors, Ravenclaw would need to be huge to really bring up the numbers. The baby boom theory helps somewhat more, but we've already hit ~800 by Harry's third year.

Harry's year at Hogwarts would have to be amazingly small, or three of the four houses very unpopular in that year, to make it come anywhere close.

If you're interested in more detail, there are some more details on the Harry Potter Lexicon.

  Quote
nightcrawler1089
Sunday 6th February 2005 10:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 44

Mathamagic
Ah, this explains everything quite nicely. Haha, seriously, very funny story!
Gridley
Wednesday 9th February 2005 16:00
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Doesn't it though? :-)
  Quote
Snowdrop1
Friday 4th February 2005 11:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Mathamagic
Huh?I don't get it. Happy Valintines Day though.
Gridley
Friday 4th February 2005 14:05
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Well, there's a fair amount to get, but just try not to take any of it seriously, think of Flints, and you should be fine.
  Quote
Leslie
Friday 4th February 2005 05:39


Mathamagic
Too cute!  I laughed all the way through it.  Great job!
Gridley
Friday 4th February 2005 05:44
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 3rd February 2005 18:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Mathamagic
 Too funny!
Gridley
Friday 4th February 2005 05:44
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Oh no, I killed another fan!
  Quote
DADAGinny
Thursday 3rd February 2005 06:36


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Mathamagic
I was  !  This was so funny!!!!!


Gridley
Friday 4th February 2005 05:44
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Thanks. :-)
  Quote
Badi
Thursday 3rd February 2005 05:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Mathamagic

Hey, now you mentioned, Dumbledore does resemble the BB. I mean, the guy knows EVERYTHING! What are the chances of that happening in real world?

Gridley
Thursday 3rd February 2005 06:19
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Eh. He's the Mystic Old Sage who Knows All and Tells Little. Its magic! I'll let that one slide. But just how many students does the school which is the centerpiece of your entire series have, Jo?
  Quote
Crys
Thursday 3rd February 2005 05:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Mathamagic

*cough* *sputter* *snicker*

Grad students . . .ages . . . Eurasia . . . chorus . . . on and on.  Oh, you covered all the bases, didn't you?

Gridley
Thursday 3rd February 2005 06:17
Mathamagic (Author Response)
Oh, there's plenty I missed. I could have brought up term always staring on September 1st regardless of what day of the week that is, why the Hogwarts express takes longer to go one way than the other, how many days there are in a week, the logistics of class schedules, the logistics of O.W.L. exams...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004