Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Rainbows and Butterflies by parakletos

Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
LWJ2
Monday 21st April 2014 03:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Rainbows and Butterflies
Neat story, thanks for sharing it.
  Quote
NotACat
Tuesday 4th November 2008 01:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Rainbows and Butterflies
Oh, I like that.

I notice you are appropriately coy as to the identity of Ginny's deceased hubby...I assume we can be assured it was somebody "nice" or else Harry's reaction would have been somewhat different...not to mention I wouldn't want to imagine a universe where Ginny married someone mean, it's bad enough trying to think of her with anyone but Harry.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 28th March 2008 13:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Rainbows and Butterflies
aww ww ww!!! Thats really cute!!!
but somehow i dont think that it would take ginny and harry 40 years to admit that they love eachother. they were gryfindors and suppose to be brave and also i dont think that ginny would let go of harry without a fit...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 04:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Rainbows and Butterflies
this was so cute!!!
Ron looked back at the clock and noticed that both Ginny's and Harry's hands on the clock had moved from 'Private' to 'None of your Business'.

i love this!!! funny to see what people come up with that the clock can point to lol
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 3rd June 2007 04:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Rainbows and Butterflies
I really liked this story, wel I should I always like storys that are writen good and have Ginny and Harry finally getting together.
  Quote
lantis222
Monday 1st January 2007 03:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Rainbows and Butterflies
So cute, I love old man Ron. Just goes to show, it's never too late. Thank you for a wonderfully written story, I enjoyed it emensly!
parakletos
Tuesday 2nd January 2007 22:19
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
I very rarely write Ron so I'm glad you enjoyed him. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Tuesday 10th October 2006 15:55


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Rainbows and Butterflies
I loved this! It was sweet and funny and angsty all at the same time. The only thing I'd have to say is that Ron seemed a bit OOC, but he is, of course, 60 years old by now, so that's a bit expected I suppose. Anyway, you have a wonderfully unique writing style. There's something about this and the other fic of yours I read (sorry I didn't review that one, I was eager to go on to the next!) that sets them apart from most harry potter fanfiction, which is quite an achievement considering it's such a huge fandom and can get a bit predictable after a while, especially cannon ships. I really enjoyed this, it was refreshing and made me smile. I'm off to read more!
parakletos
Wednesday 11th October 2006 05:25
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
The only thing I'd have to say is that Ron seemed a bit OOC, but he is, of course, 60 years old by now, so that's a bit expected I suppose.

Now that made me laugh

There's something about this and the other fic of yours I read

There are a few ....

I really enjoyed this, it was refreshing and made me smile.

I still love it too. It was the first fic I had published here.
  Quote
swngnblues
Sunday 1st October 2006 17:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Rainbows and Butterflies
Cute story. I love how you still have Ron, at 60, trying to be his sister's minder. And of course that Harry can still be tongue-tied around Ginny. You did a fantastic job of setting the scene as well at the beginning - 40 years is a lot of time to cover and a lot of things changed. Be interesting to see a few "outtakes" of this - perhaps from Ginny's POV as she's getting married, or at her husband's funeral.
parakletos
Sunday 1st October 2006 20:21
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Be interesting to see a few "outtakes" of this - perhaps from Ginny's POV as she's getting married, or at her husband's funeral

Well if I did, then I couldn't post the first one here as H&G have to end up together in some way. The second is possible but I tend not to revisit fics once they're finished.

Thanks for reviewing. Are you enjoying the rest?
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 5th September 2006 08:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Rainbows and Butterflies
Cute story . . . but I'm a bit disappointed that Harry spent forty-odd years of his life without Ginny
parakletos
Tuesday 5th September 2006 08:49
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Ah but that was the challenge I was given.
  Quote
lorgbb
Wednesday 14th June 2006 08:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Rainbows and Butterflies
ron made me laugh quite a bit, turned out to be a grumpy old man hehe. really good story, warming
  Quote
bbnaz
Thursday 22nd December 2005 02:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Rainbows and Butterflies
Another lovely story.  Your writing style is so genuine and just carries the reader along.....I love it.
parakletos
Thursday 22nd December 2005 09:57
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Thank you for reviewing. It's nearly a years since I wrote it so it was nice to get a new review.
  Quote
itsme07863
Monday 16th May 2005 15:01


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Rainbows and Butterflies
i liked. i was soo sweet. i love your stories SO much. i hope you write more :D
parakletos
Monday 16th May 2005 19:10
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Thanks for the review.
  Quote
kaiserzacc
Friday 11th March 2005 17:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

Rainbows and Butterflies
That was wonderful...sad but wonderful. It was only sad that they waited so long. Nice.
parakletos
Friday 11th March 2005 19:54
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Yes it was sad that they waited, but that was why I picked the challenge. Still it did allow me to write a slightly different story and they got there in the end. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Robert Owen
Sunday 6th February 2005 18:29


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 129

Rainbows and Butterflies
And just as brilliant a piece as when I read it over at the Fic-a-fest.  Bravo!
parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:52
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Thanks for taking the trouble to review again.
  Quote
pepperdawg
Sunday 6th February 2005 18:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Rainbows and Butterflies
wow...no offense, but i'm trying not to visualize this... theres just something about old people going out and...well...gettin it on that makes me want to throw up! maybe it has something to do with me being just 13...but if i just visualize everyone about 40 years younger, i think this would be an excellent fic.   
parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:52
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
*laughs* my kids would agree with you 100%
  Quote
themis
Sunday 6th February 2005 17:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Rainbows and Butterflies

This is a very good story!

My favourite line is "And you're the first Minister for Magic since the post began to ever know what the wizard on the Clapham Knight Bus is thinking, eh?"

parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:50
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Its always a challenge to try and adapt Muggle phrases for the magical world, so I'm glad you liked it and understood it.
  Quote
Nundu
Sunday 6th February 2005 14:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Rainbows and Butterflies
Very nice!
parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:49
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Arnel
Sunday 6th February 2005 13:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 647

Rainbows and Butterflies
What a lovely story.  Having wittnessed the courtship of my own grandmother (who was in her late seventies at the time) almost thirty years ago, I appreciate the subtle romance you portray between Harry and Ginny in their "advanced" years.  I am very happy to know that you have forseen that Harry does indeed live to see his sixtieth birthday as do Ron, Hermione, Ginny and the host of other Weasleys and their offspring.  As Ginny says, life isn't all rainbows and butterflies, but it looks as if these two have both had very full lives so far and now find that it's time to come full circle and back into each other's arms.  I really have enjoyed reading this and look forward to more of your stories.
parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:49
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
I'm glad that the story rang true for you, your comments mean a lot. 
  Quote
Kelleypen
Sunday 6th February 2005 12:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Rainbows and Butterflies
This was sweet, but I hope they don't have to wait until they are 59 and 60 to consummate their love.  Well done.
parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:45
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)
I hope they don't have to wait that long either.
  Quote

Sunday 6th February 2005 11:26


Rainbows and Butterflies

As a narrative I thought that this was well done.  I think that you were able to get into harry's head and describe this possible future of his well.  The problem I have is when looking at this as a H/G story.  Unless this was to show that Harry will always be suffering and that life will constantly be out to get him, it just seems a little much.  He's in love with a woman for 40 years, never able to move on.  This woman who knows of his feelings and "loves him back" (ha!) makes him godfather to her children.  That's quite possibly the coldest thing I've heard for quite some time.  Now that her husband is dead she can finally turn to him, and of course he wants nothing more than to be with her.  That line of Ginny's, something along the lines of still having half of their lives to live together really just kills any sort of romance here for me.  So Ginny was able to live her life, have kids, and now that she is free she can finally deal with harry.  Does she have someone else waiting in the wings in case something happens to harry?  Someone else she's been stringing along all of these years, only to go to them once it’s convenient for her?  God she is just a terrible person.

So like I said, good story, full of harry angst and suffering.  If that is what you were going for than it was really well done.   But I just find it hard to believe that Harry would spend all of that time pining away for ginny, have her rub it in his face, and then just accept her once she's available.  It's just really sad.

parakletos
Sunday 6th February 2005 20:44
Rainbows and Butterflies (Author Response)

Thank you for the review. The story was written as a specific challenge which was:

31. Decades after Hogwarts, Harry finds himself somewhat alone. Ginny is a widow and a close friend, and after reflecting upon their past, he realizes it's time to make his move.

So if you have a problem with the basic premise then your argument is with the person who came up with the plot bunny and not with me. My only crime was to choose what I thought would be a difficult and interesting piece to write.

You've chosen to assign motives to Ginny that are just not there. I don’t think anyone else reading this would describe her as “just a terrible person.” The story is full of hints about their relationship during the forty years, if you care to read them.

If Ginny's guilty of anything, it’s staying married to her husband rather than dumping him for Harry. Is that being cold and heartless? To keep your promise “’til death part us?”

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004