Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For “Great Scott, Potter, This is War!” by Aaran St Vines

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
huskers
Monday 24th December 2007 17:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Yesh,

An entire chapter to set up the real fight. I love it. The back story on the Grangersis wonderful. Whatever did happen to Meg. Some people are so stupid. Freedom must be paid for with the blood of the enemy. And I'm sure her uncle, or cousin, or whoever it was was killing people too. I know, it is make believe. Separate from the story dear reader. Of course, that is the goal of the author, isn't it. To drage us in, make us love and hate certain characters. You are doing a great job of it. Thanks for a wonderful story.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Thursday 21st December 2006 23:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Both groups of Death Eaters stoped saying the curse because the Order showed up right. And I don't like Meg.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Tuesday 12th September 2006 14:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Not Completely Defenseless
So its not Meg but Syl . "Those aren't knives. This is a knife" -- Let me guess, you've been watching Crocodile Dundee . Very interesting chapter . . . good buildup.
  Quote
dalf
Saturday 26th August 2006 02:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

2: Not Completely Defenseless
The perspective this is written in is intresting. The standard for fiction now days seems to be the third person limited omnicient. This which I think is the unlimited version at times is harder to write, but makes for a diffrence in mood and feel that I like. There have been a few moments wher eI have lost track of where the action is happeneind and who is who, but I think this is caused by the rapid changes form diffrent flashbacks memories and diffrent peoples thoughts. All in all I think you are doing it well, but be carful, and try to avoid those sections where you are trying to concel the identy of the speaker/thinker if you are going to be switching a lot.

Good work,
Dalf
  Quote
Rocky235
Friday 14th October 2005 14:34


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 127

2: Not Completely Defenseless
I'm sorry that I can't help you improve your craft, but I'm enjoying your story.
  Quote
MrRobertsIII
Saturday 19th February 2005 20:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 117

2: Not Completely Defenseless

, "If you follow me for one more step I will pull out my mace and spray you." -Hey!  My recruiter told me that every girl loves a soldier.  

kitchen with shelved items arranged by category and further arranged by height.
-Even if he wasn't SAS, I wouldn't mess with him. 

, I have misled you and you have every right to be furious with me.
-That was a very sweet, soldierly, confession.

"They rang the door bell,"
-"Death-o-gram".  I really liked the knife fight in the alley and everything military in this fic.  All other fics have the Grangers as being somewhat wimpy.  Nice change to see some butt-kicking Muggles.

  Quote
Gridley
Tuesday 15th February 2005 03:44


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 160

2: Not Completely Defenseless

Scratch two DE's, I think. :-)

Nice cliffies, though.

  Quote
sonicdale
Monday 14th February 2005 06:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

2: Not Completely Defenseless
OOOOO. Nice.
I'm glad you didn't make the Granger parents Mary Janes. The fact that he got hurt shows that he's not some invincible superman. I hope you keep the action flowing as nice as this chapter.

I'm curious to the 'rearangements'. I hope you xpand on that.

Good job.
  Quote
Iris
Sunday 13th February 2005 07:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 88

2: Not Completely Defenseless
wonderful story...can't wait to see what the Death Eaters have coming

~Iris
  Quote
unople
Saturday 12th February 2005 18:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Wow. I love this story. Is this going to be a fill sixth-year fic?
  Quote
Dice
Saturday 12th February 2005 12:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Shame on the Death Eaters.  They brought wands to a gunand knife fight.  Silly boys, when wil they learn.
I guess no one told them the first rule of a Gun fight,

1. Bring a gun.

Hermione is about to be in for the second shock of her life (the first being her current situation).

Love the story so far.  No real nits to pick.  Well, maybe one.  If that metallic sound at the end is what i think it is, is that legal in the UK?
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:42
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
Ne-oX
Saturday 12th February 2005 04:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

2: Not Completely Defenseless
What a great story

I'm really looking forward to future chapters.

Simon
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:42
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Saturday 12th February 2005 02:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

2: Not Completely Defenseless
This was very, very nice.  I loved the Death Eaters ringing the doorbell.  What a wonderful little touch.  Your back story for the Grangers is lovely, and a very nice set-up for the rest of your story.  It thoroughly engages my interest, at least.  I'm very much looking forward to more. 
  Quote
Paula
Saturday 12th February 2005 01:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Wow!
That was amazing. I can't wait to read more of this goodness.

I loved the Grangers' story.
Please, udpate soon.
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:43
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
Robert Owen
Saturday 12th February 2005 00:56


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 129

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Shame on the Death Eaters.  They brought wands to a gunand knife fight.  Silly boys, when wil they learn.
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:43
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
dave gerecke
Saturday 12th February 2005 00:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Go, Go! Keep going! I like this story! dave
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:44
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
Kelleypen
Friday 11th February 2005 22:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

2: Not Completely Defenseless
I am really loving this whole tough Granger thing.  And the allusion to Crocodile Dundee was well placed.  Wonderful fic.
  Quote
anonymous5
Friday 11th February 2005 22:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

2: Not Completely Defenseless
congrats.  You just wrote the ABSOLUTE WORST CLIFFHANGER I have ever read.  

update soon, update often!  Excellent story so far, with the most unique premise I've seen in a really long time!
Aaran St Vines
Sunday 4th December 2005 06:44
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
Thank you for your review from so very long ago.

"The Granger Defense" here on PhoenixSong has been renamed "Great Scott, Potter, This is War!" and is now being continued through Harry's sixth year on this site. The next chapter after the Grangers defeated the Death Eaters has now been posted.

If you have read this elsewhere, the chapters starting with this one are being edited and rewritten in some parts.

I would be grateful to you if you consider continuing reading and reviewing.

Thanks again, and Cheers!
  Quote
huffboy36
Friday 11th February 2005 21:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Ooooh, brilliant work.  Suspenseful, romantic, edgy ... I'm on pins and needles here.  Don't stop.  
  Quote
B. Nonymous
Friday 11th February 2005 20:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

2: Not Completely Defenseless
Another good one!

One small nit... was mace avialable in 1977? I thought of mace as a 1980s invention.
Aaran St Vines
Saturday 12th February 2005 04:08
2: Not Completely Defenseless (Author Response)
You are correct. After a little research (after posting the story) I found that Mace Security Products dates back to the early '80s. Mr. Ollivander and I find that when you reach our age, some of the 'newer' memories fade. Now, ask us about the invention of the machine gun....
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004