Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Cracking the Shell by critmo

Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Friday 22nd August 2008 21:15


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Cracking the Shell
  Quote
majolie
Friday 4th January 2008 18:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Cracking the Shell
very good story - I look forward to reading more of your stuff.
  Quote
pyromain
Friday 24th August 2007 11:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Cracking the Shell
this is so good, but I do wonder will Harry get in trouble over Ginny's wandless magic, or will the know it was her and will she get in trouble?
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Monday 12th February 2007 08:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Cracking the Shell
That was great. And Petunia was talking about Lily wasn't she?? Ginny is right. They all need eachother to survive this war.
  Quote
ninkenate
Monday 5th February 2007 11:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Cracking the Shell
Wonderful addition to Not Enough. Seeing Ginny use wandless magic was priceless. That is one witch you don't mess with when she's on a mission.
critmo
Tuesday 6th February 2007 12:10
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
No, you don't. Back then, I felt that "Not Enough" could do with a little more background, and I was quite certain that Ginny would be more confident of her feelings and that they wouldn't just jump each other, but take some time.
  Quote
daniel_r_crazy22
Tuesday 16th May 2006 16:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Cracking the Shell
coolio i loved it
  Quote
green_eyez
Thursday 24th November 2005 16:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Cracking the Shell

this better not be a one-shot!!!

be sure to update sooon, please???? i would love to read more.

 

 

 

critmo
Monday 28th November 2005 01:52
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
It IS a one-shot. But fortunately it continues with Not Enough.
  Quote
amamama
Wednesday 10th August 2005 02:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Cracking the Shell
Oh, yes!  This is definitely one way it could've been done.  Loved the way Ginny handled the Dursleys.  What a wonderwoman she is.  Yes, I know, still a girl, but yet a woman.  Great!  And kudos to your beta for getting the punctuation...

Thanks!
critmo
Wednesday 10th August 2005 03:55
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
Well, thank you.
  Quote
levotatingT
Saturday 16th April 2005 14:06


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Cracking the Shell

That was AWSOME you seriously have to write more, I know I say it to a lot of people but this time I really really men it. PLease !!!!!!!!!  that is a really good lead you should really follow up.

levotatingT

  Quote
Jimmyb
Saturday 19th February 2005 07:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Cracking the Shell

I love the story, but wish you not said it was completed.

You are off to a great start with this story and keep writing.

And see were this story can go.

critmo
Monday 21st February 2005 00:17
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
"Not enough" - that's where it's going. Please, r/r.
  Quote
ohboehm
Friday 18th February 2005 19:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Cracking the Shell

I like this story very much:  it shows what loneliness and the mistaken idea that he must push all his friends away is liable to do to Harry, and it shows the real love and concern for Harry that Ginny holds in her heart. 

We do not learn to love by loving; we learn to love by being loved.  True, Sirius had displayed the love of a godfather for his godson, but this had been interfered with by Sirius' need to remain concealed from the Ministry, and was lost when Sirius fell through the arch.  (Even if Sirius is to return, he hasn't yet, and Harry is pining away quite quickly.)  What Ginny feels for him enables him to have worth enough to feel for her in return:  these first steps may lead to fulfillment, happiness, and success in their mission---for Harry and Ginny together seem to foreshadow a power greater by far than the sum of their individualities. 

Thank you again for your story!

  Quote
dolphingirl79
Friday 18th February 2005 09:51


Cracking the Shell
A really good story. and not mushy! yeah! I can't wait to read more stories from you!
  Quote
XiaoXiao
Thursday 17th February 2005 22:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Cracking the Shell
That was great.  I love how Ginny told him exactly why they're perfect for each other, without actually confessing the depth of her feelings.  
critmo
Friday 18th February 2005 00:50
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
Well, I wanted to make it clear that this is still an open end situation. There's obviously a possibility ("Not enough") in the background, but as Dumbledore tells the Weasleys, Ginny doesn't want to see Harry as more than a friend at that time. Remember that there's still a lot to be cleared up, like the Dean-thing for example. Harry, too, is certainly not in shape for a relationship. Both of them need to heel - and that's what they need each other for first of all.
  Quote
tante
Thursday 17th February 2005 18:15


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

Cracking the Shell

This looks to be great.  I can't wait for more.  I loved how Ginny put the Dursleys in their place.  Her description of the potential of her six brothers was wonderful. 

This is well written and engaging.  Looking forward to the next chapter.

 

  Quote
fanficaddict
Thursday 17th February 2005 17:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Cracking the Shell
nice. :)
  Quote
mary-v
Thursday 17th February 2005 15:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Cracking the Shell

Ohhhh! This was simply... amazing! I was practically bawling my eyes out during that beautifull part in Harry's room, and I nearly wet myself laughing when Ginny went to the Dursleys!  Well, I'm off to read the companion piece to this! Brilliant work!

~Maria~

  Quote
sunsethill
Thursday 17th February 2005 11:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Cracking the Shell

This was lovely.  Understated but very moving.  I hope you'll continue to explore how your Ginny and Harry relate after he gets to the Burrow.

 

 

critmo
Friday 18th February 2005 00:42
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
Please, look at "Not Enough" for more. I don't think there will be more than that.
  Quote
TigerLily8186
Thursday 17th February 2005 10:11


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 97

Cracking the Shell

I loved Petunia's comment,  "You're dead!"  Lily and Ginny comparisions are such fun.

I enjoyed reading this. Your Ginny is quite perceptive.

~Meagan

critmo
Friday 18th February 2005 00:39
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
I was in doubt if the reference was a little too cryptic, but didn't want to go into explaining either. Fortunately the experienced reader seems to know what to make of it.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Thursday 17th February 2005 07:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Cracking the Shell

This was wonderful!  I loved it.  I really loved the image of Ginny walking toward Harry as if he were a wounded animal.  Wonderful imagery.  I wanted to pop Dudley one when he scorned Harry's nightmares.  Ginny was great in this one shot.  I hope she really can help him heal.  I think what drew me in the most was her thoughts...the fact that she did know he was really suffering.

I get so frustrated with the number of fics that have her snapping at him that everyone misses Sirius, not just him.  It isn't the same coming from someone who is part of a family of nine, and I was so pleased to see a one shot that didn't do that.  Really, really good.

critmo
Thursday 17th February 2005 09:12
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
Thank you so much. It's probably more likely that Harry must see for himself that others are suffering as well. We know he doesn't react too well to pressure.
  Quote
DADAGinny
Thursday 17th February 2005 07:11


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Cracking the Shell
Loved the part where Petunia saw her and thought she was Lily.  That was great.  And the part about all of Ginny's brothers was great!


critmo
Thursday 17th February 2005 09:08
Cracking the Shell (Author Response)
Thank you. To be honest, I liked that part, too, but found it difficult to write, especially the charms Bill could use. I'm still not really satisfied with the latter part.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004