Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Caught in the Moments by dancinginvalids

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
remus_n_tonks
Tuesday 3rd October 2006 14:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Caught in the Moments
  Quote
remus_n_tonks
Tuesday 3rd October 2006 14:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Caught in the Moments
oh yeah, and EW, BLOOD!
  Quote
remus_n_tonks
Tuesday 3rd October 2006 14:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Caught in the Moments
Aww, how sweet, Remmy's buddies came to see him! uh, what, no Remus smileys? RiP OFF! just pretend this one's Remus, okay? *stalks off with an exhasperated sigh*
  Quote
Teva
Thursday 20th July 2006 03:34


1: Caught in the Moments
Beautiful and touching. Your portrayal of his child self is really good, how he doesn't understand what the blood and cuts mean. And how his parents can't seem to look at him or touch him the same way.
  Quote
cckeimig
Saturday 10th June 2006 21:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

1: Caught in the Moments
Wow. I can see why this made Story of the Week. Such a difficult reflection for Remus, and you did it so beautifully.
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 9th June 2006 03:20


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1: Caught in the Moments
That was simply beautiful. I'm not usually one for first person narrative, but that was really good. The scene at the beginning was like a picture; I could see everything in my mind: the light, the snow, Remus all alone.

The backflash to his childhood was very well written, as well. The way the parents talked about him as if he wasn't there was terrible, but also terribly believable. It reminded me of Kafka. Only this was a lot more enjoyable to read.

And thanks for the small smile that Remus friends gave back to me in the end.
  Quote
occlumens
Thursday 8th June 2006 14:23


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

1: Caught in the Moments
Beautiful. Poor Moony.
  Quote
Mullvaney
Wednesday 7th June 2006 19:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

1: Caught in the Moments
Well done. I liked your imagery, your description of a humid, snowy night with the sourceless, diffuese light was great. Although I don't agree with you that Remus' parents were so callous about his condition, you wrote that scene very well.
Great job!
  Quote
EmeraldPrincess
Tuesday 6th June 2006 19:39


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

1: Caught in the Moments
Good job! I like how you made Remus, is character is so.. so... luring
  Quote
Connor Landon
Tuesday 6th June 2006 10:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 188

1: Caught in the Moments
Wow. That's really sad, but VERY well-written. His parents' reaction was terrible. So incredibly shallow of them, and my heart really went out to Remus. Very nice job with this story! It certainly deserves to be the story of the week. Well done! 10/10
  Quote
Cera
Sunday 27th February 2005 08:11


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 64

1: Caught in the Moments

This is such a wonderul piece.  Heartbreaking for the most part, yet uplifting at the end.  We see a side of Remus that he wouldn't normally show anyone, and it made me want to give him a big hug!

Your use of the moon as a She was brilliant.  I think that's how Remus would indeed feel about it.  Hating it, yet being pulled to it every month.

The end, with the rest of the boys, was sweet.  It gave me hope that Remus would have more happiness in his life.  We know that things will change, but at least for the moment, he'll have friends who care.

Again, great fic!

dancinginvalids
Monday 28th February 2005 06:45
1: Caught in the Moments (Author Response)

The moon! It's so beautiful, yet tortures him so... I think he has some measure of respectful fear of it. I--won't go into it now? Haha. I tend to get rambly and excited about Remus-talk.

But thanks, so much, for the review! Will soon write a fic complete with his happiness... he deserves more of it.

  Quote
Antonia East
Sunday 27th February 2005 07:53


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

1: Caught in the Moments
Gulp.  Lovely, wonderful Remus, cruel, folorn memories and a sweet-sad ending.  Well done.
dancinginvalids
Monday 28th February 2005 06:43
1: Caught in the Moments (Author Response)
Cheers! Being a werewolf, you wouldn't expect it all to be happy-go-lucky, but then he needs the other balance... And thus come The Marauders.
  Quote
Katieay
Friday 25th February 2005 06:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

1: Caught in the Moments

This was beautiful. Your imagery is amazing and heartbreaking and Remus' parents were incredibly well written. It had never occurred to me that they isolated him after he was bitten, but the way you've written explains the isolation he feels throughout PoA all the more understandable. I really, really enjoyed the way you wrote this story. And I especially liked the end dialogue

"How long have you three been there?"

"Long enough to see that you put too much thought into the weather," a voice answers from the corner, a lopsided grin splayed across his face."

Very typical of their friendship. With Scabbers there instead of Peter and James standing silently by and letting Sirius do the talking. I would pick some descriptions out for you that I liked, but that would be like copying your whole story into one review.

I felt like I was there with Remus, and I loved this insight into his character. Extremely compelling and well done!

Katie

dancinginvalids
Monday 28th February 2005 06:42
1: Caught in the Moments (Author Response)

Thank-you. Definitely... I really wish we could get more insight into his character in books. More of what his history was rather than just the hints at it; that way we could have a better scope of it.

Until then, I'll just get my kicks by writing about him.

Thanks! Scabbers... Peter definitely deserves more credit despite being a traitor. Random comment.

  Quote
mary-v
Thursday 24th February 2005 14:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

1: Caught in the Moments

Woah. That was really good. My heart clenched painfully when I read the bit with Remus' parents... I just couldn;t believe they could be so cruel. A part of me  can't understand their horrible reaction... I always imgained his parents as supportive- it was a default reaction when I read PoAzkaban, but after having read this, it makes me see that Remus feels alone for other reasons than being a werewolf (or maybe even because his parents passed on). Well, this was amazing! I hope to read more from you soon!

~Maria~

dancinginvalids
Monday 28th February 2005 06:40
1: Caught in the Moments (Author Response)

Thank-you! So much. My first review. (Hmmm. Yes, I'm caught up with that... who doesn't like a bit of an ego boost when they sign into their email early in the morning?)

Yes... My view of Remus' parents has changed a lot. Originally I've had them as outright cruel, but now I think it's an initial pain-shock to what he is... Supportive but how much could they have dealt with it perfectly well?

*laughs* I could talk about this for hours.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004