Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Few Lies by Pirate Ginny

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
gymnastgal19
Sunday 11th November 2007 11:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
wow!!! This is very interesting!!!
Good Job so far!

  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 13th November 2005 09:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
Nice job. I really like Ginny's strong character. Yay! I can't wait for some Ginny and Harry interaction!
Pirate Ginny
Tuesday 3rd January 2006 14:20
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
:)  She's fun in this section, isn't she?  Ah, Cho...
  Quote
brad
Tuesday 24th May 2005 20:32


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
Excellent story!  You're a very good writer, and I like your 'feisty Ginny' ... good humour with her 'snogging countdown' in chapter one, and her 'emergency chocolate' here.  Very well written, very enjoyable.

I started reading fan fiction about 11 months ago, starting with The Sugar Quill, and I was amazed at how clever authors could be, with Arabella's "Hermione Queen of Witches" diary series, and other stories that filled in 'missing moments' from canon, or rewrote canon from other viewpoints.  I haven't come across that sort of cleverness for a while now, so I'm particularly enjoying your interpretation of Ginny's take on things.

Great stuff, thank you for writing this for us!  Brad.
Pirate Ginny
Tuesday 24th May 2005 22:50
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
Wow.  Well, thank you very much, Brad.  :)  I'm pleased that you enjoyed my interpretation--and especially pleased that you found it clever!  I wrote these (and "After the Library") because I hadn't seen something that pulled together some of the themes that I saw (the Cho/Ginny rivalry, for instance)...  Hm.  Oh, and because I really, really like reinterpreting things. :P

Thanks!  So glad that you enjoyed reading it, and thanks for the thoughtful review.  :)
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Tuesday 24th May 2005 16:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
Still pretty good.  Interesting take on the Ginny vs. Cho rivalry.
Pirate Ginny
Tuesday 24th May 2005 22:35
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
:)  Thanks.
  Quote
hewithnoname
Monday 9th May 2005 14:02


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 73

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself

Hi there. Just read your wonderfull fic. Will there be more? I hope so. Hope the baby isn't keeping you awake. Keep on writing, your very good at it. All the best. He

Pirate Ginny
Monday 9th May 2005 15:36
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)

Ah, yes.  At long last, there is more.  The final chapter is currently with my beta.  :P

The baby lets me sleep: it's the letting-me-work part that's unpredictable.  Thanks, He.  :)

  Quote
Mandy C
Sunday 20th March 2005 17:36


Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself

This was very good. I like your take on Ginny's thoughts, emotions and actions over the course of OotP. They sounded plausible and very in character with the direction Rowling seems to be taking the youngest Weasley. Hermione also was spot on. She was insecure and just girly enough to be believable, but not OOC.

I liked very much that you omitted the scenes that might be taken directly from the book and only wrote the important or pivotal parts of Ginny's story. That way the reader doesn't get bogged down with storyline they most likely know forward and backward anyhow.

Will there be another chapter? It seems more like the end of the chapter than the end of the the story, but in some ways that is a fitting impression to leave with the reader. The romantic in me that feels for the lost soul or unrequited lover would love to see a continuation. The logician doesn't really need one. Either way my finest compliments to you and well wishes for future projects.

Pirate Ginny
Wednesday 23rd March 2005 14:11
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
Mandy,
Thanks for the detailed review. :)  Originally, I didn't intend to omit the scenes from the book, but I found myself more interested in exploring possible motivators for Ginny's behavior.  There are so many scenes I left out...some of them I wrote, but they didn't fit with the over-all theme of Ginny/Cho and Ginny/denial.  Like you said, most of us know the story backward and forward now...no need to add filler.

I've begun work on the third part in my copious (*snort*) spare time, but it's slow going.  Because I wrote the other two sections without using scenes in the book, I'm trying to find a way to do this here.  So, I'm trolling the pages at the moment with just a few bits written.  Nothing like a little fun sleuth work.

  Quote
Aibhinn
Friday 18th March 2005 14:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 46

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
I. Adore. This. Fic.  I love the way you've painted Ginny--you've kept her completely in character, and yet she's as thoroughly a fourteen-year-old girl in this as Harry is a fifteen-year-old boy in OotP.  Marvelous.  Glorious.  Wonderful.  I'll be coming back to this one, I can promise you.  
Pirate Ginny
Friday 18th March 2005 20:04
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
Thank you.  :)  She is fourteen, isn't she?--complete with the social masks and the energy I'll never get back.    Whoof.
So glad that you enjoyed it.
  Quote
XiaoXiao
Sunday 13th March 2005 20:49


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
Oooh, I liked that.  A lot.  I especially enjoyed peeking into Ginny's brain before and after the infamous Chocolate in the Library scene.
Pirate Ginny
Friday 18th March 2005 22:29
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
I thought I responded to this already (must've been interrupted by the Kid).  Hey, thanks for reviewing again. 
I wanted to write Ginny's perspecive in that library scene...but then I found that it was more fun to write around it...
  Quote
Sassenach
Thursday 10th March 2005 13:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself

Great Chapter. I like the progression of things and how it fits into the books. You've got it down packed. This is definitely my favorite line!

"Cramps," she lied. Heart cramps? Are there such things?

I absolutely love your Ginny! Can't wait for the update!

Pirate Ginny
Thursday 10th March 2005 20:18
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
Thank you so much.  :)  My favorite part about writing this was making sense out of the varied events of ootp.  And, of course, Ginny is a fun character to work with.  
  Quote
DADAGinny
Thursday 10th March 2005 06:53


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself
Very nice realization she had -- she really thought she was over him.

I can't wait for more! 


Pirate Ginny
Thursday 10th March 2005 19:41
Coming to a Personal Understanding Wherein Ginny Discovers That She has Lied to Herself (Author Response)
Thank you.  
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004