Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Lee Jordan: Tour Guide by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Danikay
Sunday 29th March 2009 10:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

1: Worlds Collide
Aww, once again, the loves don't know they love ^_^ That didn't make much sense, but meh. Haha.
Awesome start! I miss the Fred/George/Lee stuff. I hated JKR for the longest time for chopping off George's ear, then she goes and kills off Fred! I mean, what the hell?!
Haha, rant done ^_^
DaniKay
St Margarets
Sunday 29th March 2009 16:20
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Oh, you started Lee Jordan: Tour Guide! I was so upset about George's ear, but by the end when Fred died, I just decided I'd live in denial about him. As you will probably be able to tell, I love the twins and they live on somewhere in fandom. *nods*

I must warn you this story is really long - like out-of-hand long. But I had to invent all sorts of characters because, unlike Harry, Lee knows everyone. I'll respond to more of your reviews tomorrow (and on Magic Within, Magic Without. Thank You!)

And yes, Holly and Lee do quite the slow burn before they figure it out.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 6th September 2007 09:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Worlds Collide
It's amazing- I read this story ages ago, and this first chapter was still so familiar to me! Great read all over again.
St Margarets
Thursday 6th September 2007 11:57
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Ages ago is right! It's "two books old"
  Quote
rowena
Saturday 6th January 2007 18:36


1: Worlds Collide
It's the second time I read this fic, it's definetly among my top 5 ever (that means fics from other sites). I think the way you developed this story and the whole universe you created is just amazing. I love Lee Jordan, the twins and all the other characters you created/added dept and a background.
St Margarets
Sunday 7th January 2007 04:02
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Oh, you made my day! I'm so glad the story is still good after a second reading and that it's still enjoyable after HBP. Lee is an awesome character. Did you see the little sequel I wrote for the anniversary challenge? I introduced Lee and Holly's son, Jack in that one. It was fun to revisit them again.
  Quote

Wednesday 29th November 2006 21:13


1: Worlds Collide
indeed goood =)[url=http://gooogle.com/]gooogle[/url]
  Quote
Silvestria
Monday 27th February 2006 15:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1: Worlds Collide
You know, the first part of this chapter really reminded me of the bantering about Rosaline between Romeo, Mercutio and Benvolio in Romeo and Juliet. Were you intending this? Another great story! I love the new characters. Not OCs, but fleshed out minor characters. It's a great idea!
St Margarets
Monday 27th February 2006 15:10
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Squee! Someone caught that allusion! That's exactly what I was thinking of when I wrote it - although Amy isn't going to be a nun. LOL. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Delani
Friday 8th April 2005 16:57


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

1: Worlds Collide

Thank you thank you thank you THANK YOU! You addressed the one issue that has ALWAYs bothered me about the wizarding world: waste!  I've always wondered what happens to it and why is there such accumulating waste in the world if wizards can just transfigure it into trees?  Aww, yes, thank you! I know that is obviously not the point of ths tory, but I love you even more for covering that topic.  Not to mention you did it without being awkward.  Yay. *looking for a cloud nine smiley* Well, this'll have to suffice... wait,  Yay, I found it!

 

Del

  Quote
sonicdale
Thursday 7th April 2005 09:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

1: Worlds Collide
Wow! Nice. I like seeing the other HP characters branch out on their own, and Lee was a good idea.

I'm hoping that the goddess snubs him, he falls for Holly and all is well with the world. But then I'm not sure about this story yet, so maybe we'll go for a bit of a ride first?

Good work.
St Margarets
Thursday 7th April 2005 09:30
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Well it's a bit of a fall first.  As you'll see in the next chapter.  I'm so glad you're reading this - I wasn't sure if the H/G crowd would like to read about someone else.
  Quote
mary-v
Wednesday 6th April 2005 08:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

1: Worlds Collide

Ohhhhh! I definitely LOVE where this is going! I love stories about Fred, George and Lee after Hogwarts - grown up, and mature. *snort* Okay, maybe not mature, but hey. That's why we love 'em!

I absolutely love Holly- you did a great job with her- she's very well characterised, and she fits in perfectly with the Harry Potter realm. Although we've hardly read anything about Alicia- I don;t like her. Something's off. lol I guess it's the fact that she won't like the twins. Or that she only goes to The Other Club.

And the scenes in the art museum! HA! I loved the way Fred and George *ahem* modified everything. lol

Well, I can;t wait for you to update!

~Maria~

Well, I'm looking forward to future chapters.  

St Margarets
Wednesday 6th April 2005 18:13
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Oh thanks for reading Maria!  I'm so glad you're giving Lee a chance.  You won't like Amy in the next chapter either! - And it's up already, btw.  Sherry is fast! Like I said, I have alot of this written already.
  Quote
Pirate Ginny
Tuesday 5th April 2005 16:23


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

1: Worlds Collide

Oh, I love Holly, and I love this piece. 

An excellent opening chapter (as usual!).  I knew that I would love your Lee, and I do.  :)  You do such an excellent job of showing what's going on beneath his surface, even beneath what Lee knows...  You do a good job also of keeping Lee distinct from the twins.  (I can't wait to see if he still has his Hagrid-esque obsession with peculiar animals, and what that looks like now)

Looking forward to the next chapter

Jenn

St Margarets
Wednesday 6th April 2005 03:38
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
I'm so glad you are reading!  Yes - Lee and the Nifflers.  He is a Londoner, where space is limited, so the Magical creatures he comes in contact with aren't as interesting as Hagrid would like.   Thank you for your review and I hope you keep reading.
  Quote
josie c
Monday 4th April 2005 14:15


1: Worlds Collide

  Have I told you enough times how much I look forward to your works? Anyway, great one as usual!!! Look forward to more.

Jo

St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 15:15
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Thanks - I'm glad you're reading even though it isn't H/G!  I appreciate your review.
  Quote
Penny Lane
Monday 4th April 2005 09:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

1: Worlds Collide

Wow, I'm amazed by the detail you've put into this chapter.  You have such a vivid imagination!  Lee's father's job sounds really interesting... which seems like a very strange thing to say about Waste, er, I mean Vanishing Management, but there you are.   

The Aphrodite bit was hilarious -- a very Fred & George-ish thing to do.  And of course I loved that you slipped in the reference to H/G. 

I love how you're writing Lee; he's very endearing.  And yay, he liked History of Magic!  That would probably be one of my favorite classes (yes, I'm very strange that way), so I enjoyed that little detail.

I look forward to the next chapter. 

St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 15:13
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

It's uncanny the details you always pick out.  It's like we share a brain or something.  I won't tell you which detail is important - but remember this review.  BTW - I could use some more of that brain power - I wrote a detailed grocery list and forgot the list itself when I went to the store today.  Sigh.

Love the cheerleader - I need that kind of energy!  Thanks for the review.  It means a lot!

  Quote
Hank
Monday 4th April 2005 09:16


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

1: Worlds Collide
Another delightful story!!!!  You've definitely got Fred and George down and I like the direction in which you've developed Lee Jordan's character - he fits in seamlessly with the twins, yet he's his own man.  Very nicely done.  I like Holly, too.  She sort of reminds me of Hermione, but she's got more patience with the twins - or is that long-suffering?  I also loved the bits about the twins in the art museum.  Very in-character.  You're off to a wonderful start.  More please!!!!!!!
St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 15:09
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it.  How Lee fits in with the twins was one of things I really had to think long and hard about.  There is a lot more to Holly, of course.  I think "long suffering" is probably how she dealt with the twins - but I also think F&G's peers would have an affection for them that Hermione wouldn't have.
  Quote
wokka42
Sunday 3rd April 2005 22:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

1: Worlds Collide

What a wonderful beginning, St. Margarets!  You write with such a sense of fun - I love the teasing, cheerful, honest banter of three best mates who are totally comfortable with each other - and it also feels so much like the way Fred and George would go about their day with Lee.  The interactions with Lee and the twins also do a great job introducing us to Lee as a character - his varied affairs with the Beauxbatons girls is a riot, and immediately says something about Lee as a Hogwarts ladies' man. 

I think what I like most about this opening, though, is the way you drop us right into the story without too much setup, and only clue us in just enough to get us into the flow of teh story without burdening us with too many details - the subtle hints about Amy's haughty character, Lee's close relationship with his father, the trouble brewing on the job, and his more-than-meets-the-eye friendship with Holly (am I sensing just a little bit of Ginny in her?).  The art of leaving enough unsaid is difficult - but you achieve that balance here.  Very nicely done!

You've also applied your keen insight into human nature already in this chapter.  I love your image of Lee's "worlds" colliding - it really is funny how we have a tendency to parcel our friendships and relationships into groups and circles, and there's always a sense of discombobulation and tension when those circles unexpectedly intersect -as they do for Lee in this chapter.  Nice job capturing that.

And of course, the imagination and careful attention to detail.  I love art - especially of Cubism and a lot of modern art - and I enjoyed immensely the idea of a magical museum and magical abstract paintings!  And the idea of moving statues of the Muses is simply inspired (ha!).

All in all, this is a wonderful opening chapter!  Polished, too - I can tell you must have spent a long time putting this together, because I can't seem to find any seams anywhere, thematic or grammatical or otherwise.  Looking forward to what comes next!

St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 06:30
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

Yes, but Lee is no Roger Davies! He just likes the girls - and he's never really given it much thought - until the events in this story, of course. I'm glad to hear that the art part wasn't boring. I kept thinking - who is going to find this interesting besides me? 

The Gervase painting is modeled after Picasso's Guernica.  (Hitler's bombing of Guernica, Spain)  I did a lot of research on that one.  There are some wonderful theories about that painting using alchemic symbolism and elements of Wagner's Parcival (Hitler's favorite opera).  

Sigh - that was for one chapter!  No wonder this has taken me so long to get posted!  

 

  Quote
meb_au04
Sunday 3rd April 2005 20:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

1: Worlds Collide
I really like the start of this, and look forward to reading more.

Margaret
St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 06:17
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Thanks!  I think the updates will come fairly quickly.  I have a lot written already. 
  Quote
belita
Sunday 3rd April 2005 20:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

1: Worlds Collide

I'm so excited that you have a new story in the works! I adore this one already. I love the idea of the art museum - so inventive.

I can't wait to read more about Lee!

St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 06:16
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Thanks belita, I hope you'll stay with me!  I've grown quite fond of these characters and there are lots of places in the magical world for Lee and friends to go.  That's been fun to imagine.  Thanks again for your review. It's appreciated!
  Quote
wvchemteach
Sunday 3rd April 2005 19:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 168

1: Worlds Collide

You weave magic when you write. I am utterly amazed.

I loved the brief mention of  and  . That satisfies all of us 'rabid' fans. Just curious...is this story set in it's own universe...or is it set in Magic Within, Magic Without or Wallpaper world? Would make for a nice 'connection' for the readers...make it feel like it is indirectly a continuation of one of those stories.

 

I like the characterization of Lee as the Hogwarts ladies man that doesn't seem to find true love. Of course what story is complete without Gred and Forge...wonderfully done. Seems this story is going to be a perfect blend of humor, fluff, and romance. Lovely begining.

St Margarets
Monday 4th April 2005 06:14
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

Thanks Dennis!  This is a continuation of the Magic Within universe.  In the next chapter I give a few more details about what's happing in the magical world in general. 

I'm glad the beginning held your interest - there's so much more set up with minor characters - since I have to convey their back story somehow. It's been a real learning experience, believe me!

  Quote
Thunder's Shadow
Sunday 3rd April 2005 13:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

1: Worlds Collide

*Wonderful* start to what seems like a terrific story. I rather like this Holly character, I hope she and Lee get together towards the end.


I think Fred and George have a good character judgement, and I already have a feeling that I won't like this Anne.. and that was only helped by the little informative sentence that she only goes to "The Other Club."


I liked the sentence saying that Harry and Ginny are together.. It was a nice slip-in, it was.


Fred and George crack me up, and the slight innuendo is absolutely hilarious. The aphrodite and "The Talk" paintings were the highlight of the chapter for me, and I applaud Holly for explaining it with a staright face.. especially with having to explain it to randy teenage boys.

Again, great job on this chapter, and I hope to read more soon!
signed,
Samantha

St Margarets
Sunday 3rd April 2005 15:28
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

I couldn't resist with H/G.  I'm glad you like Holly since you'll see her again.  She's pretty special, I think. 

Fred and George are such fun and you'll see a lot of them as well.  I don't know what we're going to do without them in the HBP - although I don't think JKR is going to let them go quietly off into the sunset!

Thanks for your your review - it's very encouraging.

  Quote
amamama
Sunday 3rd April 2005 13:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

1: Worlds Collide
Ahhhh, Mary...  What a start.   Poor Lee, his worlds have indeed collided.  I look very much forward to seeing what else your brilliant mind comes up with.  Seems like we might get your interpretation of how Dumbledore got his famous map-scar??  And of course, as always with your stories, I am playing the sleuth to see what symbolism there is to find - and try no to overdo it at the same time, sometimes a sigar is just a sigar.   But I enjoy myself immensely - and I am forever grateful that you enrich my life with these wonderful stories.  Keep writing!

Much love, Amamama/Berte
St Margarets
Sunday 3rd April 2005 15:25
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

Thanks - that such a nice thing to hear!  I feel enriched writing these stories, so it is icing on the cake when someone else enjoys what I'm trying to express. 

I have been fascinated with that scar since book one, so you may hear a thing or two. 

  Quote
tante
Sunday 3rd April 2005 13:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

1: Worlds Collide

St Margaret, I'd read anything with your name on it.  This one promises to be no less excellent than your other work. 

I love the idea of a magical art museum.  How fun to have the statues interact with you.  There was a statue in my favorite study corner at University - full of emotion and looked just like he was about to faint in agony.  Excellent work.  I could see that piece in your museum.

The dialog is great - not over the top lewd, but bawdy enough to capture personality nicely.  This is fun.  I'm excited to see below that you're several chapters along already. 

St Margarets
Sunday 3rd April 2005 15:21
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)

Aw, thanks. I'm glad it didn't disappoint.  The statue is the magical equivalent of Rodin's The Kiss, which is in the Tate Gallery in London.  The story behind it is the same one Holly told.

There is a lot of fun in this fic. - how can they not have fun being young and independent in Magical London?

  Quote
Kelleypen
Sunday 3rd April 2005 08:51


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

1: Worlds Collide
So Lee gets to compare physical love with the real deal.   Nice set up.  I liked Holly's commentary on the paintings--and Fred and George would SO put pasties on the nudes!   grin :) Great beginning.
St Margarets
Sunday 3rd April 2005 11:56
1: Worlds Collide (Author Response)
Bless you for reading!  Yes - I think Lee will learn a few lessons by the time I'm finished with him. Fred and George are truly fun to hang out with - even in an art gallery!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004