Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Open Windows by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
majolie
Tuesday 18th December 2007 18:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Open Windows
I really liked this. You have to assume Ron and Ginny would be somewhat close despite all the fighting, but we don't get to see much of that in canon. Very nice.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 10:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Open Windows
huh interesting.... lol

  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 12:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Open Windows
lol Ron is awesome. hehe good story. Short, but sweet.
  Quote
wokka42
Saturday 16th April 2005 22:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

Open Windows
What a lovely little one-shot!  You conjure some nice images in this fic - Ginny sitting serenely on the window ledge, Ron guarding his little sister at night.  We don't get many Ron-Ginny moments, and I find this one just a little heart-catching - you don't try to make it angsty, but there's a veil of faint melancholy that's draped over this fic that I like.  Nice job!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 21st April 2005 13:24
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! You're quite right that we don't often get to see Ron and Ginny interacting with each other in fanfic -- Hermione and Harry keep getting in the way -- which is a shame, because there's a lot of good writing material there. I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Wednesday 13th April 2005 18:33


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

Open Windows
Interesting perspectives.  Could work....  Well-written.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 20:40
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
levotatingT
Wednesday 13th April 2005 14:12


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Open Windows

That was cute but I think I missed something, like why any of this was happening.  Maybe you should write some more to explain and let  &  have some contact in the story possibly even get together,

levotatingT

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 20:39
Open Windows (Author Response)
One could easily ask why any fic is happening. Sometimes it's fun to ignore the why and just enjoy what's there. And sometimes it's nice to explore who Harry and/or Ginny are apart from each other, without any snogging getting in the way. 
  Quote
dophingirl79
Tuesday 12th April 2005 09:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 196

Open Windows
short but sweet.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:24
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 12th April 2005 01:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Open Windows
Well done, nice idea, but I hate open ends. Could you ...? Well, just a thought.
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:59
Open Windows (Author Response)
LOL. Alas, I'm quite the opposite -- I hate neatly-wrapped-up endings with no loose threads hanging. Open ends let the reader decide for themselves what happens next. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
brad
Tuesday 12th April 2005 00:45


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Open Windows
Nice!  Ginny's asking not to be nominated was a surprise ending, highlighting how she's in charge of her destiny and not the other way around, as I feared while reading the bulk of the story.

MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:57
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! Ginny's proven herself on several occasions to be firmly in charge of her destiny -- I imagine that's one of the biggest lessons she took away from her ordeal with Tom Riddle, not to let anyone push her down a certain path.

Thanks for your review!

  Quote
Arnel
Monday 11th April 2005 22:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Open Windows

I love "missing moments" stories like this one.  You've done a marvelous job with capturing this five to seven minutes between brother and sister: I could easily picture the action, feel their emotions and see the scene in my head.  I hope this interaction strengthens their relationship a little...it's seemed a bit strained in canon of late and maybe a few more conversations like this will bring back the closeness Ron and Ginny seem to have lost.  BTW, Ron's midnight vigils after the Chamber was a brilliant idea...very poignant.

This is a story I will be coming back to often. 

MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:55
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I'm always so pleased to find out when I've captured a moment well enough a reader feels s/he is there with the characters. That's what I strive for in all my writing, and it's a real honor to learn I succeeded. I hope we can see more interaction between Ron and Ginny in the next two books -- as the two youngest, and the two closest to Harry, it seems natural they would be close.

Thanks for your review!

  Quote
XiaoXiao
Monday 11th April 2005 22:46


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Open Windows
Very interesting...I liked it, and would love to know more about this story!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:52
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! Alas, this is all there is.  However, I think you'll probably see more like this in Seo Gerecednis, because I've gotten quite fond of writing Ron-Ginny interaction. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Reenie
Monday 11th April 2005 22:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

Open Windows
It's nice to see a "family" story that is not gooey or overly stilted.  It's wonderful thank you for sharing with us. 
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:50
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm not particularly fond of goo myself, so I'm glad to know this hit the right mark with you. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Rutzy
Monday 11th April 2005 19:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

Open Windows
fantastic take on the intricate sibling relationship between Ron & Ginny! pls. keep writing delightful stand-alones and/or novel length wonderful H&G fanfics :) best from NYC, Rutzy
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:49
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! I love writing stand-alones like this because they're a nice break from my more labor-intensive projects and give me the opportunity to explore things from a different angle. Glad you liked this. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
p0tterfan
Monday 11th April 2005 17:40


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

Open Windows
Nice one ... that's one thing you miss in canon - no interaction is seen between any of the other characters so you never know about those relationships.

So keep up the good work!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 12th April 2005 04:48
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you... and I will do my best!
  Quote
Bart
Monday 11th April 2005 15:14


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 83

Open Windows
He stood in the doorway to study her in this rare unguarded moment. She sat on her window ledge, one leg swinging freely outside, the other pulled up to her lotus-style. A breeze ruffled her hair against her cheek. Everything about her posture told him she was relaxed and at ease with herself. Few in their family ever saw her like this, fewer still those who didn't bear the name Weasley. He was tempted to fetch Harry and bring him back here, to point at this portrait of contentment and say, "How can you not see ?"

What a wonderful opening a perfect start to the little insight of Ron and Ginny you've provided, and just a wonderful image.

"Are you kidding? Did I ever show you the Howler Mum sent me when I took over Harry's Seeker spot?" She gave a short laugh. "I don't know which bothered her more: that I was playing Quidditch at all, or that I'd claimed her precious Harry's position for myself."

Had to laugh at that, typical Molly reaction!

"You and Harry are the two strongest people I know. If you're not up to it, no one is."

And this has to be my favourite line, it's just a perfect capture of Ron's insight and the high opinion he holds his family and friends in.

"Being a girl hardly makes me special, Ron."

"It's not just 'cause you're a girl." He chuckled. "Though I suppose it helps where Harry's concerned." He grinned at the wry look she gave him.

Nice one Ron!

The gentle interation beteen the two of them is great and just how I imagine them being when the rest of the family isn't around. I've always liked Ron as a character, and this fic is a great capture of his character.

MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 16:16
Open Windows (Author Response)
Wow, what a review! Readers like you make it all worthwhile. 

I wrote this story after challenging my LJ flist to give me one-shot H/G scenarios, and when someone suggested I write a fic where Ron makes prefect but Ginny doesn't, that opening paragraph immediately came to mind (in visual form, that is -- I still had to find a way to put it into words). But with that image in place, everything just came together so naturally. I don't think I've ever written anything so quickly before. Ron is such a great character to write, I don't know why I don't do it more (*makes mental note to write more Ron*).

I'm really pleased to hear you liked this so much. Thanks for the wonderful review!

  Quote
Jenadamson
Monday 11th April 2005 15:14


Open Windows

Well, I know I've already gushed over this story, but I was rereading it (for, I dunno, the fifth time) and the last sentence struck me:  "We'll be outside when you're ready to join in."

It seems almost prophetic, like Ginny'll be ready to join soon - join the whole crazy mess that is Harry's life.  I, like Ron, will be ready.  I'm sure most of us will be.

:)

 

P.S. Have I mentioned I love this story?

 

MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 16:12
Open Windows (Author Response)

Have I mentioned I love this story?

Have I mentioned that I love you? I hope Ginny will be ready to join them soon, and I know Ron does too. Question is, is JKR ready?

 


  Quote
Delani
Monday 11th April 2005 14:47


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Open Windows

Good work.  Insightful little bit you've got here that I genuinely enjoyed.  I can't wait for HBP to see more development of character between Ron and Ginny, now that she's in the scene more.

 

Delani

MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 16:08
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! I do hope to see more interaction between Ron and Ginny in the next book, especially as they both mature. I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Penny Lane
Monday 11th April 2005 14:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

Open Windows

*applauds*

I have four older brothers, so I know firsthand that "protective" does not automatically mean "overbearing and controlling", as so many seem to think it does.  Thank you for showing that however nosy and, um, pushy Ron may be when it comes to his sister's life, it comes from a really good place.  *hugs Ron*

Oh, and yay for Ginny questioning whether Harry is right for her !  That's an issue that's just not addressed often enough in fanfic.

MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 16:07
Open Windows (Author Response)
*bows*

Ron is a big softie at heart, which I think is easy to overlook in favor of his wanting to pound Draco or rile Hermione, but he clearly loves Ginny (and Harry) very much and only wants the best for them both. I love Ron, have I said that lately? 
I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Monday 11th April 2005 13:49


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Open Windows

Very nice work.  I enjoyed seeing a story from Ron's POV, and the interaction between he and Ginny was well done.  Too seldom does any one try to sketch a quiet scene between them, without teasing or brother-sister bickering.  It was a very pleasant read; it acknowledged past issues between Ginny and Harry without dwelling on them, and left the future nicely ambiguous.  Thanks for sharing!

MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 16:02
Open Windows (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm fascinated by the dynamic between Ron and Ginny, both as siblings and as people who care about Harry. Character sketches like these are one of my favorite fic-writing exercises, and this one was an especially pleasant experience. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for writing!
  Quote
Kokopelli
Monday 11th April 2005 12:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 87

Open Windows
Is it just me, or did the POV keep switching in this story?

JEC
MagnoliaMama
Monday 11th April 2005 13:03
Open Windows (Author Response)
Could you give some examples? The whole thing was written from Ron's POV, but if you could give me a concrete example of where you think it switched maybe I can clear things up.  
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004