Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Under My Skin by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Friday 26th October 2007 11:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Under My Skin
i knew that it was ginny as soon as you said the name of that flower that he cross-breeded I feel bad for neville though... its sorta like snape with lily...
  Quote
Delfino
Wednesday 10th October 2007 15:21


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

Under My Skin
Aww! So sad! But beautifully written! And a very lovely idea. Great job
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 7th March 2007 11:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Under My Skin
Ah how sad. You want to root for Neville but at the same time you're like "Uh, duh! Her and Harry are meant to be!" lol Poor Neville. I hope he finds happiness.

Oh and you'll prolly be seeing a lot of me. I plan on reading most of your stories and reviewing. I hope you don't mind!
  Quote
jeanne
Thursday 14th July 2005 12:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Under My Skin
Amazing! Of all the "druthers" in Ginny,s life,if there was to be no Harry,I also would choose Neville.He is a calm,stoic,gentle soul,and so deserving of the perfect girl.This was so sweetly done. "Unrequieted Love".So sad but lovely.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 10th August 2005 07:43
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! Neville/Ginny is my "secret ship," the one I sail around the harbor on when I need a break from H/G. And, really, who can resist Neville? He's such a dear. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Amy
Friday 27th May 2005 12:22


Under My Skin

Aww.  I do so love Neville.  *wipes away a tear* 

It did seem a bit odd to me, though, that Ginny didn't realize how Neville felt about her.  She's a perceptive person, but even aside from that, the boy named a rose after her!  He might as well have just walked around wearing an "I Heart Ginny" t-shirt and ringing a bell.  Or maybe she did know, and I'm just too thick to pick up on it. 

Other than that, it was wonderful.  Both Neville and Ginny seemed really in character to me (except, of course, Ginny's cluelessness about Neville's feelings).  And that part about Harry's deep, masculine voice... yummy.

MagnoliaMama
Friday 27th May 2005 13:06
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I love Neville too.  You raise a good argument, though as I see it Ginny realizes how Neville feels about her but is too kind-hearted to encourage him (lead him on) or shut him out of her life. She may be idealistic in that regard, trying to have the best of both worlds, but I can't say I'd blame her -- in her shoes, I'd have trouble choosing between Harry and Neville myself. 

Thanks for taking the time to review!

  Quote
Kat Hawkins, the 5th marauder
Thursday 12th May 2005 20:01


Under My Skin
awwwwwwwwwww. . . so sweet! loved it a lot! keep up the good work! Kat
MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 07:01
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Astrid
Saturday 16th April 2005 09:04


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Under My Skin
Oh, Neville's so sweet! I hope he finds happiness.
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 21st April 2005 13:25
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Me too.  Thanks for your review!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Wednesday 13th April 2005 13:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Under My Skin
This is a very nice piece, but the picture you paint of Neville seems a bit unkind.  He is sweet here, but -- I don't know -- is maybe too successful a wallflower here?  I've always thought pretty well of Neville, and he seems, in canon, to show promise of shaking off his awkwardness.  Reading this, I found little substance to him, and that seems so sad.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 20:35
Under My Skin (Author Response)
I suppose I can't expect to hit all of them out of the ballpark, can I?

One of the things I find most appealing about Neville is his quiet stoicism -- while others (coughHarrycough) resort to capslock of rage, he endures -- and that was the quality I tried to emphasize here. It's a different type of bravery, one where the hero doesn't always get the girl. I doubt Harry would have held up as well if their situations were reversed. And, I'll admit, if anyone other than Harry were Neville's rival for Ginny's affections, I don't doubt for a moment Neville wouldn't back down. But he seems to hold Harry in particularly high regard, and so I think he might make this type of sacrifice -- but only for Harry.

Thanks for the thought-provoking review!
  Quote
brad
Wednesday 13th April 2005 00:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

Under My Skin
Ohhhh.  Poor Neville!  Second when it came to the prophecy, second here as well.  Nice little story, thanks.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:48
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! Neville will always be first in MY heart.
  Quote
Wild Magelet
Tuesday 12th April 2005 23:41


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Under My Skin

"It was my pleasure.  I'm glad to see you so... happy."  His chest hitched.

Oh, my. Poor Neville. I seriously almost got teary for him there! PS.net is turning me into such an emotional person, lol. Or maybe it's just your writing, which I'm a huge fan of.

I absolutely love Neville. And if I wasn't a faithful H/G shipper, N/G would probably be my next choice for Ginny. I think they're two of the most intriguing characters in canon, and I'm very interested to see where JKR takes them. I think they're both incredibly deserving of happiness.

Bittersweet, but wonderful fic.

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:47
Under My Skin (Author Response)

Or maybe it's just your writing, which I'm a huge fan of.

 Thank you! Complements like that will get you anywhere.

As you probably guessed form my A/N I'm a clandestine N/G shipper too. There's just something about the two of them that tugs at my heartstrings and gets my writing hand twitching in anticipation. I'm glad you enjoyed this. Thank you for the wonderful review!

  Quote
XiaoXiao
Tuesday 12th April 2005 22:27


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Under My Skin
Very, very sweet.  I loved it so much; I can't even think of what to say.  Neville's characterisation was perfect.  Great job!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:45
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! I love writing Neville.
  Quote
Ima Quidditch Fan
Tuesday 12th April 2005 20:06


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Under My Skin
That was lovely!  Thanks for sharing your writing.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:44
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! Always a pleasure.
  Quote

Tuesday 12th April 2005 19:20


Under My Skin
So sweet, but so sad. My heart aches for Neville.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:44
Under My Skin (Author Response)

Mine too. Thanks for the review!

  Quote
Delani
Tuesday 12th April 2005 17:47


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Under My Skin

. But also ...= bittersweet? But leaning to the bitter a bit more.  Fabulusly written, I loved the instructor's accent "buenos dias, senor."  Neville really is a great bloke, and you've done him justice.

 

Delani

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:43
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Yes, I'd say bittersweet with the emphasis on the bitter is probably right. I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
emmamoonpotter
Tuesday 12th April 2005 17:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 68

Under My Skin
That was a very sweet story!  I feel sorry for Neville.  Unrequited love sucks.  I am happy for Harry and Ginny.  And proud of Neville.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:42
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! Unrequited love is a bear to live with, but great fun to write. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
amulder
Tuesday 12th April 2005 17:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Under My Skin
Nice touch on the angst.  Poor Neville.

I wonder though... throughout OOTP I think Neville is certainly growing and maturing.  The DA is boosting his abilities and confidence.  I would hope that the excursion on Thestral-back would also help strengthen Neville.

What I'm saying, I guess, is that I wonder if this portrayal of Neville is a bit on the meek side.  I'd like to see him grow as a strong character.   It'd be fun to pair him up with a Slytherin -- I bet we've all known girls in high school who were tough girls, or tomboys, who later in life mellowed into gentle Mum's.

Hmm, I think my review has gone astray.
Thanks for sharing your work!

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:40
Under My Skin (Author Response)

Good point. But I think one could argue that there are different types of strength, and that it would have taken an incredible amount of courage to do what Neville did here, and to do it with grace and class. I'll admit that the example of the Yule Ball demonstrates that Neville isn't likely to take rejection lying down. However, he does seem to hold Harry in particularly high esteem and I wonder if that might not affect how he'd respond in a situation like this. That's the beauty of fanfic -- exploring situations from different angles.

Thanks for your thoughtful review!

  Quote
p0tterfan
Tuesday 12th April 2005 17:03


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

Under My Skin
Rather sad that Neville didn't move on I think ... but interesring perspective.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:37
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Oh, I don't know... who's to say he didn't move on after the wedding and find a nice girl to fall in love with? Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Penny Lane
Tuesday 12th April 2005 14:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 48

Under My Skin

My Neville-lovin' self just couldn't resist this story.  I'm too much of a stubborn H/Ger to say that I wish Neville could have gotten the girl, but still...

Lovely job.  You made it terribly sad, but not overwrought.

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:34
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm a Neville fangirl myself -- he's such a joy to write, even when it isn't the happiest of storylines. I'm glad to know this hit the right emotional tone for you. It's not easy to write angst because there's too much temptation to take it too far. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Sassenach
Tuesday 12th April 2005 12:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Under My Skin
Awww this is soo sad. Poor Neville. You should write a happy fic for him...hook him up with Luna or something. They seem like they would fit....they're both single!!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:33
Under My Skin (Author Response)
LOL. I have written happier fics for Neville, though, alas, I paired him up with Ginny. Can't help it, it's a compulsion of mine.  Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Musings
Tuesday 12th April 2005 10:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Under My Skin

*SNIFFLE* Oh, poor Neville!!!  Oh, this is so sad! Unrequited love just kills me.  I almost...ALMOST wish he'd had a chance with Ginny.  Almost. ; )

Well done!

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 13th April 2005 07:31
Under My Skin (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm a sucker for unrequited love myself, and Neville makes just the perfect vehicle for it. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004