Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Molly Weasley's Practical Guide to Magical Childcare by tante

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 30 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
laxford
Monday 18th June 2007 16:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Infants
This is a really nice idea for a story. it's nice to hear all those anecdotes about the weasley children, we hear so little about it from the books.
i'm looking forward to more!
will there be a mention of ?
  Quote
cckeimig
Wednesday 12th October 2005 19:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Infants
Love it! I just wish I had a wand myself to use with my own twosome. Even though Chris is almost 5, it'd be useful. And Lizzy, well, she's definitely at the right age for this chapter! 
tante
Monday 17th October 2005 04:50
Infants (Author Response)

Kelleypen, maker of fine wands, might be able to connect you with one.  But try as I might, the only spell I can make work is the one in Chapter Six: Remembrance. 

I'm sure Molly has some advice for Chris a little later on.  Thanks for reading.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 

  Quote
ridgeback77
Thursday 22nd September 2005 18:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Infants
This is awesome.  To bad the rest of us poor muggles can't use these simple spells.
tante
Tuesday 11th October 2005 17:36
Infants (Author Response)

Thanks!
I know.  Such a bummer.  I've wished and wishedSigh.  Glad you took the time to check out Molly's Guide.  Hope you enjoy the rest.

  Quote
mgoose811
Saturday 16th April 2005 10:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Infants
  This was delightful.  I always wonder how wizarding families manage things differently, and especially children, since I am a mother of two.  Boy could I use that placement charm .  Thank you for this one - I look very forward to reading subsequent chapters. 
tante
Sunday 17th April 2005 14:35
Infants (Author Response)
Quite welcome!  Happy to be of service! 
  Quote
mgoose811
Saturday 16th April 2005 07:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Infants
  This was delightful.  I always wonder how wizarding families manage things differently, and especially children, since I am a mother of two.  Boy could I use that placement charm .  Thank you for this one - I look very forward to reading subsequent chapters. 
tante
Tuesday 5th July 2005 11:39
Infants (Author Response)

Thanks for giving Molly's Guide a read.  She very much appreciates your support.  I too think it's fascinating to have a look at wizarding family life through her eyes.

Hope you like the rest.

  Quote
Aggiebell
Saturday 16th April 2005 05:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

Infants
Tante, I think you're spying on me and my family!  What I wouldn't give for some of those charms.  I can't tell you how many times I've wished I could do a quick  Scourgify and be done with it, especially recently, since we've just introduced solid food to our 5 month old son.

And this particular use for the bubble-headed charm is absolutely brilliant.  Brilliant, I tell you.

This is too fun.


Julie
tante
Sunday 17th April 2005 14:38
Infants (Author Response)

Julie,

Your reviews delight me!  And you're too kind, really.  5 months is a tough time.  Hope you get enough sleep soon!

 

  Quote
Trystym
Friday 15th April 2005 21:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Infants
Quite amusing.  Just one comment...It's never "just" poo.  Having changed many a nappy, it may be many many things (and colors) but it is never "just poo". 

Keep it up, I am looking forward to the spider incident.

Trys

tante
Sunday 17th April 2005 14:42
Infants (Author Response)

Oh, you great chicken you!  I have 4 children, 8 years of parenthood, minimum of 4 nappies a day = at least 11,680 nappies.  I don't have time for analysis.  Just change it and be done. 

Spider incident is coming up in a couple chapters.  I hope it won't disappoint. 

  Quote
Kathryn
Friday 15th April 2005 12:52


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Infants
Very cute and sweet. Wonderfully unique, excellently written and so true to canon. Molly character shines through it and brings the piece to life. In general just fun and enjoyable to read.
tante
Friday 15th April 2005 17:30
Infants (Author Response)

"true to canon"             

A wonderful compliment, thanks!  I really love Molly. 

 

  Quote
Sugarquills23
Thursday 14th April 2005 20:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

Infants
Very cute idea! Only a mother could relate so well to the joys and challenges of bringing up baby...and daddy as well.
tante
Friday 15th April 2005 08:33
Infants (Author Response)

Hey Donna! 

Thanks!  I appreciate you leaving a review here.  I'm hoping to return the favor VERY soon.

  Quote
Reenie
Thursday 14th April 2005 20:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

Infants
Thank you for helping me relive the best parts of my daughters first six months... altho i remember her first birthday party we changed her diaper in my best friends car trunk to keep the rain off (it was a bbq at a local park luckily it had a sheltered bbq pit) please keep up the great work *smile* 
tante
Friday 15th April 2005 08:30
Infants (Author Response)
Too funny!  Glad you liked the story!  Hope you like the rest
  Quote
AngieGS
Thursday 14th April 2005 09:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Infants

What a fun story to read.  I really enjoyed it and I hope you continue with this.  Thanks for sharing.

Angie

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:19
Infants (Author Response)

You're very welcome!  There are at least 4 more chapters to come.  We'll see after that.  I don't want this to get stale or tired.

 

  Quote
amamama
Thursday 14th April 2005 09:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Infants
This was fun, tante!  I guess you captured many a "new born mum"s attitude towards her husband well, in Molly's comments about Arthur.  You sure got part of mine... (even though my husband didn't mind poop, thank goodness).  I really could have used some of (no, all!) these spells myself, the placement charm is a great idea!  And hilarulus would have been perfect to have...

Fun and lighthearted, I look forward to the next installment.  And I have to ask you - why "tante"?  Do you have relatives in Norway or Denmark?  In case you didn't know, tante means aunt here.  And your choice of topic is quite on the spot for a "tante".

Amamama
tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:18
Infants (Author Response)

Tante is also german for aunt.  I'm of german ancestry and named after my mother's favorite aunt whom we called Tante.  When my sister had her first baby, she called and offered me the option to be known as Tante to her children.  I was honored.  That was 10 years ago.  I'm now Tante to all my nieces and nephews.  It's neat to remember our Tante that way.

It's funny how common many of our new mum experiences and attitudes are across nationalities.  Glad you liked Molly's Guide.

  Quote
Muggle Witch
Thursday 14th April 2005 07:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 118

Infants

That was well done, and so cute! This is a very creative plot. You really have Molly pegged! Looking forward to the next chapter.

Muggle Witch

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:21
Infants (Author Response)
Thank you!  More on the way soon.
  Quote
Katieay
Thursday 14th April 2005 07:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Infants

Aaah Tante! It's lovely. Molly's warmth and amusement and frustration practically oozes out of this story. Extremely well done and original. Lovin' it ;)

Katie xoxox

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:27
Infants (Author Response)

Katieay! 

Thanks for checking in!  Glad the emotions come through.  You're awesome!

  Quote
Katieay
Thursday 14th April 2005 06:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 99

Infants

Aaah Tante! It's lovely. Molly's warmth and amusement and frustration practically oozes out of this story. Extremely well done and original. Lovin' it ;)

Katie xoxox

  Quote
Robert Owen
Thursday 14th April 2005 03:03


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 129

Infants

Brilliant!  I can see I will be making use of this guide for some stuff in ILL MET BY MOONLIGHT.

Robert

 

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:29
Infants (Author Response)
Cool - I'll check in there. 
  Quote
Antonia East
Thursday 14th April 2005 02:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Infants
Oh darn it!  I'm so sorry I missed the 'great/greet', hon.  But it is great (ha - see what I did there!) that this story's getting such a good response.  You and it deserve it.

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:31
Infants (Author Response)

Thanks Lovely Beta!

Pffft.  You only missed one word.  And, obviously I didn't catch it either.  You did catch several other things I didn't even think about.  Great work all in all.  Thanks a heap!  It's good to work with you.  (even if you do take long holidays - lol)

  Quote
sonicdale
Wednesday 13th April 2005 22:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Infants

As a father of three, I wish I was a wizard.

Bubble head charm! If a dad can't handle his own kids' poopy smells, he's not a man. He's a wimp. Anyone who pukes at it is an even bigger wimp. Sure it smells bad. It's poop! Just be happy that you're at work, not changing nappies/diapers all day. And be sure to change them when you are home, it's your turn.

As for the Accio charm - that would work ONLY if you knew where everything is. Once toddlers and preschoolers start taking over the house, you'll be on a giant treasure hunt for all the things you needed, but can't find because your 2 year-old thinks that it's fun to play with car keys, wallets, cell phones, remote controls...etc.

This was a good fic. I'm eagerly waiting for more. I can't wait to hear about wizard potty training, thumb sucking, chicken pox (do wizards get that?) the terrible twos, tantrums (Ooo. Silencing charms. Heh) and other fun things. Good work.

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:40
Infants (Author Response)

Don't all parents.  My husband is sick to the teeth of me trying to perform summoning charms and full body binds. 

The bubble head charm situation was my sister's husband.  He was an Army EOD at the time - chemical and bomb disposal.  He dealt with some horribly stinky stuff in his line of work, but diapers made him retch.  Too funny!

Yes, that is the terrible limitation of the accio charm.  But if the child has walked off with an object after you've used a placement charm, and you have a rough idea of its whereabouts, you can still summon it.  Remember, Molly didn't exactly know where all the twins' sweets were as they prepared to leave for the World Cup in GoF.  She just knew they were about their persons.  I think a sticking charm of some sort might do beautifully for all those items you mentioned that toddlers are so curious about.  They can't walk off with it if it won't move with them. 

Yes, silencing charms are a wonderful thing. 

Thanks for the detailed review!

  Quote
XiaoXiao
Wednesday 13th April 2005 21:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 158

Infants

This is fun to read, and I love how Molly's personality came through.  Great job! 

P.S. Who would have thought Percy would be the messy one?

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 10:41
Infants (Author Response)

Yes, it's those straight laced quiet ones who have skeletons in their closets.  You've not heard the last of Percy. 

Thank you!

  Quote
Arnel
Wednesday 13th April 2005 21:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Infants

What a wonderful story!  I can hardly wait to read Molly's next installment and then the one on three/four-year-olds.  (Four years ago I could have used all of these spells and then some!)  I really like how you incorporate incidents from the Weasley Family's years together, especially Ron's baby hiccups.  That was adorable.

Please post again soon.  This story has gone straight to my heart.

tante
Thursday 14th April 2005 08:29
Infants (Author Response)

  I even cover Ron's traumatic spider incident.  I'm glad you're enjoying this.  We'll get the rest of the chapters up asap.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 30 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004