Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Makers of Fine Wands since 382 B.C. by Aaran St Vines

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
DailyProphetReporting
Tuesday 24th June 2008 08:47


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
Aaran,

This is one of those stories I've heard about and noticed for a long time but stayed away from because the summary sounded so different from what I've become accustomed.

Now that I've finally decided to give it a try, though, I'm finding it facinating exactly because it's so different. The level of creativity here is excellent. You've managed to draw a full story (and from looks of things several stories) from one or two extremely tertiary plot points, and seemingly even used Magical Creatures as your main canon source. That's no small feat and I'm definitely impressed, especially as the connections to contemporary canon were so obviously considered.

All in all, I'd label this quite clever so far, though a couple of plot points I'm finding especially interesting. First of all, how is Porto so much further advanced (or, perhaps, how is Britain so backward) magically? Also, how did this group of pre-Romans end up monotheists?. Those are things I'm hoping to see more about later.

So, anyway, good job so far. I'm quite curious to see what you do next, and in a fic that's usually a good sign.

-KC
  Quote
Narumi
Sunday 11th November 2007 15:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
This is really interesting! I love fics that take JKR as a basis and go totally off on a tangent. Can't wait to read more!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 10th September 2006 09:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
The sign says they have been making wands since 382 B.C., not that they've been at Diagon Alley since then. I rather think they started someplace like Greece and this is either just a Diagon Alley branch store (the Wizarding equivalent of J.C. Penney's or Sears) or they moved there later. Nice story, but a bit anachronistic. I'm sorry about conditions in England BC but there was no Gaul at that early time. You are correct that Gaul roughly matches France, but Gaul was the name the Romans gave to that area inhabited byCeltic tribes. So you are using the name about 200 years early. Not to detract from an interesting story with the facts .
"Baldet felt bad about nearly killing a fellow dog lover. He decided to show Willen some mercy and ordered him sent to the dungeon for the rest of his life instead" -- , quite funny.
  Quote
Crys
Tuesday 7th February 2006 07:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
You were a historian in a previous life, weren't you?

Great story. Generally don't read fanfic without at least some characters I recognize, but this one definitely grabbed hold.

Thanks for sharing!
  Quote
amamama
Friday 26th August 2005 12:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
I started reading this quite a while ago, but lost track of it (RL has a way of interfering at times).  And as I tried to find out where I left off, I discovered I hadn't left any reviews - well, I am going to right that wrong now.  I love a well told story, and this is wonderful.  Willen's luck (blessings in disguise?) is a great concept, and your explanation for the name of London is a neat one.  Why not?  There's no such thing as a coincidence, and Willen's luck shows that.  I look forward to some hours of enjoying this fine story.

As for the name Ollivander, I never really made the connection to olive wood wand maker, but I do now.  Thanks!
  Quote
ShuzGirl
Thursday 21st July 2005 23:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck

 Very good writing.  I enjoyed the story and look forward to  reading the rest of the saga.  You are a very good writer.   Keep up the good work.

 

 

  Quote
p0tterfan
Monday 18th April 2005 15:53


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
Nice to see this story on PS ... read it on SQ ... welcome to the archive :)

Needless to say .. everyone should read this story :)
Aaran St Vines
Tuesday 19th April 2005 09:26
1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck (Author Response)
This story is being ungraded, expanded and edited for this posting. The Historical Notes ate being incorporated right from the start. This is a different version of the tale.
  Quote
sonicdale
Monday 18th April 2005 09:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
Wow. This is a richly detailed story, with new people and places. I'm glad for it. Apart from some strange font issue (it kept varing from one to another) I liked the premise and can't wait for more!
  Quote
amulder
Monday 18th April 2005 08:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
Fascinating, detailed, humourous, and very creative.

I'm most impressed that the same pen that gave us the SAS granger, is now taking us on a historical adventure.  That's quite the stretch.

I'm very interesting to see where this will go.
thanks

  Quote
dave gerecke
Monday 18th April 2005 01:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
Interesting. Well worth following and I hope to read more of this story dave
  Quote
dophingirl79
Sunday 17th April 2005 22:36


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 196

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck
wow a history lesson, I feel I should go back to school again, well that was a very enjoyable reading, I can't wait for more.
Aaran St Vines
Tuesday 19th April 2005 09:25
1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck (Author Response)
No need to go back to school. The classroom comes to you in this tale.
  Quote
seamusisevil
Sunday 17th April 2005 22:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

1: Mr. Ollivander Starts The Story - Willen's Luck

finally the readers of phoenixsong will be able to enjoy this great fic

i cant wait to read more of your stories here and elsewhere you still rock

 

  Quote
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004