Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Oak Tree by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
lorgbb
Wednesday 14th June 2006 13:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

2: The Oak Tree Part Two
its great to see ron putting up with harry, and have more than a little influence on his mood. and of course, its always great to see the first sparks between harry and ginny start to appear
  Quote
Muggle Witch
Sunday 1st May 2005 18:53


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 118

2: The Oak Tree Part Two
Another great chapter. Looking forward to the next update.
parakletos
Sunday 1st May 2005 23:25
2: The Oak Tree Part Two (Author Response)
Thank you for your encouragement; it means a lot.
  Quote
Lulabelle
Friday 29th April 2005 22:15


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

2: The Oak Tree Part Two
Very well written again.  I really like these small outtakes to your main story.  I definitely see the beginnings of something blossoming between those two.  Great chapter again.  Update soon please!
parakletos
Saturday 30th April 2005 01:30
2: The Oak Tree Part Two (Author Response)
Thanks for the review, I'm pleased you enjoyed it.
  Quote
VanishingShmink
Friday 29th April 2005 20:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

2: The Oak Tree Part Two
I can see where the above reviewer is coming from, but I am still enjoying this story.  While it is a bit dark, you have taken a unique angle and potrayed flawed human emotions realistically, and I applaud you for that.  The way Ron, Hermione and Ginny reacted when Harry came down the stairs to apologize seemed uncharacteristically harsh, though - I was shocked.  But they don't know the prophecy, and they've had to deal with a brooding Harry for over a year now, so it's believable in that sense.  The interaction between Harry and Ginny and his "normal teenage boy" behavior was especially cute.   Overall, nice work and I'm looking forward to the final installment!
parakletos
Saturday 30th April 2005 01:26
2: The Oak Tree Part Two (Author Response)
And I can see where she is coming from as well. It makes me a bit sad that she won't be reading the rest of the story . But the story does get lighter and if you go back to the first chapter of Twelve Months you know where this is heading.

 Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 29th April 2005 11:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

2: The Oak Tree Part Two

Okay, I'm going to be honest.  I didn't really care for the first chapter because I didn't like either Harry or Ginny much, but the end got to me, so I came back for part two.  Only, I stopped reading less than halfway into it.  I can never imagine Ron, Hermione and Ginny treating Harry that way.  Grief is grief, and there is no right or wrong way go through it.  Telling someone they're grieving wrong does nothing to help.

The idea that any of the Weasleys or even Hermione, whose own lives are filled with parents, relatives and loved ones and always have been that they lost Sirus, too is simply not the same thing.  Nowhere close.

I felt horrible for Remus, but what happened between he and Harry is absolutely none of Hermone's business.  Anyway...I really am enjoying the 12 months story, but I can't read this one.  There is something missing in all these characters - Harry included - and they just don't seem right to me.  Sorry.

parakletos
Friday 29th April 2005 14:37
2: The Oak Tree Part Two (Author Response)

I'm sorry that you don't like it, but then if you didnít like the first part then you were unlikely to like the rest of it, were you? I would hazard a guess that you will not like Twelve Months as it progresses as well. Still, thank you for being honest; a bad review can stir you up to think about why you have the characters do things.

 Iíll try and deal with some of the points you raiseÖ

  I can never imagine Ron, Hermione and Ginny treating Harry that way.  Grief is grief, and there is no right or wrong way go through it.  Telling someone they're grieving wrong does nothing to help.

  Well I didnít say that it was right, but people do that in real life. Everyone has their own ideas about how people should behave and don't waste their time in letting others know.

The idea that any of the Weasleys or even Hermione, whose own lives are filled with parents, relatives and loved ones and always have been that they lost Sirus, too is simply not the same thing.  Nowhere close.

Sorry Iím not sure what youíre getting at here, perhaps there is a word missing? Ösorry.

I felt horrible for Remus, but what happened between he and Harry is absolutely none of Hermioneís business.  

No it isnít really any of Hermioneís business, but then Iíve not written her sympathetically here, so the fact that youíre wound up about her is really a compliment to how I wrote herÖ isnít it?

Anyway...I really am enjoying the 12 months story, but I can't read this one. 

Well as I said above, if you donít like this then youíll probably go off Twelve Months soon as well.

There is something missing in all these characters - Harry included - and they just don't seem right to me.  Sorry.

I wonder how three kids who have battled ten Death Eaters are supposed to behave? Iíve portrayed them as a little frayed around the edges, which is understandable really isnít it?
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004