Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Makers of Fine Wands since 382 B.C. by Aaran St Vines

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Narumi
Sunday 11th November 2007 17:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Accio Magik!
Really fun story. I'm absolutely loving reading this!
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Sunday 10th September 2006 13:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

2: Accio Magik!
I wonder what language they are supposedly speaking that is dying out. While Latin did indeed come to England and influenced the development of English, it did not replace any of the languages of what is now Great Britain. If you are speaking of Celtic as that language, it is true that no Celtic language is dominant language anywhere, but its was not replaced in London by Latin but rather by Anglo-Saxon. But there are a number of Celtic languages still spoken, so it can hardly be referred to as dead. And again you reference to Latin is a bit anachronistic; the fact that Eirran speaks (at least partially) in a prophetic trance saves you somewhat. Ah, now that you call the Touch Magik (which you call Old English), it seems clear that the language you speak of is not Celtic but English -- alas, another anachronism -- this is way too early for Old English . Actually, isn't it the case that Celtiberian is a modern coined by historians to make a distinction. Please don't take my ramblings here too seriously. As I said before, why let facts get in the way of a good story; and you certainly do have a good story going here!
Porto is part of the old way, and Willen is part of the new way. How, then, does Porto use Avada Kedavra ? Isn't that part of the new way? The role of Eirran is quite interesting. At first I thought he was something of a Deus ex machina to provide Willen with the power and knowledge he needs. You have him, however, as part of the old way (yet he can do Accio and knows wand making basics) and Willen has to discover the new Magic, but in terms of much of the information he provides he still functions as a sort of Deus ex machina. I guess I have to keep reading to get a clear distinction between "new" and "old" as there appears to be much overlap.
  Quote
amamama
Monday 29th August 2005 02:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

2: Accio Magik!
Ahh...  I so love this story, and I am truly happy I rediscovered it.  Your history telling is fascinating and spellbinding, and I really look forward to see how Willen discovers and hones his powers.

Thanks!
  Quote
ravenclawchaser66
Monday 2nd May 2005 13:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

2: Accio Magik!
Fascinating story. I decided to give it a try after I read your story about the Grangers, which I really liked, and I'm glad I did. As a history major, I like stories set in the past where the author has actually done some work and know what they're talking about-it's also an easy way for me to learn stuff. As far as this story goes, I'll be very interested to see how Willen develops "magik." In particular, I'm interested as to why using Latin would work so much better than another language. Or is it just a coincidence that all the spells are developed in Latin, and could they have just as easily been done in Celtic or some ancient Germanic language? Come to that, I'd love to hear from J.K. about the spells used by people from lands outside of Europe. Anyway, great story. I'm looking forward to reading more.
  Quote
Muggle Witch
Sunday 1st May 2005 10:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 118

2: Accio Magik!
What a neat idea. Well done. Update soon.
  Quote
seamusisevil
Saturday 30th April 2005 16:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 42

2: Accio Magik!
wow this story gets better every time i read it and its easier to read it here then on s.q. with this font keep them coming and ill keep reading them
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004