Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Season by DailyProphetReporting

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 2 of 2
crazyredhead
Monday 31st July 2006 10:39


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

23 May, 2000: A troubling transfer
this is very good i like it its fun seeing what ron had said
  Quote
mbwun5
Tuesday 15th March 2005 01:06


23 May, 2000: A troubling transfer

I think this is a very interesting way to write your fic.  The entire thing done newpaper style.  It's very creative and very cool.  I haven't seen anything like this before.

The only problem I've had two chapters into the story is the 100,000 galleons that Chudley gave Harry up for.  I think you need to add at least another zero.  This is Harry Potter and the Canons who need all the help they can get are going to give up his rights for under half a million dollars?  It just doesn't make financial sense.  Now at 1,000,000 galleons, the exchange is just under five million dollars and more reasonable for professional sports.  100,000 galleons just isn't enough in my opinion.

Other than that little quibble, the story so far is cool. 

DailyProphetReporting
Thursday 17th March 2005 00:28
23 May, 2000: A troubling transfer (Author Response)
I stand by my monetary terms. Why? Population. As best I can figure it based on the enrollment at Hogwarts, there can't be much more than 25,000 wizards in all of the U.K. (though for the sake of this story, I'm treating it as if it were more -- 50,000-100,000). Still, with that small a market, where is the kind of money you're talking about going to come from? It's not going to be from gate receipts because with that small a fan base the stadiums would have to be small. The other possible source of revenue for teams is advertising, and with that small a target audience, again, the return would necessarily be small as companies have such a limited market to whom to sell. So, financially (but not talent-wise), I see the quidditch league as being about on par with League 2 in English football or low-level minor-league baseball in the U.S.

-KC
  Quote
Showing 1 to 2 of 2
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004