Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Flourish and Blotts Hour -- Transcript by Ajarntham

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Gioia
Sunday 12th August 2012 01:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 54

1: Part One
You may recall what an insanely obsessive fan I am of this story, but I had to leave you another note to tell you how much I continue to love this story. Although I love everything you've written, I think that these transcript style stories of yours really are your best works, as they are the best at displaying your writing skills. Writing dialogue-only stories, with no descriptive elements outside the dialogue, is extremely difficult. I've never read any author author who manages to pull that off as well as you. I find it amazing how you work your descriptions into the dialogue in such an organic way, that the transcripts flow beautifully and naturally.

I come back to this story and "Interview with Justin Finch-Fletchley" several times a year. Sometimes, I come back just to read a particular, favorite line. (Tonight it was this line that brought me back: "No question. You could say that the basic story of Harry's life is that he grew up in wretchedness, he had greatness thrust upon him, and he has somehow achieved ordinariness." Such a FANTASTIC summation of Harry's life and dreams!) Sometimes I come back to read the entire story again. But either way, you continue to suck me back into your stories more times than I can count.

For the record, should you ever desire to do another post-series (whether canon-centric or AU) interview, I'm going to be first in line to read it.

Thanks for all of your hard work!

Gioia
  Quote
Teva
Thursday 3rd August 2006 07:53


1: Part One
Wow. You've hit the nail right on the head here... about Harry not being a really great wizard and stuff. Well done!
Ajarntham
Friday 4th August 2006 06:39
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I did feel a little vindicated by the passage in HBP in which Dumbledore casually notes that Harry's magic wouldn't register next to his own.
  Quote
Lemon_Fresh
Sunday 23rd July 2006 18:49


1: Part One
Splendiferous! The style of this piece is really the best part, in my opinion... it sounds just like an interview with JKR! And all the debunking of myths and stuff... what a marvelous idea, and very, very well executed. Good job!
  Quote
SnorkackCatcher
Thursday 13th July 2006 09:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: Part One
Hi -- I'd just like to say that I really enjoyed this story, so much so that I Niffled it at FictionAlley Park . I hope it will bring the story some well-deserved extra readers!
Ajarntham
Saturday 15th July 2006 21:23
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thank you very much, I'm most grateful for that very nice Niffle :-) I'll take it as extra incentive to get cracking on the actual 7th-year tale for which "The F&B Hour" was intended to serve as a teaser.
  Quote
Bagelz
Tuesday 14th February 2006 14:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

1: Part One
Good times, well written! That truly sounded, well, believable - looking forward to continuing.
  Quote
aschowin
Monday 13th February 2006 17:36


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

1: Part One
This is a great read, very enjoyable, and very well written. I really like where you've taken Anthony's character, and the format that you've chosen to present your story. Excellent job.
Ajarntham
Tuesday 14th February 2006 06:16
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thank you very much! It was lots of fun to write, and an obvious advantage of the format is that you don't have to worry as much about problems like plot unity.
  Quote
Wooster
Monday 13th February 2006 14:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

1: Part One
What an interesting idea! I was laughing throughout. "Anthony's" observations of Harry's character are right on. I especially liked the part of about the asymptotic curve graph of Harry's public speaking nerves. Hysterical. (Especially as math is my last class of the day and my mind was just in the right frame to perfectly visualize that!)
Ajarntham
Tuesday 14th February 2006 06:14
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thanks! Since I'm actually a bit allergic to math, I'm glad that didn't get bollixed too badly. :-)
  Quote
Delani
Tuesday 31st May 2005 18:03


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

1: Part One

"Harry, it has to be done."

*snort*

Sorry, but I couldn't not comment on that...

  Quote
Delani
Tuesday 31st May 2005 18:02


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

1: Part One

 This is too outrageously funny!  I love the outsider opinion ( and the fact that you explained it) of Anthony.  The snippets of Harry's current life are impeccably placed and you ease into humor, mystery, and an unraveling tale we all know but still want to hear.  This really is so well written and entirely too amusing for my own good.

 

Del

  Quote
peas and carrots
Saturday 21st May 2005 06:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Part One

I'm glad that I followed the link over from Aggiebell's Live Journal. It's a really good story so far. I think my favorite part of it is the part about people who didn't know Harry thinking that starting a family right away and becoming a flying teacher aren't good enough for someone who defeated Voldemort, and Anthony Goldstein saying that people shouldn't see it that way because he's been happier than he's ever been.

"Or – look at it this way: instead of feeling let down by the… bourgeois ending, or whatever you call it, to Harry's epic career, maybe we should feel reassured by that story, maybe we should take heart from it, because it means our own little humdrum lives are actually the stuff of dreams.  Harry did – literally – dream night after night of having the kind of life so many of us take for granted."

I love this sentence because it's so perfect, and I just want to point out this story to people in real life who do think that it would be disappointing if in the epilogue Harry has a "boring" life.

Finally, I just wanted to compliment you on how you blended your own ideas with canon so well.

  Quote
sunsethill
Sunday 8th May 2005 13:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

1: Part One

The tone of this is just great.  I can really see something like this happening.  You are doing a good job of adding new illustrative material that feels right.  I'm looking forward to the rest of the interview.

This is also a really nice way to wait for HBP.  I'm not really in the mood for a new story, but this is more of a creative recap, which hits the spot right now.

  Quote
Sarah B
Sunday 8th May 2005 06:26


1: Part One

I really enjoyed this because it's very different to any other fics I have read. I like your style and choice of characters too.

It is really interesting and funny and I think you've done it very well.

 

  Quote
tess
Saturday 7th May 2005 14:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Part One

This is brilliant. This is inspiring. Is this a one-shot or will you be writing more? I'll bake cookies and send them overnight - expres if it'll inspire you!
I loved the bit about Ginny dramatically pointing at the kitchen trash bin and saying "Harry, it has to be done"    my roomate thought I went nuts at that point.

oh, and the thought of Harry making a human dignity/sexual orientation speech is actually, quite horrifying...

Ajarntham
Saturday 7th May 2005 15:02
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thank you very kindly for the praise and the offer! Regarding the latter, though, I live in Thailand; is the express cookie order still on? :-) Two more chapters of similar length to come, should be soon. (The last chapter may incorporate some reviewers' comments or questions into the 'call-in' portion, so it could be a little longer.)
  Quote
snowbear96
Saturday 7th May 2005 09:03


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

1: Part One
This is great! It's funny and gives background information. I love it
  Quote
JenMusic
Friday 6th May 2005 20:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: Part One

OK, I almost didn't read this, because I saw it was a WIP and I really don't have the time to get wrapped up in another one of those (and who among us does?).  But, in a last-ditch effort to procrastinate cleaning the house on Saturday morning, I decided to go ahead and read it, and I am so glad I did. This is really great. It has a bit of the "NPR" feel to it, but you aren't so constrained by the interview format that backstory and characterization become stiff at all. Facts we know about Harry from canon are really well incorporated with your original ideas. I'm really looking forward to reading the next installment of this one. Thanks!

Ajarntham
Saturday 7th May 2005 04:10
1: Part One (Author Response)
I'm always happy to aid a fellow procrastinator.  Not much of a WIP actually, just two more chapters to follow soon.  Thanks for the kind words!
  Quote
dancinginmagic
Friday 6th May 2005 15:13


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 166

1: Part One
Now THAT was funny!
  Quote
SunflowerLynx
Friday 6th May 2005 13:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: Part One
Brilliant. It made me laugh so much. I'm glad that we're getting a non-super-powered-absolutely-brilliant-magical-genius-might-as-well-be-the-next-merlin kind of guy. I especially liked the part about Ron's sentiment, There was a basilisk Harry went in and then there was a dead basilisk, you tell me what happened thing. That made me laugh a whole bunch. I also enjoyed Harry's lack of speechmaking skills. And the gay student hitting on him and causing him to almost give a speech about sexuality equality. That would have been something to rememer, I'm sure. 
  Quote
sonicdale
Friday 6th May 2005 10:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

1: Part One
A Harry Q&A?
That's rich.
I agree with everything except two points.

First, That Harry's not an exceptionally powerful wizard. Either AG is showing his bias here, or you're not taking into account what JKR is planning for the next two books. I'd say that Harry's power level is right up there with the best of them - it's control that is his problem.

Second, His speaking ability. You've created a bumbler in Harry's ability to speak to several people, when in canon, Harry's times in speaking to groups were when he was 11-15 years old. Show me a 15year old that can speak to 300 people and not be nervous...

But you're painting a picture that isn't complete yet. I'm hoping you 'debunk the myths' without lowering his character...
... and of course I'm waiting for the H/G stuff.

Like the fact that he took Madame Hooch's job. Fitting.

Good fic, good work. Hope to see more!
P.S. Turn off the Lame review filter. It bounced this review because I used the number two. Blah.
Ajarntham
Friday 6th May 2005 19:32
1: Part One (Author Response)

Thanks, very glad you liked it!

I might be 'overcompensating' for some of the 'super-Harry' fics I've read, but I think I could make a decent case based on canon so far.  Maybe I'll add some additional challenges/questions for Anthony on this topic in the last chapter.

This piece actually started out as the epilogue to a year-seven story which I'm still thrashing out.  That means I left a lot of gaps about matters like how Harry and Ginny finally got together, since a) it would have been told already in the story body, and b) I have to figure out a way for Anthony to know the details which Harry and Ginny would presumably have been reluctant to share, even with their biographer.  But I'll do my best to give satisfaction. :-) 

Hope you enjoy parts II & III!

  Quote
Aaran St Vines
Friday 6th May 2005 08:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

1: Part One
The radio interview is a wonderful way to tell this - how creative, how original. Anthony Goldstein is vague enough in canon to make into what you want, and a non-professional writer turned biographer is original and half again.

The wretchedness, greatness, ordinariness progress makes Harry into a very realistic hero. I've talked to Medal of Honor winners who are very similar.

Very Well Done.
Ajarntham
Friday 6th May 2005 19:36
1: Part One (Author Response)
Thank you, and I'm very impressed by what you say about Medal of Honor winners.  If I had to cite one factor which gives JKR's work its special status and appeal, that would be the one: the way she moves us to consider what is "extraordinary" and how it can grow out of (and seek to return to) the "ordinary."
  Quote

Friday 6th May 2005 05:47


1: Part One

i loved your story. its brilliant. i do hope that you are going to update soon.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004