Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Start by J Forias

Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
pyromain
Sunday 9th September 2007 05:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Start
coming clean can have a positive effect.
  Quote
Delfino
Tuesday 31st May 2005 17:10


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

A Start
Great story! It was almost exactly how I pictured it! You captured the characters perfectly!
J Forias
Saturday 11th June 2005 12:51
A Start (Author Response)
Cheers mate. I'm glad you like it!
  Quote
levotatingT
Tuesday 31st May 2005 12:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

A Start

It was so touching.  I love how Harry opened up to Harry by the lake

Great job, keep writing, and Plez write back

levotatingT

J Forias
Saturday 11th June 2005 12:51
A Start (Author Response)

Hey. Thanks for that, and sorry for the slow response. I didn't think I'd get any more reviews for this but I was very excited to see two more.

Much appreciated!

  Quote
Musings
Tuesday 10th May 2005 23:54


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

A Start

This story has so many truly wonderful moments it's hard for me to give each of them their props!  I think my favorite was this:

Ginny Weasley had always prided herself on her adaptability. Right now her entire world had been wrenched from its roots and then placed back down quite methodically on its head and yet she knew exactly what to say and do.

“Harry, you are such a prat,” she said and then kissed him.

Just delightful!  Thank you for sharing it with us and I look forward to reading more of your work!

 

  Quote
Delani
Tuesday 10th May 2005 19:58


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

A Start

"How can we justify what’s important to us when so many bigger things are happening?”

I ask myself this question all the time, and it feels so good to hear someone else as confused.  This whole piece felt very natural. Well done.

Del

  Quote
Jim McGuffin
Tuesday 10th May 2005 19:50


A Start

Welcome to the world of rugged fluff! (In case you haven't heard, "rugged fluff" is a term for when we males try to get in touch with our fluffy sides. I believe that hairy_hen invented the term, back at the 'Quill.)

I think you did it well. The fic begins on an angsty note, with Harry telling Ginny the Prophecy. As in many fics, he pushes Ginny away, believing that he is protecting her. But at least Harry is himself again as Quidditch Captain.

So Harry and Hermione are in N.E.W.T.-level Potions, but not Ron. Kudos for remembering that Snape's advanced class is hard to get into -- many authors just write the trio in sixth-year Potions without explanation.

Of course it ends with the fluff. I think this was a well-balanced fic with just the right amount of fluff. On the redlightspecial fluff scale I think this fic earns a solid three score. (For more explanation of the RLS fluff scale or the use of the term "rugged fluff," see the fluff thread at the 'Quill.)

Once again, I enjoyed this fic as well as your Petunia fic. I can't wait to see more of your work in the future (and that includes the Inferno as well).

J Forias
Wednesday 11th May 2005 10:09
A Start (Author Response)

Well said, Jim. We read romance *cough* I mean rugged fluff, with our shirts off. We beat our chests and shout "I am a man" after all the kiss sequences.

By the way, thanks for the amazing amount of reviews. I want to say thanks after each one but feel it will get repetitive. Plus, I get tempted to make 'humorous' comments (see above and hflemming8's post) which is in nobodies best interests!

  Quote
SueP
Tuesday 10th May 2005 06:16


A Start
Very nice!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 10th May 2005 05:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

A Start
Awesome story!
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 10th May 2005 02:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

A Start
And a good start, too.
  Quote
Shloz
Monday 9th May 2005 23:16


A Start

Very well done! I like the feelings you evoke and describe, and the characterization is pretty accurate for both Harry and Ginny.

(Hermione seemed a little off, but then she's not the focus of this fic, and she might be growing up some more in Book Six anyway.)

I'd love to read more from you! This fic is quite "a start" for you yourself, it would seem.

J Forias
Tuesday 10th May 2005 05:19
A Start (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I appreciate the comments. I'd be interested to hear more on your opinion of Hermione. Send me an email if you like (jamescameron23@hotmail.com).
  Quote
Rosebeth
Monday 9th May 2005 21:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

A Start
That was awesome.  I cried with Harry out by the lake.  I cheered Ron when he gave Harry a shove.  Excellent job.
  Quote
Arnel
Monday 9th May 2005 21:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

A Start
What a great story!  I like the fact that Harry is admitting that he feels better for talking about what's going on inside his head and that he sees Ginny as the one to put him back together.  That's quite the compliment in itself.  You've done a supurb job of keeping Harry and his friends in character in a story that moves along at a nice, steady pace.  Bravo to you!
  Quote
p0tterfan
Monday 9th May 2005 21:07


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 337

A Start
A good start indeed ! :) Keep up the good work.
  Quote
EtreEstRever
Monday 9th May 2005 20:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

A Start
That was cute. A little sad at parts, but very, very cute. Good job on that!
  Quote
belladonna803
Monday 9th May 2005 20:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

A Start
That was absolutely fantastic! I have read thousands of stories, and I have to say that this was one of the closest to feeling like canon that I have ever come across. Thank you for writing it; I adore H/G, and have tried several times to write a story that will do their possible relationship justice, but so far I've fallen terribly short of the mark. You're a gifted storyteller...way to go!
J Forias
Tuesday 10th May 2005 05:23
A Start (Author Response)
Wow. I don't know what to say to a compliment like that. Thank you!
  Quote
Melindaleo
Monday 9th May 2005 18:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

A Start

Wow, this was fabulous.  I love protective Ginny, and you've done her so well here.  I liked the image of her holding Harry and glaring out across the lake.  Nicely done.

I also enjoyed her referring to herself as a skinny runt with messy hair.  Seems to me, that could describe Harry, as well.

J Forias
Tuesday 10th May 2005 05:24
A Start (Author Response)
Lol. Good point! I like that... err... I mean... *cough* yes, that's exactly what I was going for! Well spotted!
  Quote
EvieMarie
Monday 9th May 2005 15:26


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 80

A Start
Oh, I loved it! Wonderful job. Very very very well done. It seemed so natural and just... *good*. And I can so imagine Ron and Hermione cornering Harry! Oh, well done! Please write more h/g - it's brilliant!
  Quote
Gridley
Monday 9th May 2005 15:06


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 160

A Start
I like it.
  Quote
hfleming8
Monday 9th May 2005 14:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

A Start

“Who put me back together again.”

Jay - I will always think that it was THE best lines I've ever read in fanfiction and so appropriate for these two! 

Well done and great job on getting onto PhoenixSong!

So proud of you ickle one!

~Hez

J Forias
Monday 9th May 2005 15:12
A Start (Author Response)
It's embarrassing when you get reviews from your mum.
  Quote
amtha
Monday 9th May 2005 12:19


A Start

That was awesome. That plot could easily have turned out cliched and repetitive, but you made it seem like i was reading it for the first time. very well done!

J Forias
Monday 9th May 2005 15:11
A Start (Author Response)
Aye, I'm a very new writer and so didn't know just how many times fanfiction had been over a similar scenario. I'm glad you think I pulled it off! Thanks for the review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004