Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Captain's Prerogative by MagnoliaMama

Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 30th September 2008 21:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Captain's Prerogative
haha nice
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Thursday 25th October 2007 22:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Captain's Prerogative
loved it
  Quote
pyromain
Saturday 1st September 2007 14:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Captain's Prerogative
Ginny seems a bit to forgiving.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 6th December 2006 10:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Captain's Prerogative
Nice story. I enjoyed reading it. Funny how Pince literally kicks them out of the library
But is that how sports work? Yes the better players get on the team. But saying about McDonald and Dennis, 'they're younger, so they have more years they can play for Gryffindor' -- is that a reasoning a coach or captain would use? Wouldn't it be the younger, less experienced players who would be put second string/reserve and the more experienced player kept playing?
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 6th December 2006 10:48
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Wouldn't it be the younger, less experienced players who would be put second string/reserve and the more experienced player kept playing?

In the real world, perhaps, but I don't recall having ever seen a reserve squad on any of the Gryffindor teams -- remember how Harry had to keep scrambling for substitute players in HBP?

Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
Hearts on Fire
Wednesday 21st December 2005 21:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

Captain's Prerogative

That was pretty darn good!!!

Good job! Merry Christmas!

MagnoliaMama
Monday 26th December 2005 19:53
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. A merry (if now belated) Christmas to you as well! 
  Quote
Amy
Tuesday 31st May 2005 10:34


Captain's Prerogative

Wow.  The reviews for this fic (and your responses to them) have been almost as interesting as the fic itself. 

I love Ginny.  She is just... so the right girl for Harry.  Most other girls wouldn't have forgiven him nearly as easily, and as much as I hate to admit it, I would probably be one of them (I agree with a lot of your other reviewers that not informing her ahead of time was very insensitive, even by Harry's standards).  But she's got a big heart, and she understands how he is.  And despite her temper, she's got a gentle, subtle way with him that is far more effective than if she'd really given him hell.  I think you really nailed her characterization here.  I hope Harry appreciates how lucky he is to have Ginny.  (And vice-versa, of course.)

Listen to me, talking about them like they're real people.    But I guess that means you did your job as a writer, to make them and this situation seem so real to me.  Nice job.

 

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 1st June 2005 07:19
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
LOL. The response to this fic has definitely been an adventure. I've loved every minute of it, though I wish it could have been directed at one of my better-written stories.  I love Ginny too, and I think one of the things that makes her so perfect for Harry is her ability to weather his rough patches, whether it's his capslock of rage moods or his general obliviousness and unintended insensitivity. With brothers like she's got, she's seen both the best and the worst the males of our species have to offer.  I'm so glad you think I got her characterization right. Listen to me, talking about them like they're real people. You mean they're not?  Thanks so much for your wonderful review!
  Quote
Pirate Ginny
Thursday 19th May 2005 22:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

Captain's Prerogative

Firstly: lovely writing as always.

Highlights: I love the scene where they're thrown out of the library (I'm a sucker for parallels.  :P), and I love that it takes Harry so long to realize what the problem is.  (Actually, it's rather admirable that he gets it so quickly.  It takes mine until we both cool down before he gets it .)

This was plausible on many levels--not just because of the way sport-mad people think, but also because sacrifice is Harry's way of life.  I can easily see it being incomprehensible to Harry for someone else to object when faced with an unwanted sacrifice.  He's faced so many.

Also, I know you don't write sequels anyway, but I really do like how this ends.  With this kind of a set up, you just know that the Slytherins will win.  Kinda fun to have that left up to the imagination.

MagnoliaMama
Saturday 21st May 2005 08:04
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I deliberately wrote the tossed-out-of-the-library bit with a certain canon scene in mind.  I'm especially grateful you understood what I was aiming for with Harry's characterization. I don't think he's ever deliberately inconsiderate, but his circumstances would naturally make him a bit narrow-minded at times.

Kinda fun to have that left up to the imagination. My thoughts exactly!
  Quote
dophingirl79
Tuesday 17th May 2005 15:00


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 196

Captain's Prerogative
well written.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 18th May 2005 06:59
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
Mangykneazle
Sunday 15th May 2005 15:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Captain's Prerogative
Let me thank you for writing this wonderful piece and to Jenadamson and Python Blossom for persuading you to do it.  Great work as always.
MagnoliaMama
Sunday 15th May 2005 17:25
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. Congratulations on your first signed review (I'm honored it was bestowed on me). 
  Quote
critmo
Sunday 15th May 2005 03:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Captain's Prerogative
I've read some of the other reviews, and quite a number of people seem to think that Harry is not very considerate here. - You, on the other hand, insist that Harry is not the type to think things through.
Maybe the constructional problem is that Harry DID think through the question of which player is best for the team. So, one the one hand, he's logical to the point of kicking out his girl-friend, while on the other hand not thinking about the effect on Ginny at all. It's probably this selective use of logic that makes the story hard to understand.
MagnoliaMama
Sunday 15th May 2005 08:32
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
So, one the one hand, he's logical to the point of kicking out his girl-friend, while on the other hand not thinking about the effect on Ginny at all.

But that's exactly the point. Hermione might consider all the consequences of a particular action (and even she has been known to act rashly on occasion), but not Harry. It's both uncharacteristic and unrealistic to expect that of him. I can understand why readers might want to expect it -- it certainly makes for a more romantic scenario -- but that's not what I'm aiming for.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
  Quote
Joe
Friday 13th May 2005 13:27


Captain's Prerogative

Oh dear.  Good writing, but I found the plot unbelievable.

If I were Ginny, I wouldn't have forgiven Harry so easily.  Mostly because I don't think Harry's decision was wholly sound.  While there's something to be said for the trainability of young players, there's even more to be said for having maturity and experience on the team, especially when there are multiple players filling the same position.  As an example, in American football at the college level, you'll find juniors and seniors filling most starting positions despite the fact that many younger players who play the same positions are waiting in the wings...because coaches value game-day experience a bit more than youth and trainability.  Only outstanding talent by a younger player or an utter lack of talent by an older player would result in a lower classman receiving a starting position.  And the reserve system in Quidditch would have given Harry the opportunity to train younger players while allowing the more experienced players to compete...unless the other two Chasers were better than Ginny, but that didn't seem to be the case.

And while I know Harry can be an insensitive prat sometimes, characters grow and mature.  I don't think Harry will be quite as unthinking in book seven as he was in PS/SS (though I don't think he'll be Mr. Smooth either).  I have a hard time believing that if he were put in a position of authority that he'd be quite as dense as he was in this fic.  Harry can actually be thoughtful at times, especially when he's acting as leader...he did a pretty good job of leading his classmates in the DA, for example.  And I somehow don't think Ginny would forgive Harry quite so easily, it seems out of character for her.

I usually love your fics, and I think the mechanics of this one are up to your usual standards.  But overall, I thought Harry's decision and Ginny's actions didn't make sense, and the resolution was a bit rushed.  Very angsty, but the set up and pay off didn't ring true.

MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 17:46
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
While there's something to be said for the trainability of young players, there's even more to be said for having maturity and experience on the team

An excellent point. But let me toss it back: did it make sense for Oliver Wood to name a young, completely inexperienced player to probably the most crucial spot on the team, when one of his older players could have played that slot while Harry gained experience at another position?

And the reserve system in Quidditch

Is relied on too much in fanon. If there was a systematic reserve system, why wasn't Angelina prepared with backup players after Harry, Fred and George were banned? Why did Slytherin have to reschedule a match after Draco was injured by Buckbeak?

And while I know Harry can be an insensitive prat sometimes, characters grow and mature.

True, but isn't one of the purposes of fanfic to show examples of lessons learned, to put characters into situations to see how they respond? Harry has little experience with interpersonal relationships, and even less with those of a romantic nature. He has a lot to learn, but he can't learn unless he falls flat on his first.

And I somehow don't think Ginny would forgive Harry quite so easily, it seems out of character for her.

But she had to face her housemates after her horrible first year. Though it's debatable whether or not they knew she was the one setting the basilisk loose, it's not out of the realm of possibility that Colin Creevey at least would know, and Hermione almost certainly does. So I think Ginny's exactly the sort to understand just how important it is to forgive someone for making a horrible, thoughtless mistake.

I agree the resolution probably could have been drawn out a little bit, though I deliberately left many details out for the reader to fill in as they saw fit. One reader, for example, thought that Gryffindor would lose its first Quidditch match, and Harry would have to deal with the wrath of his housemates. Not as pleasant as being dragged into a broom closet for a snog session, but a hard-learned lesson.

Anyway, I do want to thank you for such a thoughtful review. You've given me a lot of food for thought for future fics. I know I sound argumentative, but it's not as though I didn't explore these issues thoroughly, and I stand behind my characterizations. Still, I've done this long enough to know that I can't always score a home run with every reader on every fic and so, like Harry, I wipe the dirt off my and move on, having learned from this experience.

  Quote
Dara
Friday 13th May 2005 12:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Captain's Prerogative

I finally broke down and registered just so I could review this story. 

First of all, as someone who is currently far more emotionally invested in the NBA playoffs than any sane person has a right to be, I can totally understand the devotion to sports.  Harry made the right decision for the team, and he shouldn't have to feel sorry for it.  I love that Quidditch (and beating Slytherin, of course) means as much to Ginny as it does to him, and I love that Harry recognized that she was in a better position than most to understand his decision.

Having said that, I'm still pretty miffed at him.  Like several of your other reviewers, I think he really should have pulled Ginny aside first and explained the matter to her, rather than letting her find out by reading the team roster.  That was spectacularly insensitive of him, and he should feel bloody well sorry for that.  I don't say this because Ginny is his girlfriend; if it had been Natalie or Dennis whom he'd chosen to bump from the team, I would have expected him to extend the exact same courtesy to them.  And in my opinion, the fact that he knew how important Quidditch is to Ginny makes it worse rather than better -- after all, he realized the game meant enough to her that she would understand his decision to remove her from the team, so shouldn't he also have known that it would still initially be a very upsetting blow to her, regardless of how logical his decision was?  I mean, if some freakishly talented young Seeker had come along and caused him to be replaced, wouldn't he have been hurt and upset about it at first, no matter how much it made sense to bump him from the team?  Especially if the Captain hadn't even warned him ahead of time what they were planning to do.

Now, I can cut him some slack, because didn't mean to be so inconsiderate.  And hey, I find Clueless!Harry as adorable as anyone.  But that doesn't mean he should get an automatic free pass every time he's an inconsiderate git. 

Judging by your responses to other reviewers, you'll probably tell me not to worry, that Ginny will make sure he makes it up to her, but I don't know.... if it's the kind of "making up" that the ending seems to imply, then it sounds as if Harry's going to enjoy it as much as Ginny does.  And somehow, that just doesn't seem fair.   

Sheesh, I've gotten so carried away talking about this that I've forgotten my original purpose -- to tell you that I really liked this fic.  It was a very enjoyable read, even if I was annoyed with Harry throughout most of it.  Oh, and I think it's really nice, the way you respond to all your reviews.

MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 16:51
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Wow, I'm really honored that my fic finally pushed you to register so you could leave a signed review. I hope this will be the first of many reviews from you (for any writer on PS, not just me).

You are right that Harry should have informed Ginny of his plans, but we've seen before from canon that he doesn't always do what makes sense to normal folk -- he's not stupid, but sometimes he's just a wee bit thick. This is even more apparent when concerning romantic relationships -- after an upbringing like he had, he's got some tough lessons to learn about interpersonal relationships before he really gets it.

And that's where Ginny comes in. He will get it, eventually, because she's going to make sure he does. But she's not going to hare off and be spiteful; she knows what he's like already, she grew up with Percy, Fred and George, and Ron and has thus seem some truly idiotic behavior, and she herself had to face her housemates after the debacle of her first year, so she, perhaps more than anyone else, values forgiveness. Giving Harry holy heck is something Hermione would do. Ginny, on the other hand, would make sure Harry learns from this mistake, but she'll teach him more subtly.

I think it's really nice, the way you respond to all your reviews.
Reviews, especially ones as thoughtful as yours, are my bread and butter.  Even the critical ones, even if I don't agree with the criticism, give me ideas to think about and put to use in future fics. I'd be a fool if I didn't let readers know I am listening and responsive to their thoughts.

  Quote
mary-v
Friday 13th May 2005 11:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Captain's Prerogative

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!! Ohhhh- you did such an AMAZING job with this, but what I like most is how original this is- for once Ginny isn't portrayed as the best chaser to have set foot into Hogwarts. Not that those are bad fics, but if that was the case, wouldn't she already be on the team in the books? Plus- there was fluff. A fic just isn't a fic without fluff!  All in all, BRILLIANT work- you are just so good, MM!!!

*Maria*

MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 16:39
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Awww, thank you so much for such an enthusiastic review, Maria!  I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed this.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Friday 13th May 2005 09:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

Captain's Prerogative

I like this.  It is spare, economical, and gives us a lovely glimpse into a relationship.  I also appreciate the fact that you let your stories stand on their own, letting the reader fill in before and after.  What I see is Ginny making poor Harry pay (and pay and pay) in ways he never dreamed ...

MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 16:38
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I try to leave certain details vague, because it seems to engage the reader more (that certainly seems to be the case with this particular fic). Harry could be locked in a broom closet somewhere with Ginny, or he could have been ordered to do her laundry until Christmas; it's all up to each reader's imagination.

Thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
sonicdale
Friday 13th May 2005 08:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Captain's Prerogative
Heh.
I sense a 'outtake' coming on.

I'm a sucker for Quidditch-fics. If you ever want to make a sequel - one that has Ginny watching the game and seeing how Abercrombie (any relation?) flies - I'd read it.

Good work. Hope to see more from you.
MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 08:57
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)

Chances are there won't be one, or a sequel, because in general I don't care for them, but Ninkenate had a brilliant idea for a sequel that is very similar to your suggestion, and I might not be able to resist writing it.

Glad you liked this. Thanks for your review!

  Quote
Gaineewop
Friday 13th May 2005 02:56


Captain's Prerogative

Brilliant! It's nice to see something with Harry being something other than a "all for my girl, to heck with everything else" type.

His reasoning was sound, though I can understand Ginny's anger over the whole thing. As with all your writing this is a very good read.

Though some seem to dislike this side of Harry, I think it's a breath of fresh air. Fantastic job.

MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 07:01
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you! I can understand why an idealized Harry might be popular, especially in shipper fiction, but, personally, I think it's his warts that make him so endearing (and I think Ginny would agree). Thanks so much for taking the time to review!
  Quote
Antonia East
Friday 13th May 2005 02:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Captain's Prerogative
Bless him, Harry's always been a little inconsiderate (he's the saviour of the wizarding world - we'll allow him to be a little dopey sometimes!)  I can see why he'd think long and hard about cutting Ginny, decide to, and then not realise he hasn't actualy told her, or explained it to her.  It's understandable that Ginny's upset, and perhaps Harry does come off as a touch callous at the beginning of the piece.  But you've got the rest of it spot on - Ginny is perfect, and Harry once he's finally twigged what's happening is to.  And yes, of course Quidditch is warfare.  What else would it be?  That's what makes you [strike]row harder[/strike] fly faster.

You know, my housemate plays cricket.  I have the hardest time preventing myself from asking her how 'Quidditch' went when she comes in.  Hey - I even nearly [i]typed[/i] Quidditch then.  I think I either need to get out more or lie down.

Sorry for the random review!
MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 06:59
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
 I knew I could count on you to understand that sort of devotion to a sport! You're probably right, I may have been a bit unfair to him at the start -- I figured he was too busy trying to come up with the right things to say -- but I'm glad you liked the rest. Thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
Kat Hawkins, the 5th marauder
Thursday 12th May 2005 19:41


Captain's Prerogative
that was excellent. very colorful and quite a change of atmosphere after coming home bawling after graduation tonite....sniff...thanks, though, cuz it really cheered me up! thanks and keep up the great work, ok?
MagnoliaMama
Friday 13th May 2005 06:56
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm so sorry you were sad to begin with, but I'm glad I helped cheer you up. Thanks for taking the time to review!
  Quote
jill
Thursday 12th May 2005 17:44


Captain's Prerogative
er, i'm not sure why ginny forgave harry that easily. his decision is understandable enough, but i think it's cruel of him to have ginny find it out from some bulletin board and then pretend as if nothing's happened when he's confronted. it sucks to be the last to know. especially on things that matter.
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 12th May 2005 18:10
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
She forgave him because she loves him, and because she knows he has a tendency not to think things through. Yes, he hurt her, but she has her feet on the ground and knows he didn't do it out of malice. Harry's a very lucky lad, something she'll no doubt make sure he appreciates.

Thanks for your comments!

  Quote
Delani
Thursday 12th May 2005 16:58


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 319

Captain's Prerogative
Hah.  Unexpected, but enjoyable nonetheless!
MagnoliaMama
Thursday 12th May 2005 18:07
Captain's Prerogative (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 31 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004