Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Olympic Spirit by sonicdale

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
kensai
Sunday 5th June 2005 23:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

1: A New Teacher
Harry was not in Hogwarts in 2004! 
sonicdale
Monday 6th June 2005 06:08
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Ahem.
See that little "AU" at the top of my chapter there?
Means "Alternate Universe."
My timeline dosen't gel with canon, I know, but I'm past that now. I'm concentrating on having fun. That's the aim of this fic.

Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Neely61
Wednesday 1st June 2005 05:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

1: A New Teacher
 Nice start.  Is this going to be a long fic or just a quickie?  Will there be the usual action for Harry & Co.?
sonicdale
Wednesday 1st June 2005 05:21
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
I'm shooting for around 10-12 chapters.
We'll see all the major players. I like ships, and this will have elements of one, but I'm a sportswriter first.

Action: Well...that depends on what kind of action.
We'll see plenty of dueling and flying, if that's what you're asking.
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 31st May 2005 21:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

1: A New Teacher
I certainly hope Chapter Two is being beta'ed as I write this...I'm absolutely hooked on this story simply because my husband introduced me to Tony Hawk and the X Games the first year they were played:  I marveled at the time that someone could actually make a living playing on a kid's toy and also still have fun as an adult with said toy.  I'm glad that the Muggle-born students are familiar with Tony Hawk, especially Harry since he had such a hard time watching the Muggle news in OotP and the Dursleys'.  Finally, I really like Harry's positive attitude.  He seems to have matured over the summer holiday which should do him some good now that he knows what his responsibilities to the Wizarding world happen to be.  Please post again soon.  I'll be waiting on the edge of my chair...
sonicdale
Tuesday 31st May 2005 21:31
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Edge of your chair?

I hope I don't keep you waiting too long. I hope to post by this Friday.
I also got to see the XGames the first year they were played. It's gotten a bit cliched now, but I like it still.

As for Harry's 'maturity'... well, thanks for noticing. I'll have plenty of fun as soon as we get to the brooms.
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
sugarbear68
Tuesday 31st May 2005 09:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

1: A New Teacher
I don't usually like fics that introduce characters (especially real people) from far outside the HP Universe, but this works.  Let's see who else shows up in the future.  Nice job, btw.
sonicdale
Tuesday 31st May 2005 09:35
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
I watched a great "MTV Cribs" with Tony Hawk and he talked a lot in it. That's where I got most of the tone for his voice.

As for real life characters, we'll just have to wait and see, right?
I'll give you one taste though. We'll see a couple of other professors as 'guest instructors' during the course. I'll let you stew over who I'm talking about.
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Sugarquills23
Monday 30th May 2005 19:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

1: A New Teacher
Great job! This sounds as though its going to be fun! I look forward to seeing more. Interesting addition to Hogwarts...Tony Hawk.
sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:39
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
He's definately one of my best surprises. But he's not the only one, so hang on to your wizarding hat, cause this ride is going to rock and roll.
:)

Sorry. Got carried away a bit there.
Thanks for reading.
  Quote
tess
Monday 30th May 2005 17:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

1: A New Teacher

Very interesting ideas here! I really like what you've done with Mr. Hawk, aswell. Looking forward to more!

*blinks*

Oh, and can Hermione get beaten in a duel by Ron? that would be very amusing!

sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:37
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Hermione get beaten in a duel by Ron?
Well, I guess you'll have to read to find out!
We'll see all the main characters we know and love competing. Some against each other as well. R/Hr in this fic ... hm. I 'll put that down as a possible. Thanks!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. Tell all your friends!
  Quote
Aaran St Vines
Monday 30th May 2005 16:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

1: A New Teacher
Not exactly what I would call AU, more like and alternate-dimension-meets-missing-moment-from-the-future.

Very fascinating.
sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:35
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Alternate-dimension?
Meets?
Missing moment from the future?
Someone's been watching too much Dr. Who. I originally was shooting for a 'fun sixth year' story, but PS said this was AU. This is my first HP fic - I've spent my writing time in other worlds, so I like to stretch my legs a bit in this one.
Thanks for the review and keep on reading!


  Quote
dibberne
Monday 30th May 2005 15:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 32

1: A New Teacher
Wow - that was really neat!  I've wondered before if the wizarding world had any other sports.  This promises to be very interesting. I vaugely recall the name Hawk, but couldn't have told you anything about the guy - it was fun to learn something.  I can't wait to see what they do in the air; please post soon!
sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:32
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Don't worry. We'll have plenty of flying in this story. Quidditch too.
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Muggle Witch
Monday 30th May 2005 13:07


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 118

1: A New Teacher
  I loved the Monty Python reference (who doesn’t love the Dead Parrot sketch ~ he's, ah...probably pining for the fjords )

I really like the plot, and look forward to the updates.

One critique, Lockhart was second year, not third.

Cheers!

sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:31
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Ouch. Lockheart was in CoS. I'll have to go fix that...

Love Monty Python. Eric Idle and John Cleese are two of my favorite actors.
Thanks for reading!
*And now, for something completely different!*

  Quote
aldoryn
Monday 30th May 2005 12:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: A New Teacher

This is an awesome idea for a story.

I'm looking forward to reading more of it!

 

sonicdale
Monday 30th May 2005 21:28
1: A New Teacher (Author Response)
Thanks. It came to me while driving at night through the mountians of Tennesee. I always wondered if there was a Wizarding Olympics - and how would Harry react to acrobatics on a broom?

Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004