Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry’s Birthday Outing by Arnel

Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
alifromnm
Saturday 11th July 2009 23:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Harry's Birthday Outing
Loved this again as much as the first read. You are truly one of my favorites!!!
Arnel
Sunday 12th July 2009 00:24
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
It's really nice to know that all my stories are being read and re-read by people who like them. This was a fun story to write. I wrote it for the 2005 Summer Short n' Sweet Contest. It didn't win anything, but I was able to explore an aspect of SS/PS that I had been curious about and I think that's what counts.

Thanks for reviewing. ~~Arnel
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 25th January 2008 16:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Harry's Birthday Outing
haha cute story! im glad that the snake was there
Arnel
Friday 25th January 2008 21:20
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
haha cute story! im glad that the snake was there


So was Harry! Thanks for taking the time to review.
  Quote
pyromain
Friday 5th October 2007 16:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Harry's Birthday Outing
loved it all the details harry finding his snake, ron his voice. you really can write, thanks for sharing it with us.
Arnel
Friday 5th October 2007 20:57
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
Since this was a Summer Story Contest piece, I had to be really cautious about how detailed I made the story and how long it was. Thanks for commenting on how much you enjoyed the details in this story because I thought I left out a lot that could have been said!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Thursday 20th September 2007 04:17


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Harry's Birthday Outing
Hahah oh that's cute! I love that Ron finally got his voice back, and what a perfect way for it to happen Great story!
Arnel
Thursday 20th September 2007 05:26
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
Syrupy sweet with a happy ending... that's what I was aiming for. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
myketje
Friday 20th July 2007 10:18


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Harry's Birthday Outing
I think it was sweet!!

Kiss Kiss

mee
Arnel
Friday 20th July 2007 11:14
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
I'm glad you like the story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
hahaheeheehaha
Saturday 24th March 2007 04:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Harry's Birthday Outing
aww ronniekins got his voice back so sweet

i love the way harry wanted to talk to his snake again. so sentimental, but so

loved the story thanks for writing it
Arnel
Saturday 24th March 2007 22:48
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
You're welcome, and thank you for reviewing. Since this was the sweet-and-sappy sort of fluff story, Ron absolutely had to get his voice back. As for Harry and the snake, I'd never seen a story using that subject before or since, so I like to think of it as one-of-a-kind.
  Quote
XXXmister-E werepony unit
Wednesday 2nd November 2005 15:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Harry's Birthday Outing
aw,sweet!funny,too!
Arnel
Wednesday 2nd November 2005 22:21
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)

I'm glad you liked my story.  I had fun writing it.

  Quote

Thursday 7th July 2005 03:31


Harry's Birthday Outing
i wanted harry and hermione to kiss not ron and hermione so i didnt like it
Arnel
Thursday 7th July 2005 05:25
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
It takes all kinds of people to make a world...and that goes for the world of fan fiction as well.  I happen to be an H/G shipper, but I'm glad to share JKR's universe with someone who is H/H.  Thank you for reading and I'm sorry to have disappointed you.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 5th July 2005 20:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Harry's Birthday Outing

Cute story.

Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:09
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
Glad you liked it.  Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
shortywithbrains
Tuesday 5th July 2005 19:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Harry's Birthday Outing
Wow, that last part there totally reminded me of the scene with the twins and Harry in the 3rd movie. Great fic!
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:11
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
I hadn't thought of that.  This was my first venture into "twins-speak" and I had a lot of fun writing the end. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
levotatingT
Monday 4th July 2005 10:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 187

Harry's Birthday Outing

AWW I absolutley loved it.  Especially the ending!!!!!!!! Once I find out what your username is I'll have to read more of your stories ,  Do you have any more?

great job, keep writing, and PLez write back

levotatingT

Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:20
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)

I just checked my reviews and have found your name many times.  I appreciate your comments more than you can imagine; they are so encouraging and enthusiastic that I just want to keep writing!  I'm glad you enjoyed my entry.

  Quote
Shloz
Sunday 3rd July 2005 23:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Harry's Birthday Outing

Well, this certainly rates a review. I'm trying to peg the stroies with the author styles I know and love. I'm thinking here...

One redundant statement hit me in the face: " He had no idea how much he had wanted to converse with the reptile so much ."

I like how Harry wanted to return to the zoo after the end of the whole saga, and talk to his snake again. The Ron part at the end made sense, but seemed a little rushed. Size limitations?

Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:26
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)

You hit the nail on the head more than once with your comment about the end being rushed and the problem with size limitations.  Something had to give and neither I nor my beta could come up with a way to fix that particular problem that didn't go over the size limit.  Nonetheless, I had fun writing the story. 

Thanks for your review.  I'm glad you like my entry.

  Quote
snowball
Sunday 3rd July 2005 22:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Harry's Birthday Outing
That was fluffy. Sad to see them suffer after second war, but nevertheless a good piece
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:28
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
What counts is that everyone who means anything to Harry personally made it through the war and were there to help him celebrate his birthday.  Thanks for your review.
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 3rd July 2005 18:49


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Harry's Birthday Outing
Aww! That's so sweet! I love Harry getting to talk to the boa constrictor again, and it's brilliant how Ron gets his voice back. Excellent work.
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:28
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the story enough to leave a review.  Your kind words mean more than you know.
  Quote
juliet
Saturday 2nd July 2005 21:42


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Harry's Birthday Outing
That was  cute!  I liked the mix of muggle and wizard sweets that were mentioned, and that Harry got to enjoy things that he couldn't have before. 
And I had a feeling that Ron would find his voice that way!
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:33
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
Give Ron a nice dark corner, some chocolate and Hermione to hold and something had to happen!  I had a lot of fun researching the sweets for this story and devising how I'd incorporate them into the situation.  I hadn't realized just how many sweets were mentioned in Book 1 until I went looking!  Thanks for your review.
  Quote
snowbear96
Saturday 2nd July 2005 13:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Harry's Birthday Outing
How sweet this gets my vote.
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:37
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked my story enough to leave a review.  Thank you.
  Quote
Pegasus
Saturday 2nd July 2005 06:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Harry's Birthday Outing
Nice job - I love the conversation with the snake. 
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:39
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)
I've always felt that Harry wants to contact the snake because of how the scene ends in Book One.  This was my way of giving him a little closure.  Thanks for your review.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Friday 1st July 2005 07:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Harry's Birthday Outing
I liked the idea of Harry wanting to see his snake friend again.  And your faery tale twist on the love's first kiss was a great idea.
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:43
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)

The end of this story is the result of reading several fairy tales to my four-year-old son and also the fact that his favorite movies are Shrek and Shrek2.  (The true love's kiss features heavily in both movies.)

I've always felt Harry wants some closure to the Book 1 episode with the boa constrictor.  This was my way of giving it to him.

Thanks for reviewing.

  Quote
sonicdale
Friday 1st July 2005 06:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Harry's Birthday Outing
His voice came back. Must have been a combo of kissing and chocolate.

Great fic. Nice to see Harry relaxing for a change. Good work.
Arnel
Wednesday 6th July 2005 20:46
Harry's Birthday Outing (Author Response)

As I wrote to another reviewer, give Ron a dark corner (ie, an aquarium), some chocolate and Hermione to hold and something has to come of the combination.

As for a relaxed Harry, it was time to let him be himself and do what he wants to do for a change.  It was fun to write him that way.

I appreciate your review.

  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 30th June 2005 23:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Harry's Birthday Outing

Nicely done.   The fact that Harry wanted to go back to the zoo with friends because he never got to go when he was little really got to me.   I liked how Ron got his voice back after he kissed Hermione.

  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004