Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Thrice by Ladybug

Showing 1 to 19 of 19
Lady Starlight
Friday 11th May 2007 18:14


Thrice
What a Slytherin way for Voldemort to force the Potters to fulfill one of the terms of the prophecy. It really fits as he has been the one all along who has been forcing the terms.

I like the casual banter that we saw with Dumbledore and Lily and the preview of dark things to come.
Ladybug
Thursday 30th August 2007 20:15
Thrice (Author Response)
Ooh, this is a well overdue reply - my apologies! Thanks for your lovely and very insightful review - I think you understood things deeper even than I intended, but you're so right - he's a nasty, scheming Slytherin, twisting the fates of those around him to his nefarious purposes. At least now we can rejoice in his ultimate demise! Thanks again, for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Wooster
Thursday 29th June 2006 06:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 525

Thrice
Thrice defied...

Wow. That was amazing...and really chilling...You are REALLY good at that!
Can't wait to read what else you've written!
Ladybug
Thursday 29th June 2006 22:23
Thrice (Author Response)
Wow, Wooster, you have really made my week, reading all my stories and letting me know what you think of them. Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It's so gratifying to know that what I've written is somewhat entertaining for others. I have got a couple of others in the works, but it may be a while before they appear here (real life, and all that ).
  Quote
Evelyn
Saturday 25th March 2006 08:23


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

Thrice
I've decided to read one fic a day until my exams. So this was my daily portion before rushing off to do some more work...
"Lily grabbed a handful and started popping them into her mouth, one by one." Loved that sentence. It shows from the outside how nervous she is, but you really get a picture of what's going on in her mind.
Also: 'I wonder who'll choose what's easy.' Hint at Pettigrew, eh?
And then the lemonade can, and James popping in, and Ms. Thatcher's characterisation...
The end left me slightly pensive... Did James and Lily know what that the reply really meant? Nice puzzle.
So, as always, it was a VERY enjoyable read!
Ladybug
Saturday 25th March 2006 20:08
Thrice (Author Response)
I've decided to read one fic a day until my exams.
I'm honoured you picked one of mine! Good luck in your exams!
Also: 'I wonder who'll choose what's easy.' Hint at Pettigrew, eh?
Oh yes, I've always wondered just how Peter became the traitor, so this was a little suggestion of how it might have happened in this universe.
The end left me slightly pensive... Did James and Lily know what that the reply really meant? Nice puzzle.

In my mind, they only realised that they'd fulfilled the 'thrice defied' part the moment the owl had taken off and was out of reach so it was too late for them to take the letter back. (But I'd already reached the word limit for the challenge, so I left it at the letter.:lol
So, as always, it was a VERY enjoyable read!
Thank you, Evelyn! I'm always encouraged by your reviews.
  Quote
Wild Magelet
Saturday 12th November 2005 02:41


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Thrice
Can't believe I haven't read this before. It's great - a fantastic balance between light-hearted humour and chilling seriousness. The part about Peter and his gift of jelly beans especially creeped me out: it's easy to forget the heinousn events of the Marauders' era, and what it would be like to be fatally betrayed by a childhood friend. Great job.
Ladybug
Saturday 12th November 2005 03:05
Thrice (Author Response)
I'm glad you noticed the bit about Peter - just reading your review gave me the shivers again. Imagine what must have gone through James and Lily's minds the moment Voldemort appeared. *shudders* Thanks for your review - it's very encouraging.
  Quote
Jai-kun
Friday 7th October 2005 06:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

Thrice
I just read this, and I got a chill when I saw the title after I finished. Well done!
Ladybug
Saturday 8th October 2005 21:34
Thrice (Author Response)
Hey, it's great to get a review some time after the fic comes out - thanks so much for your comments - you made my day!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Tuesday 5th July 2005 20:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Thrice
Very nice. I loved James and Lily!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:51
Thrice (Author Response)
Yeah, I love James and Lily, too! Glad you like it and thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Daksian
Tuesday 5th July 2005 14:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Thrice
Excellent ficlet.  I love background stories, and I love irony, and you've provided both (I admit to snickering when I realized that the Potters' response to Voldemort's offer is, in effect, 'defying' him...)

Well done.  Good luck with the contest!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:50
Thrice (Author Response)
Wow, thanks for your high praise. I love background stories, too (well, obviously!) - there's just so much to explore. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
iviolinist
Tuesday 5th July 2005 09:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

Thrice
This is such a wonderful story! I was expecting this to be about current members of the Order, so I was very pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be Lily and James. I loved that they were so convinced the prophecy could not be about them (which is obviously a very natural reaction). The letter at the end of the story was brillant. I loved James' reaction to Voldemort sending him a letter. Their response back to him gave me chills - and not just because they probably didn't realize they had just defied him for the third time. I would have loved for the story to continue so I could have seen what their reactions were once they realized they've just fulfilled their end of the prophecy. It was, however, much more powerful to end with their letter back to Voldemort. Wonderful story, thanks for sharing and good luck!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:48
Thrice (Author Response)
You win my prize for best review!! Thanks so much for your comments - it's unbelievably satisfying when people 'get' what you're trying to put across in a story - so Thanks for Getting It!
  Quote
snowball
Monday 4th July 2005 22:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Thrice
This was certainly an unexpected POV from Lily and James. I guess that by replying the letter, the POtters have thrice defied Voldemort?
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:46
Thrice (Author Response)
Yep, you got it! I don't think that would really be the answer, but that's what ff's for, isn't it? It's fun to wonder and play around with it.
  Quote
Split Decision
Monday 4th July 2005 12:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Thrice

A very interesting interpretation and very well written.This has a bit more substance than many of the other contest entries. Great story!

Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:45
Thrice (Author Response)
Oh gee, you say stuff every writer wants to hear - 'more substance' - I like that! Thanks for your kind words - heaps appreciated.
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 3rd July 2005 18:37


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Thrice
Different than the other entrants, but I like it. I hope you'll write a sequel explaining how the third defiance comes about.
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:44
Thrice (Author Response)

I'm glad you liked it even though it was different. Thanks for reviewing.

  Quote
sonicdale
Friday 1st July 2005 07:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Thrice
Nice.
A nice big 'shove it' from Harry's dad.
good idea.

Love the banter, Lils was a good 'pregnant' irksome.

Good work.
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:42
Thrice (Author Response)
Thanks - that's exactly what I wanted to say to You-Know-Who - SHOVE IT! (or perhaps something a bit stronger? *&%^ off! lol!). It was actually Lily that wrote the letter, so I doubt she would use language like that! Thanks for your review.
  Quote
gypsy
Friday 1st July 2005 06:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Thrice

Cool! Excellent... I love fics in which the characters don't know the whole story, but we're getting shivers cause we know what's going on.... You've got my vote! Gypsy.

Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:39
Thrice (Author Response)
I'm glad I gave you shivers... keep you cool in that hot weather you're having!!
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 1st July 2005 04:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Thrice
Would it have happened this way? I'm not sure, but it's an interesting idea. I wonder if Pettigrew got such a letter, and chose what's easy!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:38
Thrice (Author Response)
Yes, sad but true - I reviewed my own fic!!!! I was afraid I wouldn't get any votes otherwise! Did anyone else resort to such underhanded tactics? Thanks to everyone who reviewed 'Thrice' - at least it's easy now for me to respond to all my reviews when I haven't got as many as the winners!!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 30th June 2005 23:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Thrice

Oh, my!   This is quite the story!   Itís hard to know where to begin with my praise for it.   Normally, I donít read James and Lily stories, but this one had me from the get-go.   The cans of soda pop and lemonade were a nice touch in setting up the Potterís mix of the wizard and Muggle lifestyles.   I also like how in-charge Lily seems to be here and I can also relate to the emotional rollercoaster she seems to be on because of her pregnancy.   Altogether, this was a very refreshing story to read.

Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:35
Thrice (Author Response)
Oh, my! You've made my day! Thanks for all your comments, glad you liked it.
  Quote
Bella
Thursday 30th June 2005 19:56


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Thrice

Really great. Definitely the most original of all the stories I have read so far in this competition. I love your characterization of Lily and James!
Good job, and good luck!
Bella

Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:32
Thrice (Author Response)
You've given me a grin - thanks for your review! It was fun writing James and Lily when we don't have all that much to go on.
  Quote
Megan SQ
Thursday 30th June 2005 19:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 61

Thrice
Very very cool idea for a missing moment. And very cool title. I  loved your use of the sweets - who better than Dumbledore? I have a couple more entries in the competition to read, but so far this is the only one that really caught my eye. Well done!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:31
Thrice (Author Response)
Oh, thanks for your very kind review! I did try to be different (it's certainly not what you'd call a 'sweet' story) so I'm glad it caught your eye.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Thursday 30th June 2005 17:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Thrice
I hadn't thought of the thrice as being a letter--I thought it would be in battle.  But your way works too.  Interesting.
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:27
Thrice (Author Response)
If JKR reveals it, I don't think it would be a letter either, but it was fun to wonder about it. Thanks for your review.
  Quote
Delylah
Thursday 30th June 2005 15:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 30

Thrice
Lovely story. So far, this is my favorite of the competition entries. It's unique in that it's Lily/James instead of H/G or R/Hr, and the "thrice defied" part of the prophecy is something I've often wondered about myself. You did a good job with the explanation of it. Good luck with the competition!
Ladybug
Wednesday 6th July 2005 02:24
Thrice (Author Response)

Thank you! Wow - favourite so far! Yes, I'm surprised I was one of the few not to go with H/G and R/H - as much as I love them, there are heaps more characters to play with. Glad my take on it wasn't totally unbelievable (which I was afraid it was!)

  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004