Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Elephant and Castle by Allie Kiwi

Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
GinevraMollyWeasley
Wednesday 11th February 2009 20:11


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Elephant and Castle
I don't get it! What's Elephant and Castle? Is there like an elephant on top of a castle or something?
Allie Kiwi
Wednesday 11th February 2009 21:18
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)
'Elephant and Castle' is the name of an intersection and tube (underground) station in London, and some people call the surrounding area by the name as well.

There are a couple of stories as to how the area came to be called Elephant and Castle - mentioned by Harry and Hermione in the story. However, H&H discover that the *real* story behind the name is that there are a magical castle and elephant-playing-beside-a-fountain there - squeezed beside the horrifically coloured shopping centre (due to be demolished in 2010, I think) - and which are hidden from the Muggles. Any Muggles accidentally seeing the elephant and castle are supposed to be obliviated, but it seems the story must have got out - hence the name!

Hope that helps

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Monday 8th December 2008 03:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

Elephant and Castle
I like your style .... I am going to read more!
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 16th February 2008 18:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Elephant and Castle
fun
  Quote
lacyrachil
Friday 8th December 2006 13:16


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 251

Elephant and Castle
I've only been on the underground once and I had food poisoning at the time...so I really didn't pay as much attention to anything other than "Mind the gap!"...I'd love to go back and see this now. Thanks for writing.
  Quote
GryffindorDragon
Wednesday 20th September 2006 14:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1396

Elephant and Castle
Cute piece, but a bit strange .
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 24th February 2006 21:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

Elephant and Castle
"It's hardly a bloody dragon."

Hilarious! I just stopped by to read this for "research" ( , ask Tante) and I had to let you know how perfectly gorgeous this little story is! Full to the brim of goodness!
Allie Kiwi
Tuesday 28th February 2006 13:45
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)
Thanks for your review. I'm really looking forward to seeing what Tante comes up with, actually!
  Quote
murkus
Sunday 8th January 2006 10:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Elephant and Castle
I think this story is brilliant, it's not at all idiotic to write as otry about the name of an Underground station. It reminds me of one of my favorite books, which is all about that sort of thing, the meanings in the Underground stations. It's called Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman, maybe you've heard of it? Anyways, this story was funny and I'm liked it a lot... :D
Allie Kiwi
Sunday 8th January 2006 13:15
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)

Thank you so much - it's so lovely of you to say that! 

I've not heard of 'Neverwhere' before, but I'll certainly see if I can find a copy to have a read.   

  Quote
SillyGillie
Sunday 13th November 2005 07:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Elephant and Castle
What a brilliant story. Very cute. The characterization of Harry, Ron and Hermione was right on. Nice job. I feel like a novel length story should come out of this. I really like what you've established thus far. How Harry doesn't immediately go to the Dursley's and how Ron Hermione and Harry get to explore London together. I really liked how you brought up the map of the underground and Dumbledore's scar, and Harry's reaction to it. You should really think about continuing. You'd have at least one loyal reader! Please consider it! Awesome job!
  Quote
tta
Monday 24th October 2005 09:57


Elephant and Castle
What a funny little story! :) It's nice and refreshing seeing the trio in between all that madness, just having a funny moment. All characters felt like canon and I just really liked this. Elephant and Castle... lol!
  Quote
sonicdale
Tuesday 26th July 2005 20:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 510

Elephant and Castle
Nice.
Seems like a good foray into what Book 7 might have. And, I might add, a good healthy bit of R/Hr.
Good that.
Liked the Men in Black comment.
:)

Good work.
  Quote
physicsteach
Saturday 23rd July 2005 06:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Elephant and Castle
I really liked this. 
  Quote
amamama
Saturday 23rd July 2005 03:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Elephant and Castle
Great explanation for "Elephant and Castle"!  Absolutely loved it, especially as I've heard a few explanations to the name, each as likely or unlikely as the other.  This beat them all, though!


  Quote
graup_hagrid
Friday 22nd July 2005 20:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 89

Elephant and Castle
I enjoyed your little story.  Thanks
  Quote
Tonks!
Friday 22nd July 2005 16:57


Elephant and Castle
That was brilliant...I was laughing my head off for a LONG time.

Love the ending...lolz...are you going to write another story about finding the other horcruxes?

You should...tis brilliant!
  Quote
Mr Flibble
Friday 22nd July 2005 04:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Elephant and Castle
what? can't come up with a witty reply to "word"?

for shame!
  Quote
BabyRuth
Thursday 21st July 2005 08:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Elephant and Castle
This reads like it was lifted from book 7--the characterizations, phrases, descriptves---SPOT ON
  Quote
Kelleypen
Wednesday 20th July 2005 21:43


Elephant and Castle
wow,  the very first HBP fic I've read at PS. YOu've been busy.  Well done.
Allie Kiwi
Wednesday 20th July 2005 21:51
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)

Well, I must admit I got a little bored and twitchy waiting for everyone else to finish the book so I could [i]finally[/i] talk about it (everyone I knew got it hours after me )!  So I wrote instead. *grin*

Thanks for reviewing.

  Quote
Megan SQ
Wednesday 20th July 2005 13:35


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 61

Elephant and Castle
Hey, good job getting this out so quickly after HBP. And I enjoyed it, even though it had no plot. It was rather relaxing after the high drama of the HBP. 
Allie Kiwi
Wednesday 20th July 2005 21:53
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)
Yup, I cheerfully admit there was nothing there in the way of plot.    Just one of those little scenes that would never make it into the book because it does nothing for the story on the whole.  Thanks for dropping by! 
  Quote
DADAGinny
Wednesday 20th July 2005 10:26


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 277

Elephant and Castle
That was simply wonderful. 

I love how you had Hermione reading that book and getting teased about it -- and I slmost died when Ron thought there was nothing to seeing the elephant or castle. 

That is great!


Allie Kiwi
Wednesday 20th July 2005 21:55
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it.  I can actually see Hermione getting more enjoyment out of the guidebook than actually going to the places themselves.  Unless there were nice lots of plaques to read when you got there with facts and figures...
  Quote
Sib
Wednesday 20th July 2005 10:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 35

Elephant and Castle
Good job! Yeah, what's wrong with those people who would question writing a story about the name of the station? Clearly you shouldn't listen to fools like that. 
Allie Kiwi
Wednesday 20th July 2005 21:58
Elephant and Castle (Author Response)
LOL, Thanks for the threatening looks, Sib - I'll keep you on the payroll any day.  And thanks for the help with the story!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004