Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Behind the Staffroom Door Part II by Astarte

Showing 1 to 5 of 5
daniel_r_crazy22
Saturday 7th October 2006 19:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1230

Seated Woman with Parasol
That was sad. I feel somewhat bad for Snape. But, that was very good.
Astarte
Tuesday 19th August 2008 18:36
Seated Woman with Parasol (Author Response)
Glad you liked it even if it made you sad. Sorry for the delay in response!
  Quote
mcdowella
Saturday 12th November 2005 11:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Seated Woman with Parasol
Thanks for this. I like seeing fanfics that speculate about the real story, and Snape is certainly one of the biggest puzzles set before us.
Astarte
Tuesday 19th August 2008 18:36
Seated Woman with Parasol (Author Response)
less of a puzzle now that we have Deathly Hallows (I was personally rather disappointed by Snily becoming canon, too neat for my tastes). I'm considering revising this somewhat but I may just let it stand as a relic between HBP and DH. I'm still of the opinion that Dumbledore just never got round to telling JKR how Life Debts actually work (she's still under the impression that there's no magic involved, and I am still convinced there is, even after the whole Wormtail death scene).

Speculating on the real background is my favorite thing to do. I'm always fascinated by the triggers that spark our unique personality quirks to the point that they color our interactions with third-parties (I'm a social sciences geek).
  Quote
tante
Sunday 24th July 2005 19:25


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

Seated Woman with Parasol

Hmmm, Very Interesting.  Yes, that would explain a lot.

Poor Snape and Esmerelda, to lose someone that way would be heart wrenching. 

 

Astarte
Sunday 24th July 2005 19:28
Seated Woman with Parasol (Author Response)
;) was sending an email when I got the email notice that there was a new review, I'm not stalking you or sitting here on tenderhooks wondering if you're going to review - honest! LOL

Yeah, this is basically a fictionalization of my Snape and life-debt theories, but it wanted to be written before that - it'd been on a back burner since sometime in Februrary or March. 
  Quote
RdeHwyll
Sunday 24th July 2005 09:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

Seated Woman with Parasol
Oh... this is a WONDERFUL fic... Very well done, and the explanation makes perfect sense.  My hat is off to you -- I look forward to reading more in this series...
Astarte
Sunday 24th July 2005 12:35
Seated Woman with Parasol (Author Response)
*blush* thanks again, at least I know one person will be reading them without my threatening them with brussel sprouts for dinner or something (Capra comes over for dinner frequently)    
  Quote
Capramagus
Friday 22nd July 2005 14:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Seated Woman with Parasol

Very well thought out. I like how you tied in the ideas of your essay on life-debts; the story and the essay kind of reinforce each other.

It's not easy writing so sympathetically about a widely hated character, especially one that's under so much fire at the moment. It's very brave. And I hope you're right!

Astarte
Friday 22nd July 2005 14:32
Seated Woman with Parasol (Author Response)
thanks :) hopefully the story gets SOME notice so I feel more compelled to actually work on the other stories in the series... I feel Dumbledore tapping his foot impatiently.

I misread your comment the first time as that I wrote SNAPE as brave, instead of as being brave for writing ABOUT him.  From my mis-read, my reaction was: well, I don't see how he's at all brave in here, in fact I'd venture that the man has never done a brave thing in his entire life and now no bravery he ever shows in this war can really be attributed to his own goodness, he's beyond redemption BECAUSE he can't act of his own will; redemption is only possible with free will, yes?

As for my bravery... well.. this story demanded to be written... would have been braver to try to tell it "no" maybe, as insistant as the stabbit was becoming!  
  Quote
Showing 1 to 5 of 5
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004